We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed at Ariyasomvilla for 2 nights at the end of a backpacking tour and decided to stay as a last treat before returning home and it certainly didn't disappoint! The hotel and rooms are beautiful with wonderful little touches. The restaurant serves excellent food and the breakfast set us up for the day! The staff were extremely attentive and organised for a late check-out on our day of departure to conincide with our late flight at no extra cost. The hotel is convenient for the skytrain as well and the pool is lovely. We can't fault this fantastic hotel! Will certainly be back if we return to Bangkok!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairydust09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,518)
There are newer reviews for Ariyasomvilla
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2011

I planned a weekend trip to Bangkok on the occasion of my husband’s birthday.
I wanted book something special and Ariyasom Villa was just the perfect place for us!

Our flight to Bangkok had a delay and it was almost 2am when we arrived at the hotel.
It was raining when a hotel staff guided us to the room which faces the garden.
The room was so beautiful and tasteful that I forgot all the inconveniences I had on my way.

Our room was a wide open space with high ceiling filled with antique Asian style furniture.
It has a relaxed warm atmosphere, yet provides various convenient and modern amenities.
The bathroom with a large bathtub was exactly like the one I have ever dreamed of!
We were also very happy when we asked the hotel staff until what time they offer breakfast and heard the answer, “Any time”!

Next morning, I realized that not only the guest rooms are decorated beautifully, but also the restaurant, pool area, and entrance, as if the entire hotel were a museum.
I liked every detail like lightings, paintings and the table setting.

I have read in reviews that some found the location not very convenient, but for us it was just perfect.
5-7 minutes’ walk brought us to major facilities such as a shopping mall with a supermarket, street shops and a BTS station.
As the hotel is located at the end of a small side street, the surroundings were peaceful and quiet, so we could sleep very well.

Since our flight back home was at midnight and we had a plan to have dinner in the hotel, we asked if we can keep the room until our departure.
The receptionist kindly agreed, so we could refresh ourselves before leaving for the airport.

I would like to extend many thanks to David and his staff for the wonderful stay!
We will definitely come back to this hotel and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miyuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 weeks at Ariyasomvilla after I had surgery at nearby Bumrungrad.
Arriving from the hospital after 8pm and not feeling the best we were taken straight to our room...the staff are so lovely, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are beautiful and have such a peaceful feel to them...Bangkok is so busy and after a day out coming back to the Villa was an absolute treat.
The food was great..service is fantastic...I can't think of one single negative about this place.
We will definately be heading back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moo1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Very impressed and would definitely stay there again. We specifically wanted a small hotel with modern conveniences yet still feel that we are in Thailand. Bangkok has numerous chic, sterile hotels where you cannot tell what country you are visiting. Our requsite was minimum 4 star rating with a pool and in-room WiFi included in the price. The breakfast inclusion was a bonus.

HOTEL & FOOD - Spacious, clean rooms. We had the deluxe room with nice sitting area and desk for writing. Hotel staff is helpful and pleasant. Fantastic breakfast (eggs benedict to die for). Efficient room service, food was still hot. Relaxing & pleasant atmosphere. Quick note on children - our children were not with us (18 hour flight from Canada), but there was a family with 4 small children. Hotel had mostly adults, but we would come with our children once they are a bit older.

LOCATION - really depends on purpose of your visit. The location was perfect for us and fit our needs perfectly. Easy walk to Skytrain or water taxi - if you dare to, but fabulous experience, unlike Bangkok car traffic, water taxis are always efficiently moving. The pier is very close to hotel, ask at front desk how to get there. We used it to see the Grand Palace and come back as well. Skytrain does not go to the historic section. Taxis are great, but most of the time there are traffic jams.

We enjoyed walking on the busy Sukhumvit Rd. near the hotel that had many stands with all the typical Bangkok knock-off items and food vendors (make sure everything is very well cooked). Also our tailor was walking distance. It is useful to have the hotel address & name written in Thai, not everyone speaks English. Make the effort to learn couple words in Thai i.e. thank you and hello. Only 30 min. from airport. At airport ask at info or travel booth where Taxis are located and they will even offer to write the address for you in Thai. Airport has 24/7 exchange and much of it is open till very late at night (as is most of Bangkok). We arrived at midnight and still arranged a tour for next day. Easy, convenient and very inexpensive in comparison to Europe & North America.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SWOnt_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The AriyasomVilla was our final destination after a wonderful weeks stay on the Island of Ko Samet.
The location of AriyasomVilla was in the Sukhumvit area of Bangkok which is a mixed commercial and residential area which on first approaching is chaotic, hyped, frenzied and changeable....however amoungst the chaos which can also be described as cultural there are the gates to the whispering, enchanting Ariyasomvilla.
The service and hospitality of the owner David Lees was first class.
The room we stayed in was the Exective Suite which was the most aesthetic and tasteful hotel room I have ever stayed in. Every detail from the vibrant,elegant and charming decor to the comlimentary fruit that my husband ate on the Chaise Longue....something he had always wanted to do added to this captivating stay.
The location was great for us to explore Bangkok and the Sky Train station was only a few minutes walk from the Hotel, providing us with a great way to get around.
We stayed for 2 nights (wish it had been for longer).
We did not have the pleasure of having a meal in the "Na Aroon" restaurant. The breakfast however was superb, there was an excellent choice and the food was freshly prepared, healthy and delicious....blueberry pancakes to die for.
I would go back to Bangkok just to stay at the haven that is Ariyasomvilla.....

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1967Rainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed at the Ariyasomvilla twice during our trip to Thailand (at the beginning and the end). The first time we stayed there we got updated to the most wonderful room - it was 2 storeys, had two living rooms, incredible windows and a wonderful bathroom. The hotel is secluded within a luscious garden - at the end of a sort of back alley leading to a hospital. The pool and the gardens make you feel like you are miles away from Bangkok. It is very refreshing given the city that surrounds you. The breakfast which was included with the room was delicious - with a great number of options. The restaurant was very good - with incredibly tasty vegetarian options. We happened to be during New Year's Eve and they had a traditional musician playing by the pool during dinner, which was very lovely. On our 2nd stay, we got a normal (but very nice) room. The only small problem with the room was that one of the walls facing the hallway was translucid and you could see the hallway light in your room (making the room very bright and hard to sleep). The light does turn off after 11pm. But we were really tired and had wanted to go to sleep earlier.
The hotel is far from the major sights and the historic district (Grand Palace, Wat Po, Wat Arun, etc) and Bangkok's public transportation system leaves much to be desired. However, if you are interested in shopping (big shopping malls) and nightlife, the location is ideal.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandT_ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

In the middle of this very busy city is an oasis of an hotel that we loved returning "home" to after a busy day sightseeing. Even better than our home in the US, as we don't have a pool, spa and restaurant. We appreciated the intimacy of this 24 room hotel rather than walking through a big lobby. We relaxed around the lap pool which is surrounded by trees, palms and flowers. You feel as though you were far away from the city when you're actually two blocks from the Sky Train.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brink8683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 879 in Bangkok
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $159 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing