We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute perfection”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #2 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is what all hotels should strive for. Ariyasom (Ah-ree-yuh-sahm), which is what you should call the hotel to the taxi drivers we found out, is centrally located in the center of Bangkok but does a magnificent job giving the most peaceful atmosphere possible. The staff bend over backwards for the clients and always appear pleased to do so.
My wife and I were on our honeymoon and had taken a train from Chiang Mai to Bangkok, a distance of approximately 500 miles, which should have taken twelve hours, but we were delayed five hours when the train caught fire three hours into our journey after breaking down twice before. All that being said, when we arrived, I can only imagine we were a little short. The man at the reception desk was ever so helpful, even at 1:30 a.m. which thoroughly impressed my wife and me.
The room was large, well furnished, and most importantly comfortable. The bathtub was a welcomed bonus after a horrendous and stressful train trip.
Breakfast and dinner were perfect. A note: the meals are all pescatarian, but there is wide range of food and I'm sure a typical meat lover will not even notice.
All of this was exceptional, but where the hotel really stood out in my mind was the fact that they made their hotel available to us while we killed time waiting for our late night flight. They watched our luggage while we ran some errands around town and then allowed us to swim in the saltwater pool and use their showers while we waited. While we waited, we had the best massage of my life and one of the best dinners of the honeymoon.
Overall, this was one of the top hotel experiences of our lives, one that all other stays will be judged against for now on.

Room Tip: Try and get a room as close to the reception as possible. They are farther away from the train track...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottishbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

It was our first trip in Asia. We booked in Ariyasomvilla because it seemed to be a luxurious hotel in Bangkok. We were really impressed from the hotel. It was the absolute relaxing experience. Everything was great with no exception, exactly the way we wanted. We surely recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and our 3 grown daughters stayed at Ariyasomvilla for 3 days while traveling in Thailand. We had arranged for airport transport and were picked up easily and taken to the hotel at nearly midnight. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful to all of us. The rooms were very comfortable and beautifully decorated. They had fruit for us in our room and a refrigerator with water and juice in it. We set out the next day to see the Grand Palace and got good directions to take the light rail which is an easy walk from the hotel. It was lovely to return from a hot bustling day in the city to sit by the pool and have drinks and relax. The pool and garden setting at the hotel is beautiful. You easily forget you are in the heart of the city. We ate both breakfast and dinner at the hotel. Both were outstanding. At breakfast they made us iced latte's and a beautiful Americano as well. At dinner the options were equally tastey and we also enjoyed a nice glass of wine. We had planned a DIY trip to Ayutthaya to see the temple ruins, after talking to the owner, David about our plans, he suggested a hired car to take us. It was a wonderful suggestion and well worth the money. It cost us about $150 for a driver in an air-conditioned van who took us to all the sights. I'm not sure we would have been able to manage the trip on our own. David is a wonderful host and truly treats you like family at his hotel. From food suggestions to warnings about scams, he truly seeks to help you have the best stay possible.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and our balcony faced the street. The room was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrink711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I used to stay in large hotels in Bangkok but I could not neglect this hotel because of the reviews. And wow how great this was! The atmosphere is so relaxed. It is at the end of a small road, and we liked walking in the street, looking at the locals, the food stalls. Nothing special, but just nice to see. They gave us a free upgrade so the room was fantastic. Luxious and large bathroom, king size bed. The breakfast is a la carte; you can choose a couple of items from the menu. Pool is nice and quite. Kind owner. The location was fine for us; with tuktuk or taxi it is a short trip to the shopping malIs and for the ride back we showed the driver the card from the hotel with address. No problem! I would recommend this hotel and will come back in the future.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

With a location conveniently situated to the skytrain and major shopping, Ariyasomvilla is literally a Paradise. The charm and personality of the hotel itself is truly enhanced by the quality of care provided and gracious staff. We spent 6 nights there and loved every minute of it. We arrived after midnight and were greeted with a warm welcome and fresh chilled juice. The room (we had chosen a studio) was huge, gorgeous, and extremely comfortable with a large Jacuzzi tub under the stained glass window in the bathroom. A bowl of fresh fruit and fruit juice and water in the refrigerator awaited our arrival. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious including everything from cereal and eggs to yogurt and fresh fruit. The service was gracious and impeccable. Poo was delightful and provided excellent advice that I will always remember on Thai hot chilis and Mr. Lees, the Managing Director, chatted with us daily to find out if our needs were being met and offer recommendations for our day. No matter what tour excursion we took, we always looked forward to returning to this wonderful, beautiful hotel. We had dinner there several nights, as well, and found dinner whatever we ordered delicious. For the traveler who really wants to feel the culture and charm of the Thai country through where they stay as well as excursions, this is the place. Nothing could have made this hotel more special. Should we return to Thailand, this will be the only place for us. It was truly a little piece of heaven and we are grateful to each member of the staff for the excellent and gracious care they provided.

Room Tip: Ours was a studio and it was huge! Had a large king bed, a sitting area, a huge bathroom, and an out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveTravelGraniteBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at this amazing small hotel for 3 nights. We had booked the package including a deluxe room, transfers to and from airport and 1 meal and a massage each. It was all fantastically organised, and you can not help but feel serene and peaceful from the moment you arrive. Everything is done in the most organic and natural way possible. Whether it is the gentle scent of aromatherapy oils throughout the building (there are oil burners everywhere),or the pool which contains salt water in order to to avoid harsh chemicals. Our deluxe room was unbelievably beautiful, on the 3rd floor, with 2 balconies. One overlooking the pool, and one the canal. It had a huge oriental style bathroom, teak floors, and a huge four poster bed. Even the 'Prann' toiletries are made with natural ingredients and essential oils. There is a fridge in the room, and also a kettle.
There are nice fluffy towels on the thick loungers by the pool, and very soft Thai music plays in the background, which added to the tranquil atmosphere. We each had a massage, which was second to none, in a beautiful little outside pavilion. We ate dinner at the hotel on the first night. It was so tasty and aromatic, that we had a another meal there on our last evening. Do try the (non fried) fresh spring rolls! The owner, David, is a very friendly chap (a British Expat). He bakes a very nice Chocolate tart too, and makes sure the tea is adequate for us British tourists! He also sources the best Orange Marmalade from northern Thailand, and selects his staff very carefully. In particular the very good Chef, and a lovely lady named Boo, who is the restaurant Manager, and does everything to make your meal a memorable one with a genuinely friendly service. The whole setting of the restaurant is beautiful, and the outside dining by the pool very romantic. There is even Citronella Oil on the table outside to keep the mozzies at bay, and a gently fan blowing to cool you down in the hot Bangkok air.
Breakfast was also very good, with a large selection on offer, from Thai soup to yoghurt, or toast with above mentioned marmalade. The whole place was spotlessly clean, calm, with exceptional attention to detail. You have to tear yourself away from this lovely place to do the sightseeing! We made sure to be back early afternoon to enjoy the peace and serenity of it! It may not be the cheapest hotel, but it certainly makes for beautiful memories.
I would travel halfway accross the world to stay here for a few nights! Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yolandanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Ariyasomvilla, but we did have some issues with it.

Positives
+ Lovely authentic thai style, not like a chain, where you could be in any city
+ Really polite, helpful staff
+ Lovely spa (expensive though)
+ Food is fantastic - lots of lovely seafood, must have dinner in the hotel at least once
+ Good location

Negatives
- We didn't like our room. It was not what we booked. I was at the top of the hotel, on 2 levels, which meant if you were in bed, you had to walk down a long stairs in order to get to the bathroom. Also the bedroom was hot and dark, and the air con up there was ineffectual. It was a shame as my husband had called in advance and requested a particular room, which they then didn't give us. It was a large room, so some might like that. But as a couple, we really didn't need 2 sitting rooms!
- The pool area. We went to sit by the pool only once. It smelt very strongly of sewage. This wasn't an issue for us as we were out and about most of the time, but it would have been nice to have the option.

Overall, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Avoid the room on the top floor - it's split level and the bedroom is warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anon543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidlees, Owner at Ariyasomvilla, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Anon 543,

Thanks for your review. Of course I’m happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us but I wanted the follow up the important points that you made.

Sometimes our front office try a bit too hard and they upgraded you from a Deluxe Room in to a Duplex Suite. We could have reversed this if the stairs were inconvenient. I am concerned about the A/C as it should work well – when we first opened the hotel this was the room that I slept in for several months. Anyway, I’m very sorry if it was rather hot.

May/June are the hottest months and the canal running along the back of the property can be rather “ripe” when the temperature gauge goes up – we’ve also had so little rain at this time of year so there’s not much water to dilute the smell. Klong Sean Sap – the canal was built in 1937 and is still used today as a major transport route – over 60,000 people a day use the canal as their primary route to work. It can be used as a link to the old city and our nearest pier is at Soi 3.

Thanks for the review and thanks for coming to stay.

With very best regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 887 in Bangkok
652 reviews
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 887 in Bangkok
676 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $163 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing