We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vegetarian Delight” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Curry Pot

The Curry Pot
Ranked #6,126 of 10,632 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Delight”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

After looking at the street food available at every corner, it comes out as a delight to get vegetarian food in variety.

The food is not great but yes a loved change and relief when you get to eat authentic vegetarian food. Probably the best for vegetarian I found in bangkok, during my stay.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JRahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    17
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The location was good but the food was terrible.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

The test of food was trible. Had to get up and request for service though there were on two tables occupied.
Butter chicken was tasteless and Dosa was like rubber. Ordered paner methi as was very hungry. This dish was reasonably good.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shashi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuttack, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“great location & nice indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

i noticed that a few members have written of issues such as rude staff and cleanliness but frankly I did not come across any such issues there, on the contrary i found a really helpful Indian waitress there who helped us a lot in giving us directions for a few local market's we wanted to visit and also conveying our order (exactly what we wanted) to the Thai staff there... and yes they are pretty famous within the circle of Indian tourists in Bangkok and have the plus point of being located just behind Indira square (a very busy market and a major centre for Indians who purchase TV's from this particular market)

now the most important part of the restaurant, the food..
we dined in this place around 4 times and the food was consistently good, no complaints for quality, preparation or taste of food, if you'r around Indira square then don't think twice about coming here ..

for 4 of us the approximate bill amount was 1400 baht, with 2 plates of vegetable, 1 dal, 1 rice and breads (roti etc)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kanha84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rude Staff & Average Food....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Location advantage is in favour of this restaurant due to its proximity to Pratunam ( Indra ), the favourite shopping area for Indians..

In the midst of pleasant Thais.... the behaviour of the staff ( Cashier & one more staff ) comes as a shocker..

Please do yourself a favour & explore some other eatery....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shabbir_1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
278 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“restaurant to cater to tourist from india”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

reasonable restaurant serving indian food for tourist who arr starved of indian taste during their exhaustive travel shedule. the food is affordable but cleanliness needs improvement. located in the busy market place behing indra square

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SINGARAMMOHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curry Pot also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to The Curry Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing