We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great decor and service. Woeful food.”

MANGO TREE Surawong
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 12/5
8:00 PM
OR
Reserve a table
Ranked #591 of 13,796 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $3 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bang Rak
Description: The original Mango Tree is located in Bangkok, where the fame all started from. It is because of our ancient mango trees at the shopfront that made us name our restaurant the way it is now. Since Thailand’s mangos are world-class, we aim to make our restaurant just the same. And here our concept tries to be as traditional as it can be to preserve its rich history in the heart of the city. The outdoor dining can be further admired by its surroundings of heritage wooden houses which kept its original, colourful stained glasses. You can also dine inside these houses, whether it is for private parties or just a fine-casual meal. Our dishes are classic; we travel around Thailand to source unique flavour ingredients for you to experience the country’s authenticity. We serve full bar where
Reviewed July 28, 2016

Overall disappointing. A beautiful setting, traditional decor, staff uniforms and very good service, but oh the food was a great disappointment.
It is an expensive restaurant but of the 7 dishes we ordered all but 1 was very ordinary. Far better food is available from the street vendors.
Lots of deep fried foods, spring rolls etc. Not an exciting menu.
The Tom Yum was good but the green chicken curry was very ordinary, lacking taste or depth of flavours.
The rice was gooey instead of the usual steamed rice. Other dishes went virtually unotuched after the first taste.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterAUCNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 298 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2016

There are probably 100 Thai restaurants in Bangkok that provide good quality Thai food to patrons that are mainly foreigners. For the most part, they have a similar style of decor, cooking, and service. There are a few exceptions - Baan Kanittha, for example - but generally they are pretty interchangeable, and have similar prices. The test of whether it is good is in the level of service.

Mango Tree Surawong is one of those top-end Bangkok Thai restaurants. The customers are not Thai. (What Thai would pay these prices for Thai food?) The customers are European, North American, and Japanese. It has competently-cooked food, in a comfortable atmosphere.

Is the food special? Probably not. It is very good, but there are other places to go where you can get better.

And the atmosphere? Well, it is downtown, but aside from that, it reminded me a little of Cabbages and Condoms, a restaurant I really like, but which is a lot less expensive.

So it really ends up being about service. Mango Tree service is not bad, but it is not special either. You won't come away frustrated, but you also won't come away thinking that your server was awesome. Somewhere in between.

This review sounds tepid, but in fairness the restaurant is pretty good. The reason for the lack of enthusiasm is that, if I had to go out again in the same circumstances, I would probably go to Cabbages and Condoms, because there I can get the same for less, and I like the concept.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016

It’s such a shame when you have been going to a restaurant for many years that you always have good food, service and atmosphere and then have a disappointing night/ visit and unfortunately with guest, who for them was there first time to the Mango Tree. Staff were average and did not look like they wanted to be there to the point of not being helpful or attentive at all. Food was very average and the place over all look tired. This is a real shame as I use to love this restaurant. There are too many other restaurants to try now in the area so will not be back in a hurry! The place needs a good clean, freshen up, some staff motivation and a chef that cares. Very disappointed!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank mfoundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016

Wide range of choices in the menu; many selections appropriate for the stomach-shy like myself. Try the thai iced milk tea for it's cooling properties.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2016

I'll admit that I would normally not be crazy about going to a restaurant that is effectively a chain, especially while traveling. But Mango Tree totally gets it right. First of all, chain is somewhat of an exaggeration -- there are several locations of Mango Tree in Bangkok not dozens. Second, the food is simply amazing and so is the ambiance. Tucked into a little alcove on a side street a few blocks from the Mandarin Oriental, Mango Tree is super quiet and secluded. Seating is both inside and outside. Decor is really nice, dark and placid. The menu is extensive and basically includes anything that you've ever had in the way of Thai food in your home country. We had the spicy beef salad, the whole sweet and sour fried fish, tom yom soup and a few other small dishes. Every single dish was the best that I ever had of that item. Service was friendly, maybe a little slow but nothing to complain about - but regardless the food and ambiance make this a very solid if not so exotic pick for a great lunch or dinner.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MANGO TREE Surawong also viewed

 
Bangkok, Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to MANGO TREE Surawong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.