We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the Middle of Bangkok”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #2 of 892 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Ariyasomvilla is certainly expensive for Bangkok, but it's also very much worth it.

We went there for our honeymoon and got a free upgrade along with a beautiful floral arrangement. Our room was HUGE, bigger than our apt in NY and it was incredibly classy and elegant. We loved the 4 post bed and the bathroom (rain shower + bathtub)
Awesome service, great breakfast and great location.

Bangkok is indeed noisy, crowded and dirty (though it has it's charms) so staying at Ariyasomvilla really made it feel like we were coming home everyday.

Go here if you can afford it (and really it's probably the same price as a generic Hilton in the US) you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Rooms by the Khlong can be a bit noisy because of the water ferry, but you get used to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here after trekking in Bhutan for one month. This was one of the best decisions we ever made. Coming from one of the most remote areas in the world to one of the busiest cities in the world, Ariyasomvilla was the perfect transition. It is truly lovely -- nice gardens surround, lots of natural wood used throughout the hotel, excellent restaurant for dinner, attention to every detail, and friendly, helpful staff. It felt like we were staying at someone's exotic home. A bit off the beaten track, but the quiet surroundings make it worth it -- the BTS station is very close and can zip you off to anywhere in minutes.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which was fantastic, king bed, balcony, sitting area, huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed on three separate occasions during our trip around SE Asia and it felt like coming home each time. The staff were so welcoming and wonderful; nothing was too much trouble. We did buy an inclusive package each time and really enjoyed the massage and the choice of food provided. The restaurant is principally vegetarian but they do offer seafood. The pool was great; it is saltwater and 20 metres long, so ok for a good swim. We were lucky enough to be upgraded on our second and third visits and these rooms were wonderful. That's not to say the standard rooms are not good; far from it; they are excellent. The toiletries, and bug-spray were excellent and also most welcome. The location, close to the Skytrain and the klong waterbus, meant it was fairly easy to get into the centre of town. There is some noise from the waterbus but it did not really disturb us. We would love to return to the Ariyamsomvilla and wish there were clones in other cities around the world. There's a challenge for you, David.

Room Tip: We tried three different rooms and all were excellent. I doubt there is a poor room in the resort b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandRKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We booked into Ariyasomvilla after doing a bid of research. We usually like somewhere that not too large, not too corporate, and has some character. It ticks all the boxes. The staff are super helpful and can't do enough to help (we wee struggling with a travel agent and they even sent someone down to buy train tickets before we arrived). We had dinner in the hotel restaurant on both the nights we were there and the food was excellent served at an outdoor table by the pool; vegetarian but with fish options too - we don't normally bother with hotel restaurants but it was so good and my vegetarian partner was loving it. The location is central so if you want other food options it's very easy to look elsewhere. Likewise the breakfasts are good. There is a relaxing pool area and also a small spa; the Thai massages are excellent and done in an outdoor covered area, very relaxing. This is a good quality place with more character than most, welcoming staff, and just the right size. A great place in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Rooms near the canal may be affected by boat noise if that bothers you (it didn't for us).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonFromUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Ariysomvilla in early November and cannot rate this hotel highly enough. We arrived very early in the morning after an overnight flight from Abu Dhabi, by arranged hotel limousine transport (well worth the extra in our opinion) and because our room was not ready we were given a quiet room to relax (sleep!) and shower in. We were then upgraded to a beautiful suite on the 4th floor complete with two sitting rooms, a mezzanine bedroom, bathroom and an a further toilet. This place is deserving of its oasis in the heart of Bangkok title. The noise from the river taxis was no problem to us (we were out all day), the gardens, swimming pool area and the whole ambience of the hotel was beautiful.

Breakfasts were plentiful with fresh fruits brought to your table and the one evening meal in the restaurant was fantastic (despite the sudden downpour and the Fawlty Towers scenario when all the outside diners had to be quickly accommodated inside) but this was quickly dealt with by the staff. David and his wife were the perfect hosts and you felt like you were staying with friends rather than in a hotel.

The Ariysomvilla is fully deserving of its current position on Trip Advisor and if you are looking to give yourself a real treat and escape the frenetic pace of the city then look no further.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank furryJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Ariyasomvilla is a luxury boutique hotel in the heart of Bangkok, conveniently close to the Phloen Chit BTS station. The hotel features a salt water pool, a spa, and a vegetarian restaurant.

We stayed there for two nights and were lucky to be upgraded. The suite had a lounge, corridor with wardrobe, a bathroom with rain shower and generously sized bathtub, the bedroom itself with a balcony.

The service was perfect, the breakfast delicious and plentiful. A special mention for the vegetarian restaurant.

Our stay was so pleasant we decided to stay in for a whole afternoon after visiting Chatuchak market, just relaxing in the comfort of our room.

Great hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is really the best place to stay in Bangkok . Arrived at 2am and check in was really smooth & fast (which is what you need at that time of night !) . The hotel really is an oasis of calm in hectic Bangkok and there is nothing that I can fault.

About the only down side is you have to leave !

Room Tip: Try and get a room not overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 892 in Bangkok
686 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 892 in Bangkok
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $189 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing