We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I have ever stayed”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best hotel I have ever stayed”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Superb service, spacious rooms and delicious food. Just go, you won't regret it. A real gem.Will go back. First night I am in my room I hear a noise that sounds like an alarm beeping from the courtyard, I was too jet lagged to realise that a hotel would not have battery operated alarms so called reception who duly dealt with it. The next day at dinner the manager/owner came round and mentioned the noise had been in fact, a bird. The thing is, he knew exactly who I was. And we had not met before. Very well run hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobeSupernova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,253
    213
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
242
861
92
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights with our 2 kids when arriving from Europe. It was just perfect for a first discovery of Bangkok. Our kids loved the big pool of course, surrounded by a tropical garden. The room was very clean and typical of Thailand spirit. The restaurant is very good and we really appreciated not to have to go out for dinner but enjoy the thai dish inside the hotel. The hotel is very closed to the river where you can take the boat to go to the touristic places. You can ear the noise of the boats but it is not unconvenient and the hotel is located in a very quiet small street.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sosoolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel was booked by our travel agents, Selective Asia and I can see why it was chosen! The rooms were beautiful with the bathrooms being very well supplied with towels, fragrant soaps etc. The swimming pool area is a wonderful cool oasis although there is a little noise from the canal/track behind. There are lots of mosquitos around, so do come prepared although the hotel provide an eco friendly deterrent spray. The food was truly wonderful, it is not often you can say that for hotel food, but it was a very high standard. We arrived quite late and were exhausted and hungry and had one of the best meals of our 3 week travels. There is the added quirkiness of English puddings, my friend had an apple crumble, as the owner is English. The staff worked hard to ensure that everything was perfect. The hotel is about a 10 min walk to all the main transportation for the city and we really felt we could have stayed at the hotel longer than the 2 nights we were booked in for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howesvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Used the reviews from Trip Advisor to choose the Ariyasomvilla, and it surpassed all our expectations! The rooms were gorgeous - bathrooms were decadent - the grounds were an amazing oasis in the heart of the Bangkok hustle and bustle. Allows you to come back from a busy day in the city and recharge. We ate frequently at the restaurant and loved everything. The sea bass and miso soup option for breakfast was awesome!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Enjoyed the older feeling that they had to offer to us. It it in the city, but away from the loud noises. Mosquitos can be an issue, but they offer natural sprays. Pool is small, but not an issue. The place is vegetarian, but has a good selection of seafood. Friendly staff and funny owner!

Room Tip: Choice second floor and up to limit Mosquitos and other little crawlers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarland, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you are looking for something different than big hotels, then this is the right choice. You will find a very familiar cosy atmosphere which is also because of the very friendly British owner who will always try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms are very spacious and also the bathroom is exceptional large. The restaurant offers a very healthy range of Thai food which you should really try. The Hotel is located not far away from a Sky train station which you reach after a 5 Minutes walk. I highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Bangkok!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mechthild23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellon de la Plana, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed in the deluxe room which had beautiful antiques, fabrics in vibrant colors and interesting artwork adorning the walls. The windows were covered with cool Thai silk drapes. The hotel is built around a 1940s Thai Heritage House and is quite charming.
Efficient and friendly staff at the Front Office (special mention to the FOM mrs. Chantalak!) and outstanding service by the waitresses (see my separate review for the outstanding fish and vegetarian in-house restaurant).
If I'll come to Bagkok again I would never stay in a different hotel!

Room Tip: balcony room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boero m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 858 in Bangkok
559 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Property: Ariyasomvilla
Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing