We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New Road Guest House
Ranked #89 of 655 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very good location, close to everything you might need. Train station near by, you can either walk to it or take a tuk-tuk for 50 Bht. Very friendly and helpfull staff. I've stayed at one of the appartements there. Thank you, will stay at the New Road Guest House again next time I am in Bangkok.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvliAvli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    93
    70
    20
    12
See reviews for
18
72
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Guesthouse is in a great area, and downtown bangkok and close to the Sky Train Saphan Taksin. There are some markets down the street that have some tasty food. However if you are looking for value for money this is not it. The guesthouse tourism service is over priced and the tours are 500baht more expensive then some of the places that are down the road, 5 min walk turning right out of the guesthouse drive. The Breakfast was priced at 160 baht per person for what looked like a mediocre breakfast at the least, on top of an over priced room at 950baht per night. Over all not impressed with the Guesthouse NOT good value for money. There are much better places down the road including breakfast, hot shower and under 600baht.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glitter232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed in this guesthouse for 1 week at the beginning of our backpacking travells around SE Asia. We liked the location as it was in a downtown of Bangkok with many places to eat and good connections to other parts of the city. Chinatown within walking distance and train station just 10 min taxi ride costing 50baht with metered taxi.

Both roof terrace and outside communal areas were good to relax. The place was generally clean, taking constant turnover of tourists.

However, I would not reccomend the room we had chosen. It was budget twin room with fan and shared toilet costing around 300BHT. It did not have window, was very small and the beds extremely uncomfortable and noisy. You could hear all the beds from the floor making terrible noise every time somebody moved. Lack of sleep was not worth the price...

Wifi only worked near reception area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Though a little away from the heart of the city, it is very well connected by both waterways and the Metro rail.

It has a hotel, as well as twin sharing and dormitory accommodation. The atmosphere is amazing, all travel buffs and wanderers. It has a nice breakfast buffet (not complimentary, but worth 160Baht!) and a VERY friendly desk. They help you plan your travel and everything else.

Internet is available (paid) and there is a book exchange shelf for the booklovers.
Also, it has lonely planet editions to help you make the most of your stay.

Room Tip: If you are traveling, stay in the dormitory, you will have the best time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astronautameya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights and the service was excellent. Staff always will to assist and even help to plan your day with tip on the do and donts. Location is perfect. Its close to the main railway station, skytrain and the pier. Wanted to stay longer but had to move on. Its a home from home. Rooms are good for what you pay for and there resturant is excellent if you need to stay in and get a big breakfast before leaving.

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAtravelerx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay for the price it is being offered. The staff here are very good and helpful and will give you any local info that you require. Ideal for backpackers and not bad if you are with family too. Will stay here again for sure :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in this Guesthouse for 4 nights. The rooms are okay, the service is good, the staff is very helpful. I would recommend this place if it wasn`t for the bedbugs we found in the very last night of our stay. Beware of that and ask for another room if you encounter them. As the most important precation for you, never place your bags on or near the bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeritBonde, Manager at New Road Guest House, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Alexinnz,

Thank you for your kind words on our service, rooms and staff. It is much appreciated and has been shared with all.

Contrary, we are very concerned as to your experience with possible pests - a matter we want to avoid by all means! Therefore, we have thorough prevention and treatment procedures should this issue be suspected and we do not take any chances with these "unwanted travellers".

Rest assured that it has also been activated in this case (dating back to April) and we are currently developing further our prevention scheme as well as our level of information to travellers to help avoid this industry-wide issue altogether. For this reason we are also glad that you are alert to and mention not to put luggage near mattresses when staying at hotels. We take this one step further and also recommend to stay alert when traveling by night sleeper trains and going jungle trekking with basic accommodation.

We are also glad that you encourage others to notify the hotel in case of the slightest suspicion of pests. As stated we have a very orchestrated and conscious approach including, but not limited to, moving travelers to another room and treating travelers' belonging immediately. This because we want to fulfill what we believe is all hotels’ responsibility of making sure these pests do not travel further, but are isolated and treated immediately.

Due to this, we normally keep the presence of these unwanted travellers at a fair distance from our property and we work hard to keep it this way.

Overall, I am truly sorry you had this experience and I hope though that you enjoyed your stay in Bangkok. Should you have any further information or questions to us, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards from all staff at New Road Guest House,
Berit Bonde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Sam Sen Sam Place
Sam Sen Sam Place
#35 of 655 in Bangkok
333 reviews
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#49 of 655 in Bangkok
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluefin Guesthouse
#163 of 655 in Bangkok
33 reviews
Silom
Glur Bangkok Hostel
Glur Bangkok Hostel
#18 of 1,217 in Bangkok
898 reviews
Admire Thonburi
#63 of 655 in Bangkok
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Road Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Road Guest House

Property: New Road Guest House
Address: 1216/1 Charoen Krung Road | Between Soi 34 and 36, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 655 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Road Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Road Guest House is a place with great atmosphere and homey surroundings. In the middle of hectic Bangkok you will find this nice hotel which is very popular among travelers all over the world. Next to the lobby you will find a Service Center that can provide you free travel advice from experienced European and local staff.The lobby, café area and most rooms just went through a comprehensive renovation leaving the guesthouse new and fresh. Despite the new interior the guesthouse have kept their budget rates with prices and rooms for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Road Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Road Guest House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing