We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the price for a pair/group, probably not for backpackers though”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Roof View Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roof View Place
Ranked #318 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth the price for a pair/group, probably not for backpackers though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were two 20-something female Australians and found this place great. Clean, shower was large, air con was great, not hard to find once you know where to go. Yes it's a bit pricer than other places (I wouldn't bother if I was travelling by myself) but if you have a group it's reasonable per person and your own bathroom and private key made it worth it for us - $15pp/night over $10pp/night bought us piece of mind and a clean private bathroom. So maybe not for everyone but great for us. Probably good for families too. Staff weren't overly friendly but breakfast was terrific (!!) and beds weren't too uncomfortable (all Thai beds are really hard by Western standards).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    199
    85
    19
    12
See reviews for
20
155
97
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's located at the back lane of one of the street nearby Khao Shan Road. Not very easy to find therefore has to communicate well with the driver before heading towards. While walking to Khao San Road, you can also explore the other streets nearby. Being located in the old city area of Bangkok, the cafes around serve local food in a mixed atmosphere of local & western culture.

I personally don't like the cafes inside Khao San Road as they are too commercialised to cater the foreigners' taste. I would suggest to visit the restaurants/ cafes around if you would like to know more about the city. I think this applies to everywhere in Bangkok, but it is true that you can find a lot of 7-11 shops nearby Roof View Place.

If you would like to chill out at night, Blues Bar that is just opposite of the Roof View Place's main road is a very nice option. Blues Bar has been established for more than 10 years and it's performed by the locals.

Toilet and room of Roof View Place are equally clean, and they serves homey breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kit_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel was perfect for what I needed. The rooms were clean, had a safe, air conditioning and WiFi. The best part of the hotel however is the location. I walked to all the major tourist attractions which helped save on cost as although tuk tuks are cheap, they soon add up. The hotel staff are also incredibly polite and helpful. They arranged airport transfers and our trip to the floating market and river kwai. Both ran incredibly smoothly. This place is definitely worth the money and if I was travelling around Bangkok again I would stay there.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank LukeVials
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We wanted somewhere relatively close to koah San road, location was pretty perfect, only ten min walk. Room was clean and basic, which reflects the cheap price but had everything we need, staff were helpful and friendly enough and good choice of breakfast food. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie160990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here as a family of three for 4 nights and had an enjoyable stay. The room was basic and a little sparse, but clean and functional; with a little one it was worth paying the extra to have an extra-large room as the standard rooms are rather on the small side. The staff are friendly and the lady on reception in the mornings has excellent English and is very helpful. Other receptionists are not quite so good as their English is more limited, so I would recommend saving all your questions for the morning lady - she was great at ordering taxis, writing directions in Thai and English and sorting out any issues. The free breakfast has a good selection and the cook was willing to make fried eggs for me when she found that I couldn't eat any of the soy-sauce containing standard dishes. The location was quiet but very close to many bars and only a half hour walk / short taxi ride to the Grand Palace. There is no restaurant at the hotel but there are many cheap places to eat within a five minute walk. The only thing we weren't happy about was the laundry service as this was overpriced and the clothes weren't folded when they were returned.

We would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a large room if you need more space for a baby or lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights & decided to stay another night as we was happy & content with it's location. Helpful staff who made you feel very welcome upon arrival. The room we had was a basic double which had a huge bed and a nice spacious balcony, basic but everything you want and need. Around a 5 minute walk to Khao San Road & a 5 minute tuktuk to the Temples. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MajesticBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Koog, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

As most other comments say as well: a very clean and complete place to stay. There was a lot included in the price, as others already mentioned: minifridge, water, safe... stayed in a private air-con room. Small but sufficient. The matress was hard, but it was nice and clean so after a sleepless night at the plane we were quite happy with it. Breakfast was great, all fresh and a small but complete choice between thai and western food. I loved the luggage elevator, very convenient!

I want to highlight the super friendly staff. The man at the reception was friendly but spoke poor English, but with the young woman of the reception we could communicate with pretty well. She was extremely helpful, gave us a lot of information and she even arranged a tuktuk for a very good price for us at 5:00 am when we left. The reception officially didn't even have to be open at that time. Lots and lots of respect for her.
If we'll ever need another good night sleep in Bangkok, this is where we'll go again. Definately.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#315 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#203 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Banglamphu
Diamond House
Diamond House
#294 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Swana Bangkok Hotel
Swana Bangkok Hotel
#332 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#283 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#314 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roof View Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof View Place

Property: Roof View Place
Address: 90/1 Samesean Soi 6, Banpanthom, Pranakorn 15000 | Soi 6 Banpanthom, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu , Old City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Roof View Place 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roof View Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roof View Place Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing