We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must in Bangkok”

MANGO TREE Surawongse
Ranked #305 of 11,045 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $5 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Silom
Description: Thai Cusine
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A must in Bangkok”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been going to Thailand for 20 years and when in Bangkok a visit here is a must. It has expanded considerably since we first went but is alwys packed. Ther is seating both indoor and outdoor but you would be well advised to book no matter what day of the week you dine. It can be found on a dog-leg bend on one of the roads connectind silom and surawang rd. It is the next connecting road after Patpong towards the river. Brilliant Thai food at affordable prices . Would advise booking outdoors where the atmoshere is exceent and there is often traditional music being played

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    574
    249
    102
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good try for the 1st time!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Went to mango tree to catch some light dinner. Ordered Tom yum soup, pat Thai, green curry and ice tea. Serving was fast! Food taste great (maybe because we are hungry). Overall nice!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weijie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you like thai food don't go here”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were very eager to get away from the Patpong activities so were relieved to find this restaurant as it was quiet and seemed like a pleasant setting. A waiter advised us to hurry and order as the kitchen was closing soon, so we ordered as quickly as we could. Our starter was great as you assembled it yourself, coconut, chilli, shrimps in pada leaves, so we were looking forward to the main course of massaman curry and pad thai.

We were sorely disappointed, the meals were bland, tailored for those who really don't like thai food, a 50b street food dish would beat the offerings of this place. I was expecting something more refined, but was presented will a dull curry with large lumps of chicken, overall far too expensive and very disappointing.

What really ruined the occasion was being presented with the bill while I was eating my curry, there was expectation that I had to pay there and then. It was appalling service, and I let my thoughts known to a waitress, but I don't think they were particularly bothered, and instead received a dismissive look from the waiter. It would have been acceptable to quietly leave the bill on the table if they needed to process payments, but to do it mid-mouthful was quite unbelievable, particularly as there were several other couples in the restaurant who were not hurried like this.

Avoid this place, unless you fancy being ripped off and have bland food tastes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank intuoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Lovely Ambience in Outdoor Garden Setting”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked ahead and were seating in the garden courtyard lit by coloured lanterns in the trees. We started with spring rolls and chicken satays. For mains we ordered BBQ river prawns, very simple, just with dipping sauce. The BBQ beef, again just the right amount of spice and tasty dipping sauce. The duck in red curry in the pineapple boat was the stand out. And for dessert mango with sticky rice is a Thai standard. I would agree with other reviews, it is more westernised Thai food, but that doesn't take anything away from the freshness, taste and presentation which were what you would expect of a restauarant of this standard. Service was tidy and prompt, a very enjoyable evening and recommended dining experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ptk_from_dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
788 reviews
637 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Not bad but bit touristic”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

On a back alley near Patpong, this is a chain that has a place in London. The main restaurant is outdoors which is lovely on a warm evening. There is a small group of musicians who play Thai music, they looked bored and did one song and were off. By 10:30 they disappeared completely. The food was not bad, certainly not great and there were very few Thai people eating there -which tells you something. I have been a couple of times before but wouldn't go back. About $25 a person plus drinks.

Helpful?
Thank JNWSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MANGO TREE Surawongse also viewed

 

Been to MANGO TREE Surawongse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing