We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely retreat”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed here over Songkran, everywhere we went we had a buckets of water poured on us or hosepipes soaking us. Amusing at first but not so great if you want to go out for a meal at night. So we ate at the hotel each night. Luckily for us it was a fantastic restaurant with a wonderful menu. All the ,meals were excellent. And we had been upgraded from the executive room we booked to a beautiful room with 4 poster and an additional sitting room - beautifully furnished and with complimentary fruit and a newspaper delivered each morning. The host David was very welcoming and we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,518)
There are newer reviews for Ariyasomvilla
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

We really enjoyed our 3-night stay here, we had a standard room and did a special deal where for 18,000 baht we had 3 nights with breakfast, a massage each and a dinner, I think this represented good value. The room was attractive and spacious. The pool was lovely and well needed after traipsing around in the searing Bangkok heat. The dinner was really good, authentic flavours but not your standard Thai fare - tasty and very generous portions. I was less impressed by the breakfasts, pancakes were good but the vegetarian cooked breakfast was disappointing. The area is a bit odd, it is very central but without much of interest in the immediate vicinity, but it felt perfectly safe to walk around even at night. The canal boats were a really fast and cheap way to get around and a there is a pier just a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

A perfect 2 night visit, the hotel so different to the rest, it has style, character and is in a great location with the most friendly of staff you could meet. You can catch a canal boat from behind the hotel, or the skytrain which is about 5 mins away. The owner is always there to hand and extremely accommodating. The pool is amazing, great for those morning lengths, although we didn't try the spa but heard that was good also.

For those that want piece, location, service and something small, different and very accommodation, this is an excellent choice.

Great Italian restaurant just over the road, made a change from Thai food.

Room Tip: Go for the executive room, has its own steps down to the pool, and is extremely stylish with a 4 pos...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

It is a bit difficult to add much to the reviews of this wonderful little hotel. It really is a jewel. We had a fantastic five night stay and were very sorry to leave. Don't be put off by the Sukhumvit location. The hotel is at the very end of the soi and backs on to a large klong (which enables you to use the boat service - if you are athletic enough!) The building dates from the 1940s and is extremely charming. Our room was tastefully furnished in Thai style with modern touches and was both comfortable and stylish. The dining room is just lovely. The leafy surrounds are also delightful and make Ariyasomvilla a true oasis in the heat and chaos of Bangkok.
We found the staff extremely friendly and helpful and also enjoyed meeting David, one of the owners, who has a regular presence - friendly but never intrusive.
Although we were intending to eat out each night, we found that the food at Ariyasomvilla was so good that we stayed in to dine for three of our five nights there. Although the menu is vegetarian, there is a great choice of delicious dishes, both Thai and European, and the service and atmosphere are unbeatable.
Don't miss the opportunity of staying in this lovely little hotel - book early!

Room Tip: You will be happy wherever you stay here.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We arrived in the evening at Ariyasomvilla after travelling for almost 24 hours. We were greeted by friendly staff, given a welcome drink. Check in was quick and we were taken to our room. Well, room is the wrong word to describe it. We had been up graded from our prebooked deluxe room to an executive suite. It was beautiful, decorated with traditional Thai furnishings.There was a bowl of tropical fruit and big bottles of complimentary water.
The restaurant is next to the pool and we sat under the stars watching the almost full moon whilst we enjoyed a very tasty dinner.
The hotel is well situated for the skytrain which is only 600m down the small road which it is at the end of. The road has lots of little stalls selling various foods and fruits. It is about 40 minutes from the international airport and a public taxi costs between 400-500 Baht.
Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Food excellent. The restaurant is semi vegetarian as it also offers a vast array of seafood.
We would recommend Ariyasomvilla to anyone who wants a more typically Thai style stay with wonderful comfort and food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This little jewel in the Sukhumvit area is an escape from the traffic and chaos that is Bangkok. The owners attention to detail and willingness to visit with guests about the life in this city made out stay both rewarding and comfortable. The Apple Crumble in the Na Aroon restaurant is to die for.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulsa-Traveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We found this place through tripadvisor and have no regrets. personal convenient and quiet are the words we would use to describe this lovely boutique hotel. if you want the trappings of the banyan tree this is not the place for you otherwise this is a great retreat in the madness that is bangkok.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paul291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 881 in Bangkok
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $159 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing