We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #33 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Booked the hotel directly via the hotel website. Arrived the hotel late in the night, the front desk staff was unfriendly at all. I am travelling with kids and was keen to upgrade my room but the cost given to me was so much higher than I purchased via online.
The staff kept telling me that this is the best price that they can offer while I immediately surf the net and get a cheaper rate.
Checking in was long and they just left my whole family standing at the counter.

Day 2, house keeping came to clean up our room at 3pm ! We went out early in the morning and came back. Our room was not clean up at all and they left us waiting in the lobby for 20 mins. All these time, no one in the lobby help us.

It was raining every day during our stay and when we asked to loan umbrellas, the staff said we can only loan 1 umbrella for 5 adults and 2 kids!!!! UNBELIEVABLE!
How can anyone expect so many people to share 1 umbrella.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Delinamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeedeeVIE, Manager at VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear Delinamum,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the VIE Hotel Bangkok. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At VIE, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,095 - 2,101 of 3,018 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011

Spacious rooms, cool decor, great food, convenient location. The spa is a pricey and pretty ordinary.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivian2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeedeeVIE, Manager at VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Well noted and thank you for your feedback. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in your next visit.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We went for holiday with families and booked 2 rooms as there were 2 families with 2 kids each.

We asked for inter-connecting rooms when we booked the package with the agent locally and was utterly disappointed to find that they do not have any upon arrival at the hotel. The staff told us no connecting room, we thought they were taken up. Not only I know today that they do not have such in the hotel at all!! I see that many reviews here were given an upgrade. We didnt have and it was ok as we didnt expect it, We just didnt expect not to have connecting room as we never got rejected for most of the hotels we stayed before asia wide. It was totally inconvenient having to shuttle to and fro the room outside and inside every minute or so, banging the door open and shut. It was simply frustrating. People will big extended families will understand our plight.

We were quite surprised why a 5 star hotel does not have inter-connecting rooms for big families like us? We sent in our review after we left.

We are going again this Oct and i am quite reluctant to stay with VIE again because I just realise i will not get the inter-connecting rooms as they simply do not have. Even 3 star in BKK has.ad

The package seems reasonably priced and we are quite won over by the location than the inconvenience we experienced. Though we have booked again, we are still thinking if its still worth-while going through the inconvenience we had.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiki n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeedeeVIE, Manager at VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2011

Dear kiki,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, we very much appreciated your concerns. We regret to hear that your previous visit failed to meet your expectation

Due to high occupancy and mis-communications with the agent, rooms were not available at the time of your previous booking, kindly accept our apologies. Please rest assured that the issue is being address and improvements are being made. Although we do not have connecting rooms, we have family cluster rooms that we will be more than happy to reserve such rooms for your next visit. We hope that we will be able to and trust that your next visit will be a better experience.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in October.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lye S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MeedeeVIE, Manager at VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
1
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Breakfast is by far the specialty of this hotel, the quality of dinner needs to be improved if it is to maintain the extemely high standard set by the morning crew. Overall, our stay was excellent as the hotel is walking distance to MBK and Siam shopping centres and the hotel staff speak English well and were able to assist us in finding things to see and do around Bangkok.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeedeeVIE, Manager at VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2011

Hi there,

Well received for your comments regarding the quality of the our dinner. The concerned department has been notified and improvements are being made.

Thank you for letting us know and for choosing us, we hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you once again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

As a frequent traveler I stay in Bangkok nearly every 6 weeks for 3 years now. I tried several quality hotels during my stays and got stuck with VIE Hotel, now for already nearly 2 years.

When I first booked VIE Hotel, I thought about the convenient location, 50 meter from the Ratchathewi BTS station, a 5 minutes walk from the MBK mall, and a 15 minutes walk from the main shopping centers like Siam Discovery, Center, Paragon and Central World. Taxis too get cheap as the hotel is centrally located. For me this is all important as it makes a minimal waste of time spent in traffic jams and keeps transportation budget low.

The Hotel:
Check-in is hassle-free and the staff are very helpful all the way to your room as you would too expect it from an official 5-Star hotel. Rooms are always in good condition. By the way for smokers there is a special 14th floor. I personnaly would recommend to everybody who is not on the tightest budget their suites. They are really big and have all anneneties you could immagine even if for me the biggest anemety is space! Deluxe rooms too are on the bigger side if you prefer these. Most important; you will not find another same standard hotel with this location at the same nearly bargain price!

The hotel has all standard facilities as fitness, spa, pool, bar (more on this later), cigar room, ...

Food:
There is one restaurant used for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
On breakfast there is really nothing missing. The buffet is simply huge and of excellent quality; not only for westerners, but for asians too, there is a varied big choice of food.
Sadly I have never tried their lunch, but I think it should be the same quality as for the rest.
Their buffet dinner has won several prices over the years (says every year), so you can immagine that I can say nothing bad about it. The buffet is huge and there is a big vareity of food, even prepared to order. The buffet comes with one glass of wine. The price is more than correct at a little less than 1000 Thb per person, knowing it is a hotel. By the way staff here is also very helpful an friendly.

New for the last 1-2 months is that they now have live jazz bands playing at the bar form 9:30-12:30. Some of the musicians are world class, namely Koh Mr. Saxman (last concert I paid 1500 Thb to see him). This is a sure bet for all jazz lovers to have one or several relaxing nights listening good tunes. By the way, as a red wine drinker I have to say open wines are at reasonable prices too.

Another new thing is the free hotel Tuk Tuk that can drive you to nearby places, only be aware that you have to find your way home yourself as there is no fixed schedule or pick-up.

Finally, depending on your arrival time at the airport you only need 30 minutes to the hotel (expressway included this makes roughly 400 Thb). I would not recommend the Airport link, even if a lot cheaper, as you have to change train once at Phaya Thai to arrive to the nearby Ratchathewi station.

As you can guess I am 100% happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerAnLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeedeeVIE, Manager at VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

WOW! I cannot express how much we appreciate your comments and your wonderful feedback. The room were filled with smiles and delight when I shared this comment to the team.

Thank you so much and we literally cannot wait for your next visit to our humble home.
Sincerely,
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The hotel rooms and lobby were beautiful and very comfortable. Only major downside was that it was it was difficult to find and most taxi drivers had never heard of it. We found out towards the end of our stay they have preprinted cards in Thai with their location and directions - so that was helpful - just wish they had given it to us on check-in. We also had to reschedule part of our trip due to rain/flooding and the staff was very helpful in helping us make phone calls. Free wi-fi in hotel lobby only - not in the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zizi1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeedeeVIE, Manager at VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Hello zizi1101,

Please rest assured that we've taken your comments on board and the front team are being brief about handing out those location cards at check-in or when appropriate. Thanks for sharing and we look forward to your next visits.

Sincerely,
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Hotel Muse Bangkok Langsuan, MGallery Collection
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 889 in Bangkok
3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 117/39-40 Phaya Thai Rd. | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly VIE Hotel Bangkok - MGallery Collection)
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#47 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $126 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel, is a luxury designed hotel with a superb location for both leisure and business. Right in the city center, it provides maximum convenience, with excellent conference and seminar facilities, and is perfect for a special weekend or family stays. The hotel is just steps away from the BTS Skytrain Ratchathewi station and within a ten minutes' walk to Bangkok's most renowned shopping malls in the Siam Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Vie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing