We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow - love it, love it, love it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow - love it, love it, love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

This beautiful boutique hotel is full of gorgeous ornaments and art pieces from all over south east asia. It has a lovely outdoor pool, which is pretty unusual for a hotel of its size - a lovely oasis from the madness of Bangkok! The food in the hotel (both for breakfast and the lunch/dinner menu is excellent - authentic thai food with the option to have international food if preferred, and a.m.a.z.i.n.g homemade desserts. The owner David makes the place - he was always around to recommend great local restaurants that we would never have found using our guidebooks. Highly recommend this place!
Fay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FayfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    205
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
236
834
90
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

This was the last hotel of our stay in Thailand, and the second in Bangkok. Perfect. Interconnecting rooms that were huge, beautifully planned and decorated with gorgeous bathrooms, furnishings and layout. We only stayed in boutique hotels and this was the best. Believe all the other reviews. David and his wife have done a fabulous job in turning this family house into a hotel - beautifully designed both inside as well as the pool area and garden. You cannot believe you are in the heart of Sukhumvit. The staff were friendly and helpful whilst remaining discreet and polite. The food was excellent and you hardly noticed that it was vegetarian. I will be telling all my friends to stay here - forget the rest of the faceless chain hotels. This is where you get personal service and attention.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annakatrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2010

This is quite simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The ambience is wonderful and the staff are very helpful without being pushy. They happily accommodated my request to extend my stay and the food from the restaurant was superb. It is a short walk to the sky train and market or even more fun to take a motorbike taxi for 10 bt.

Finally, it is very close to Bumrungrad International hospital and the ideal place to recuperate after surgery.

Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank EileyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

We only had a short stay of two nights but wiished we could have stayed longer. This Hotel is unique for Bangkok and definitely to be highly recommended. The staff are courteous, most helpful and friendly, the hotel itself is beautifully designed maintaining all the charm of an original Bangkok colonial style house which forms the hub around which newer housing has been added entirely in keeping.
The restaurant though vegeterian has a most imaginative and extensive range of delicious dishes which are beautifully presented. The home made desserts are not to be missed! All other amenities including the pool and spa facilities are to a very high standard and there are many thoughtful and charming touches to make the experience special. It is difficult to imagine the hustle and bustle of Bangkok city just up the soi outside, whilst relaxing in this peaceful haven. A true treasure of a find.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovablelondoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

I realize this is going to sound like a cliche...Still, I can't think of a better way to describe the Ariyasomvilla than as a home away from home. We stayed four nights in their Executive Suite and never wanted to leave. It had plenty of space for our daughter and for us to work when we needed to. The master bedroom is above the living room and both were spacious and gorgeously decorated and came with all the amenities you need – and then some. Did I mention the two bathrooms? There's also a saltwater lap pool, small spa and a restaurant (serving mostly vegetarian dishes – so, no juicy steaks can be ordered here!). Friendly staff, reasonable prices and intimate in a relaxed kind of way.

Folks, this a truly thought through boutique hotel concept with a very personal touch that worked great for my family and me. Can only imagine how amazing it would be for a couple looking for a romantic getaway in the middle of Bangkok's bustling Sukhumvit area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joakim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

David and his staff take care of everything at this boutique hotel in the heart of ex-pat Bangkok. Outside and affordable spa service, excellent food at the restaurant, and great recommendations from the staff. What more can you ask for? We'll never stay anywhere else in Bangkok.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gotham123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

We started our tour of Thailand in Bangkok and found this delightful colonial house converted into a hotel through Trip Advisor. It was the perfect antidote to faceless hotel chains. This boutique hotel is run by an English guy who is a charming and attentive host and the house originally belonged to the grandfather of his wife. The restaurant and rooms are gorgeous, there is a pool and small spa too. My family of 4 all had Thai massages at the same time on a room terrace overlooking the pool - heaven! The hotel is on a river so you can get the river boat easily, which is an experience! It is down a strange little street really tucked away down the bottom so make sure you take a business card to show the tuk tuk driver - they probably won't know it. All the staff were incredibly friendly and couldn't help enough. We came back here for our last night in Thailand too as it is just under an hour from the airport. Would definitely recommend it for the personal touch and the comfort.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Property: Ariyasomvilla
Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing