We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom
Ranked #118 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

I booked a special deal for premier executive room but unfortunately the premier floor wasn't ready and never I have received any notice about it. Well they did turn one of their superior rooms to so call executive room with additional amenities like bath robe, slippers, body scrub, cream, & fruits. Anyway that's not a problem for me as the room is actually quite comfortable just that there is only shower; no bath tub. Design of the room is very modern and contemporary, very well planned. They have usb port, DVD port so you can connect your devices to the flat screen TV. Executive lounge is a great place to chill out too especially from 5pm till 7pm where they serve you free cocktail & canapés for those who stay in "executive room". Breakfast was really good, with lots of choices like meat skewers, mini steak, dim sum, local dishes and other usual stuff like cereal, yogurt, fruits, cheese, croissants, hash brown, sausages etc...Love the way they serve the tea & coffee in the small flask on each table. Down side of this hotel is the entrance is far too dark especially it's new and not many taxis know the place and the signboard is covered by the tree. Also the hotel location is slightly away from shopping area. It's about 20 mins walk to patpong area and 10 mins walk to nearest BTS station. Staffs are very friendly but not all can really understand English, except for the lady at the executive lounge, she is great, very attentive!

I think front desk staff should explain to the guest about the card system to use the elevator. I can see few guests were quite pissed off as the elevator doesn't bring them anywhere without touching their room key card to the reader.

The taxi guys outside the hotel is pretty annoying...I think the hotel should stop them from hanging around there...they basically "harass" the hotel guests... it's cheap to hire a taxi who uses meter. for example the concierge told us that we 2 options to get the taxi to the airport, one is by using metered taxi or fix price taxi. And the concierge told us that during weekday where there are plenty of traffic we should opt for the fix price which cost us 450bath. However we decided to take the metered taxi and ended up only paying 300bath including of the toll fees.

Overall it's a great stay, and I am loving this place, the bed is so comfortable but the concierge need to really learn about the bangkok city from the tourist side of view. We will be staying in Novotel Fenix Ploenchit next...so will see how it goes...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawneoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSilom, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Dear Mr. Neoh,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and are glad that our team had the chance to personally contacted you and ensured that you were satisfied with our prompt reaction to your feedback.

We really appreciate your constructive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    1,018
    338
    76
    32
See reviews for
359
875
337
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

The renewed Silom Plaza, now Novotel Fenix Silom, has hip decoration and still smells lightly of paint, but because it's still in soft opening stage, it has some small problems. Its located across the street from Holiday Inn Silom (easier for taxi drivers to find this hotel). Approx easy 10 min walk to Saphan Taksin BTS, and around same time to the Oriental Pier for the Chaophraya Express Boats. If you are going to Sala Daeng BTS/ Patong, don't bother to walk, cab fare by meter is around 39-45 THB. The hotel has a miniature outdoor pool on 7th floor, together with a good gym and shower room (but did not put a basket for used towels... soft opening...)
The rooms had comfy beds, and had all the items expected in 4 star hotel with safe that can fit up to 14' laptop. Around 3 international plugs on the walls, and an inbuilt outlet for TV, so you can make the TV your computer screen and so and so. However, internet was not free inside room = 400 THB per day (and not mentioned during room presentation.. soft opening...), frankly a rip off, so use the 2 free Macs in the lobby. We stayed in standard room, so there was no couch, but because room is big, you see a big void next to night table... kind of weird for a 4 star hotel. Shower area wall facing the room is made of glass, so its sexy for couples, but there is a electric retractable screen so its no problem for friends to travel together. Our main dissapointment was the bathroom, very hip with shower area on left, handwashing sink / mirror in the middle, and separte toilet on right hand side. However, shower area drains water slowly, and there was only a half glass screen separting the shower area and sink, and NO door to close off the water... so, it floods the middle sink area. Suppose the hotel already know this problem, so they provide 2 floor mats. As most hotels now are going environmentally friendly, so did not provide for toothbrush and hair comb, and had turn down service for unused towels... BIG PLUS. P.S. maybe hotel could leave a turn down card on the night table, so we could choose to change sheets or not.
Breakfast was good, and staff was polite and attentive.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed1982_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSilom, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom, responded to this review, November 14, 2010
Dear Ed1982_10,

Thank you for visiting our hotel and we truly appreciate your constructive comments as well as the compliments for our team.

We are a brand new Novotel hotel under the official name of Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom, managed by one of the largest hotel management companies in the world, Accor. Thus, there is no association with the old Silom Plaza hotel.

As you have experienced for yourself, we are in our soft opening stage with are very greatful for the tremendous support from our guests worldwide, you included.

We will definitely take on your valuable comments for further improvement to ensure that your next stay with us if absolutely flawless.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With best regards,

Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

The hotel is a new renovated and has change the management and become Accor group, so there are many thing that there are not fix yet. I am a gold member of A-Club and we are traveling to BAngkok every 15 days and we always stay at the accor hotels. We stayed at Novotel Silom fenix for two nights. Everything starts at the check in where the receptionist has assume that the lady traveling with me is a prostitute, asking her is she will stay in the same room with me. The lady with me happen to be my wife and only because I am a foreigner and she is Thai he believed he should ask that question. I have booked and payed for a king bedroom and the check us in a twin instead, I called and asked to change the room for us and give us what we are paying for. The hotel has no parking yet so we have to park in front and leave the keys at the concierge. The next morning we what to leave the hotel but our car has 4 cars parked in front and they don't know who is the owner of one car so we have to wait for 30 minutes. I all ready wrote to the manager of the hotel and told him about my experience, they wrote back and they send a one night free stay as apologize. I understand that the hotel is new but as part of the Accor group they should have a better standard for the opening and training the staff in a better way. I am sure they will improve soon but unfortunately I will not stay there anymore.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andybony_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

The hotel is quite clean and consider a very old hotel. This hotel is in need to be refurbished. The room is very BIG and can fit into 3 ppl. Kettle is provided and water heater is functioning well. One thing good about this hotel is the food. The buffet breakfast is really yummy! The hotel location is very far from Saladaeng skytrain station. The staff are not friendly.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmi Zarul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSilom, Public Relations Manager at Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom, responded to this review, November 14, 2010
Dear kimmi-ckj,

Thank you for your comment. Please allow us to clarify a few points. The hotel that you kindly commented on was indeed the old Silom Plaza hotel and not our hotel, Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom.

Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom is indeed a brand new hotel managed by one of the world's largest hotel management companies, Accor. The hotel soft opened on September 20, 2010 and it features all state -of -the-art amenities and facilities.

And we can reassure you that our staff have been complimented for their manners and professionalism throughout. The nearest BTS skytrain stations are the Taksin and Surasak of which are 10 minutes away from the hotel by foot traffic.

Would love to welcome you to our new hotel soon. See you!

Best regards,

Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom
#134 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Silom
Holiday Inn Express Bangkok Sathorn
Silom
Triple Two Silom
Triple Two Silom
#62 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Hotel Managed by Centre Point
Silom
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
#87 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Silom
Amara Bangkok
Amara Bangkok
#48 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom

Property: Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom
Address: 320 Silom Road,Bangrak | Suriyawong, Bangrak Bangkok, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#117 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#149 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your trip to Bangkok is for business or leisure, Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom puts you right where you want to be. Ideally located in the heart of Bangkok, Silom is the original cosmopolitan district of Bangkok and remains the city's best blend of old and new. From ancient temples, to corporate headquarters, to the hottest clubs - Silom has it all. Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom is between two BTS Sky Train stations, Taksin and Surasak. Likewise nearby the hotel is Sathorn Pier where you can catch a Chao Phraya express boat for exploring historical sites such as Rattanakosin Island and the Old City. Along with 216 guest rooms and suites, Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom offers facilities and amenities including: The SQUARE all-day-dining restaurant, lobby venue STONE Bar, outdoor swimming pool, fitness centre, sauna room, 24-hour room service and free Wi-Fi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing