We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
B.U. Place Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #232 of 731 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed with my family ( 3 children 2 adults in a 2 bed apartment) at BU place for 4 nights, leaving yesterday after a terrible experience.
Upon arrival with tired children we were informed that we needed to leave a cash deposit of 5000 baht, which we had not been informed about in any of our correspondences. They stated that it could only be cash and unfortunately this is where the difficulties began. We were also informed that the wifi worked on a token system whereby only one device could have access per day.
The rooms initially appeared clean, however the showers and water had problems (only boiling hot or cold or not working at all).
We were asked to pay extra for towels to be washed and bedding to be changed and reception staff harassed us at every oppurtunity to pay for a broken water bottle even though we had paid the fee on the same day and at the time time the breakage happened.
Ants infested the apartment in the kitchen cupboards and bathroom meaning that we had to throw away food and toiletries.
BU place is also very tucked away and taxi drivers find it incredibly hard to find which caused immense difficulty even after we had the address written in Thai.
Upon trying to book out of the apartment it was very difficult to obtain our deposit back which was again frustrating and demoralising as much of the harassment took place in the lobby in front of other guests. It became very clear that they wanted to make deductions where there was no need. The room was checked and they could not fault the condition in which we left the apartment upon our departure.
We had hoped to stay at the accommodation again after traveling around the neighbouring towns and counties but due to the way we have been treated we will be making alternative arrangements and staying as far away from BU place as possible.

Room Tip: The cost of the room is not the only fee you will be paying throughout your stay. Look around for tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dee1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 98 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

I am staying in this place right now. Chose this based on the reviews and yes, the rooms are exactly as they seem in the picture. Safety good, staff at reception good. However, the place is inside a narrow lane in a local Thai area and far from the touristy places. I and my hubby are vegetarians and we went down to the hotel's cafe/restaurant for brunch. As we live in Singapore, and travel around in Asia, we are quite accustomed to giving very clear instructions to the waiters for vegetarian food with no seafood, shrimp paste etc. Did the same here and were enjoying our Pad-Thai noodles only to realise half way through and much to our dismay that it was filled with shrimps. While this is a big thing for us, I would still have let it go had the cafe manager made some efforts at customer service. After complaining and waiting for 10 mins, a staff came and told us that we would be given a 10% discount on one person's food. Really?? I think they just lost the whole point. We decided to leave and were asked to pay for the juice that we hardly touched. I feel the restaurant manager should have at least come down to our table to acknowledge the mess up. We paid for the drink and then decided to complain to the hotel reception who were very helpful. I can understand that English is difficult to understand in this place but we had literally checked 3-4 times with the staff before placing our order. The head of the restaurant also came to talk and we were offered a complimentary fruit bowl in the room later. Overall, it has been a disappointing experience as I was really looking forward to a good start to our vacation. I would like to check-out today but now it's a bit late to book any other decent hotel. Next time would rather pay more and stay near the Bangkok central areas where you would get more of a vacation feeling.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelling_s0ul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you're thinking of an affordable place that provides everything, like a typical apartment... and i mean everything from sofa to fridge to dinning table to swimming pool to a gym with an exceptional good-good-GOOD price, then this is the place to go!

For months i've been looking for a suitable hotel to go with my group of friends and with a price and has got the best deals and most importantly fits our budget, i stumble upon this hotel. If you read the reviews it would say that the hotel staff are very nice and friendly and very helpful as well. Some hotels are of the same price but do not have a pool, gym, sofa in the room and etc so i thought it was a good choice to give this place a chance.

I emailed them my enquiries, receieve my answers within a day. I choose to book pick up transfer from hotel to Don Meuang Airport cause we would be reaching in the late evening and knowing people were saying Bangkok was dangerous and how the movie Hangover 2 potray Bangkok, we thought it was safer this way.

When we reach the airport at about 2000 we thank God we did book through the hotel cause the line for cab was super looooong and also the best part is that the drive Mr Joe is such a nice person. He chatted with us in the car. Told us the best places tp go. Gave us some ideas and tours that he conducted cause he is actually a tour guide himself. He gave us his contacts so that we could booked through him. He was really genuiene. So if you happen to get the airport transfer and happen to read this do tel him i said HI. Haha!

Once in the hotel, checking in was a breeze. The hotel staff was really nice and accomodating. Everything was explained well and we got the room that we asked for, non-smoking room and a queen size bed. Though their english was'nt that easy to understand, in my opinion they tried their best to explain. They even let us know there's a 24 hours family mart that we could go to if we need anything. We got the room on the 17th floor with a gorgeous view!

We didnt take the breakfast placakge and neither did we eat in the hotel though the food look hella good and i really wanted to try authentic green curry and tom yum. Well the reason being is that we are muslims and we dont eat pork. But i would suggest people to at least try some of the dishes that they have. If you're a muslim too or just would love to try a muslim restaurant there's one called "Mak Yah" at Retchadewi station. Food there is really good so i wouldnt mind paying for good quality food. If you're from Singapore (well i am) the price is the same as standard seafood price here. We actually goggle it when we saw the restaurant the day before when we were in a cab. The next day we went to the Lobby to check with the staff on the directions how to get there. They needed the address and we didnt have wifi at the lobby so one of the staff checked the address on his phone when they can see that we cant search it on our phone. I thought that was really nice of him. You can either call the lobby 30min before to get on the shuttle bus provided by the hotel to the nearest station. Or you can get them to call a cab... which was what we did.

Shopping was really gooooood. We went to Platinum Mall, Pratunam Market which is just across, MBK, Siam Square, Madame Tussands and thats pretty much it for the next 4 days. If you're at Platinum Mall dont go home too early cause in the evening, there's a mini night market just outside where people would sell items at really good prices and also very good quality handmade items as well. You can bargain and get really good goodies too. Its better to go there during the weekends cause Pratunam Night Market will be much more happening! I am planning to visit Safari World, Ocean World the next time i'm there.

Transportation wise.... well becareful cause some taxi drivers refuse to turn on their meter and will con you instead. Well we got conned on the first shopping trip when we wanted to head back to the hotel. Even the tuk-tuk doesnt cost that much. And it goes way faster. We didnt get a chance to ride on the mrt station cause we were rushing for time but the next time we would definately try.

Overall Bangkok is THE place to go for awesome shopping and you can check out the tourist attraction as well like floating market, a visit to the Wan Arut Temple and such. This was my first time there and i am a very careful person so i did an extensive research before going there. If you're a foodie do check out Mark Weins on http://migrationology.com/ or find his channel on YouTube. He goes around asia in search of good food and i love his reaction after each tasting. He did a few food videos on thai food so its a must-must to check! If you're a muslim you can eat at KFC, there's 1 food vendor at Platinum Mall on level 6 that sells indian halal food... try the biryani and most importantly the butter chicken curry is really good! You can also check the food stalls around Mak Yah cause its loacted very near to a surau (place to pray). Please do not eat at McDonalds cause they serve pork. And Bangkok is not as dangerous as they potray it. Yeah the roads may be a little busy a little fast, a litte different than Singapore but if you speed and go on more limit surely accidents happen. Also the people are really nice and friendly and they would surely smile at you. Take it from me i wasnt that dressy when i was there and they thought i was one of the Thais. Haha! I love it there. Would definately come back once in 6 months. And do you know even Malaysians enjoy shopping there too?

So why wait, just BOOK this hotel already and you would know what i mean. Of cause they provide fresh towels daily and drinking water in a class bottle daily as well. If i have 10 thumbs i would give 10 THUMBS UP for this hotel. I thank you all very much for the great service! Good Job everyone! But how i wish i should have taken a picture with them for memory sake..

Room Tip: My room was on the 17th floor. Choose a higher hotel so you can see the whole view of Bangkok!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jan-nified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I checked in with my sister on the 25th April 13. The reception was friendly and effecient.
What you see on the internet is what you get. Room was really spacious and clean.
They clean your room and change your towels everyday.

At BU Place, you do not have to worry about food. Breakfast, lunch & dinner at the roadside was superb. They serve delicious porridge for breakfast, lots of choices for lunch & dinner.

I do agree with some of the review that the location of this place is abit far. However, it's not too far to walk back for PraRam9 station, about 15 mins walk.

I did not get to use the pool as it was under upgrading... should be ready by end May though.
All in all, I am very happy and satisfied with this place.
Will definitely come back.

Good job!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ktyhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I arrived at Suvarnabhumi airport 5.40am on a Tuesday morning, breezed through customs and immigration, jumped on the airport skytrain rail link and was at Makkasan station in central Bangkok by 6.30am.

I flagged down a taxi and arrived at B.U. Place about 10 minutes later. Reception welcomed me warmly and advised it was no problem checking in early. I signed the relevant documents and within 5 minutes my bags and I were being escorted to my room.

The room itself was large and clean with a separate sitting area and a nice balcony with a view over Ratchada to the distant skytrain rail line and the CBD beyond.

Fresh towels, linen and bottled water were already in the room and a safe box is in the wardrobe. I never felt the need to lock up anything at B.U. Place as it feels more like a home than a hotel.

After a quick nap I headed down to the hotel restaurant in search of a Thai breakfast. The food at the restaurant was very clean, very well prepared and delicious. The staff in the restaurant were polite, helpful and happy to engage in conversation.

The hotel pool and pool area was clean and tranquil and is staffed from 10am until 6pm. I spent a good couple of hours relaxing here everyday enjoying the heat and the peace.

Everything about my stay was at B.U. Place was very easy and I can't say enough how helpful and friendly all the staff at the hotel and restaurant are.

I will definitely stay again when in Bangkok.

Room Tip: I chose an economy room and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TimAdamWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

On arrival I was a bit sceptical of the sign / entrance, but the room was great. Clean, big, fresh white towels and sheets. It looks like it does on the pics.

Quite far away from the centre - I walked to the MRT one day and it took about 15-20 mins and then another 20 mins or so to Siam area. They do run a shuttle bus from about 8am - 6pm to the MRT. There are restaurants, shops etc. very close by and by the MRT there is a massive shopping centre.

Staff were very friendly and helpful and the cafe downstairs is lovely. Breakfast is extra, but cheap and good and you also have to pay for wifi at 100baht a day.

If you don't mind travelling to the centre and staying in a 'locals suburb' then this is a great, cheap and safe option for single travellers in Bangkok!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fayehago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great hotel, service is remarkable.

Hotel isn't as far from the MRT as people would say - it took me less than 10 minutes to walk from the huge shopping plaza/MRT on the old hilly pathways. There is a drop off and pick up option scheduled pretty frequently anyway. I only walked there to go to the plaza, I just got cabs elsewhere. Local area is quite charming, not many farang in the area but all of the locals are very friendly and don't seem to be out to take advantage of naive westerners.

I got lost taking a short cut back to the hotel one time, about 300m down this long Soi. A local woman was about to drive somewhere pulling out from her driveway and noticed I looked lost and asked if I was looking for BU Place and said she would drive me. I wouldn't normally advocate that people accept lifts from strangers, but I knew her residence and it was a female so seemed safe enough. She had to loop around many side streets to get me there, l told her to just drop me off anywhere close but she was insistent on taking me to the front. Very friendly locals in this residential area!

I actually find it easier to get to most hotspots from here than I do in downtown hotels - every single cab turned on it's meter immediately without asking, none of them refused a fare or kicked up a fuss as it wasn't "worth" it for them due to traffic etc. It's easier to just pay 60-100 Baht twice a day (if not in peak hour) to go somewhere than to walk 10 minutes to a crowded BTS for half the price where you're forced to stand on a train. After a while I get sick of the many stairs and obstacles on the footpaths in Bangkok, it was actually nice to drive in from a nearby suburb in peace and quiet each day.

I went down to reception and requested a cab, they radio'd out to security at the front and one was there in 5 minutes each time.


Check in was a smooth process, security assisted me with my bags and the girls on reception were friendly and informative when explaining the facilities.

Paid about $35 a night, room is about 45sqm and much more modern and better than I expected. Huge fridge to store food in, comfortable pillows (bed hard but almost all beds are here), dining setting, TV, wardrobe, safety box, balcony, AC and bathroom with a bathtub which was sparkling clean. Rooms are tiled to keep them cool, I actually didn't need to blast the AC 24/7 as the room was never overly hot. Security is A + you need to be buzzed by reception to get both in and out, no outside guests can possibly get in.

Gym was a little tired but I expected less equipment wise. There is a staff member who puts on some loud 90s music, not to everyones taste and I'm sure you could ask it to be turned off but it was a nostalgic listen. Few broken pieces of equipment here and there but nothing that would concern me safety wise and I was able to get a decent work out.

There is a restaurant attached/downstairs that does coffee and Thai as well as western food. Well priced without being street food prices. Thai salads are $2-3USD, curries and stirfry $3-4, pasta $4-5. Staff are very lovely but don't all speak English very well.

The highlight of this hotel is it's staff, they are amongst the best I have ever come across. I have never seen staff so delighted to have their jobs - even the cleaning ladies will have beaming smiles and strike up conversation in the lifts. They appear to work really long hours (some there the evening before and then at midday the next day) but are still chirpy. Seems like a family/extended family ran business but who knows. Staff members seem to be very familiar with the long term guests at the hotel and refer to them by their first names.


All in all I plan to stay here again next time I am in town. Staff make for a great stay, facilities are great and I found it more time effective than trying to get around using the systems downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ladyfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Orchid Resort
#49 of 731 in Bangkok
199 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House II
New Siam Guest House II
#34 of 731 in Bangkok
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Khaosan Palace Hotel
Khaosan Palace Hotel
#145 of 731 in Bangkok
870 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 889 in Bangkok
8,626 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B.U. Place Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B.U. Place Hotel Bangkok

Address: 567 Soi Suthiporn 2 | Asoke-Dindaeng Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 731 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $34 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B.U. Place Hotel Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your B.U. Place Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing