We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Roof View Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roof View Place
Ranked #323 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Level Contributor
100 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had booked this hotel for one night before proceeding to Phuket. We had booked this hotel due to its location very near to Grand palace and other temples like Wat Arun and Reclining Budha.We have reached at around 1.00 A.m in the night and their was no problem in check in. Room was quite small but neat and clean.A.C very effective ,Breakfast was good and their was no lift for passenger ,only a small lift for luggage but since i had a problem in climbing stairs therefore they allowed me to sit in that luggage lift.

If any one interested in doing temple than then this is a best place to stay with cheap rate and quite place for better sleep. We must come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pran_panipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    205
    85
    21
    12
See reviews for
21
160
99
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I won't repeat all the accolades of the other reviewers on this site, but I will say the reviews are accurate. This hotel is basic but very clean, has all the amenities we expected, and has a delicious breakfast every morning. We would have appreciated having a chair somewhere in the room as sitting on the bed got rather tedious. We enjoyed the rooftop terrace several days in the late afternoon towards sunset time. There was a nice breeze, great views, and we were all alone up there! There were very good restaurant choices in the three Soi streets between this hotel and Khao San Rd. On Soi 6 we had excellent food at a little cafe which was called Park D Cafe or something like that. It was just past the big blue hotel on the left hand side but it was on the right. On Soi 4 we ate several times at Jenny Restaurant, near the corner of Samsen & Soi 4. We walked down Soi 2 and noticed many little outdoor places to eat that looked great and also a bar, but we never got a chance to try them. These places were much quieter and priced better than the much more chaotic Rambuttri or Khao San Road places.
There is also a good supermarket on the left hand side of Samsen, heading towards Khao San Rd. in the block after the bridge over the canal. You can buy liquor, wine and beer there but not between 2 and 5 in the afternoon, which seemed bizarre to us, but it is true.
The ladyboy guy at reception at this hotel is still there, and not friendly but don't let him put you off. This hotel is a good place to stay. Just don't expect a lot of friendliness from reception staff nor are they much help with any questions you have about tourism. Take your questions to a travel agency and enjoy the hotel anyway.

Room Tip: Higher floors probably have less noise. There is no lift except for a small one for luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyMaryRVTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Service was adequate. Room was mediocre. The highights were the breakfast and the ultra quiet neighborhood. But overall dissapointing as I prebooked on agoda.com and paid too much. The roof is ok but not used.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Amie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Try to get a room on highest floor. It's almost silent (for Bangkok) and a view above the roofs and the new bridge. Very friendly staff. It's a 10 minutes walk to the backpacker district. Would do it again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Roof View Place is about a 10min walk from Khao San Road, which is where you want to go!

The room wasn't fabulous, but it was fine. The shower was interesting. It had two shower heads - one hot and one cold. It was a task trying to get them both aiming in the same place. I have no complaints - the room was clean, no bugs and free water!

The room we booked had air conditioning, which is a must! It was our first night in Thailand and I don't think we would have survived without it.

There are a lot of comments about the ladyboy at the reception. She was not the happiest person, but she definitely was not rude and was very helpful. We only stayed one night so did not have to interact with her much.
We also used the ordered taxi service that they provide - 650THB from airport to Roof View Place. This was very helpful as we arrived very late after a long flight!

The breakfast was amazing. Eggs, fruit, noodles, toast and coffee!

I would recommend this if you need somewhere to stay that is good value for money, and private rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A great base. We stayed here at the end of our recent holiday in Thailand. It's near enough to the action but is set in a little neighbourhood of narrow streets, small shops and bars. There's some great, cheap street food nearby too.

Our room was a good size. Included a tv, safe and fridge. 2 free bottles of water were put into the fridge daily. The towels were changed every day and the sheets every other. Spotlessly clean. There's a small luggage lift so you don't have to carry your bags upstairs yourself.

Breakfast was included. juice, coffee, toast, jam, fresh fruit. Eggs (fried/scrambled/omelette) and usually a noodle dish. They had a fridge with beer, coke etc which you paid for at reception.

The staff were helpful. except for one (but we found the 'diva' behaviour quite amusing!!)This didn't affect our stay at all so I would recommend Rood View Place to anyone. It's not far to the river, so we got around most places by catching a ferry to the sights. Much cheaper and quicker than taxis.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cass2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I really recommend this hotel for its location. It's very close to Kao Shan and the rooms are very comfortable; there are no luxuries in this hotel, very basic everything but it's enough and great value. Rooms are clean and breakfast is great. There are lots of comments about the ladyboy at reception and, yes, she's unpleasant and a bit rude sometimes but the rest of the staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenalvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#320 of 858 in Bangkok
231 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
River View Guest House
River View Guest House
#331 of 858 in Bangkok
368 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#288 of 858 in Bangkok
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#324 of 858 in Bangkok
441 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#205 of 858 in Bangkok
198 reviews
MHC-Guesthouse
#203 of 858 in Bangkok
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roof View Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roof View Place

Property: Roof View Place
Address: 90/1 Samesean Soi 6, Banpanthom, Pranakorn 15000 | Soi 6 Banpanthom, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu , Old City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Roof View Place 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Roof View Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roof View Place Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing