We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low budget gem in a great location.”
Review of P&R Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
P&R Residence
Ranked #90 of 731 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

AREA: Smashing location almost beside the Sheraton hotel, where within 20 minutes are the other 4 of the top 5 chain hotels: Shangri La, Mandarin Oriental, Hilton, Peninsula. Set away from busy tourist and party areas on a quiet back street but not lacking in nearby dining options. Quick access via cab or tuktuk to anywhere in the city. Coffee shops nearby and many inexpensive street food options. On other side of Sheraton is massive shopping centre for further options on shopping and dining. Access to pier from the shopping centre to inter-hotel free ferry or the public pier for commuting up and down the river at 4 baht per person.
FACILITY: Wood shuttered doors, front sitting space and main dining table toward the back near the single lift, a simple and rather sparse entry hall with few decoration pieces. Free wifi throughout the location. Monthly rates available. Simple building and facilities for a decent place to stay at a good standard for a very affordable price.
ROOM: Large double size with en suite bathroom as seen in pictures. Security safe, fridge, tv with passable reception, desk, bedside tables. Carpet is worn and thin but clean. Bathroom is in good condition and well scrubbed. Towels changed daily. No complimentary features.
DINING: Breakfast served downstairs at separate cost; did not partake as there are many other options in the area for the same price.
HOSPITALITY: Welcoming but perfunctory. No one mentioned the wifi until I asked.
SERVICES: No extra apparent services, not that I asked nor did they mention.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 236 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed wd my mom here for 2 nights..this is our last city to tour befor we go back to KL n head home(davao,phils)..the hotel is not easy to locate for the first time, our taxi driver from the airport had the hard time locating it, (you can tell them its near royal sheraton hotel) but after familiarizing everything, you get the hng of it.actually bus stop is very near n you can ride the buses n mini van to other places, we went to pratunam market to buy cheap clothes and we also went to siam square and MBK.when you want to see the temples, the boat station is just 2 minute walk from the hotel.
The room in particular is not new but it is clean, of all the budget hotels we've stayed in for the past 8days during our tour, this is the largest..cleanliness is ok n the hot shower, should be turned on a minute or two to wrk well, but all in all, we are very satisfied wd our stay
The hotel also offers unlimited tea and coffee and fruits in the morning, we usually buy our breakfast at convenience store near river city, which by the way a 3-5 mins walk from the hotel(depending on how fast you walk).

Wil recommend ppl to stay here..safe.affordable.clean and big rooms:)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Skatemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved our stay at this hotel last April 2013 in Bangkok. We visited other places in Thailand too but when we came back in Bangkok we stayed at this hotel again. Staff were friendly, patient & helpful. Wifi is good and there's fruits and coffee in the morning and tea at night for free. Sometimes we just hang around the room; buy take-out food at the nearest 24-hour convenience store beside the RiverCity mall or in food carts nearby and eat inside the room! and we totally enjoyed thinking we're in another country!
Thanks for the memories.
We'll definitely come back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Faye1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is not a luxurious place to accommodate. This is a friendly, down to earth, worn around the edges, but immaculately clean hotel in an excellent location in the city. I do not need the luxury when I have such a wonderfully amazing city to explore and such a comfortable friendly place to go back to in the evenings. I will do it again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our Thailand travels during March 2013. We finished our trip here and wanted something inexpensive but not dirty. We landed here because of price and decent reviews, and we were very happy with the hotel and staff.

I wont explain everything about the hotel Ill just do a Cons and Pros list...

***Pros***
- Inexpensive
- Elevator at the end of a long walking day or when you have luggage is very nice.
- Clean everywhere
- No "room key reader". So if your spouse wants to take a nap while you go explore for an hour in the afternoon, they don't have to either sleep with no A\C or have to be woken up when you want back in the room. Only place in Thailand that didn't have this energy saving annoyance.
- Great showers that just felt comfortable to be in
- Good wifi reception
- Inexpensive but good breakfast option (100 Baht per person)
- Service was never an issue

***Cons***
- Poor location, nothing going on around here. Need to walk 20-40 minutes or get tuk-tuk or use the ferry that is right around the corner.
- If you like falling asleep by watching TV, there isn't much/any TV channels.
- English was a little rough for them, so everything just takes a little more time

Be sure to print off this locations address to give to your taxi driver. Ideally in Thai, because its some what hard to find and if the address is in Thai it makes things as easy as possible for them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank i3urt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The only con I can think of for this hotel is maybe it's location (didn't seem to be too much around it and the best way to get there was to tell a taxi driver I was staying at the nearby Sheraton). Otherwise, this place was cheap, clean, and well maintained. Personally, I think I got more more than I anticipated for the price. Service although limited since it is a small place was always helpful and anytime I needed to use the internet, they let me borrow their ipad! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADesai90024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Although we stayed here only for 1 night due to other hotel bookings, we cant wait to return here. We were given free upgrade to Deluxe room (3 rooms); Large clean rooms, AC worked fine, TV with limited channels, Warm shower, Clean bath. The ladies at the reception desk were wonderful, really helpful (especially Mika). Elevator is also there.
The hotel is just 5 mins walk from the Si Phraya pier (i couldn't believe it's so near) where we can catch the water taxi for most river side sightseeing. River city mall is also around 7-10 mins slow walk away - Here's where we caught the Chao Phraya river cruise.
Wi-fi good. And the nice folks also had complementary fruits & tea/coffee downstairs. This hotel exceeded our expectations & we couldn't have asked for a better start to our 1st trip to BKK.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank JZN007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Oriental Heritage Residence
Oriental Heritage Residence
#290 of 889 in Bangkok
26 reviews
Praso@Ratchada 12
#350 of 889 in Bangkok
56 reviews
Viva Residence
#453 of 889 in Bangkok
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#146 of 889 in Bangkok
183 reviews
Silom
Red Planet Bangkok Surawong
Red Planet Bangkok Surawong
#144 of 889 in Bangkok
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to P&R Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about P&R Residence

Address: 34 Charoenkrung 30, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 731 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $34 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — P&R Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
P&R Residence is a boutique accommodation that caters to smart travelers that require convenience, affordability and comfort. P&R Residence is located almost opposite Sipraya Pier and Royal Orchid Sheraton hotel. Traveller can enjoy an express chaophaya boat from Siphaya pier to Grand Palace, Wat Pho and Wat Arun. P&R residence is located adjacent to Royal Orchid Sheraton hotel so to wake up and walk across to Sheraton for conference is less than 1 minute away. For frequent travellers that enjoy travel around Thailand via train, we are minutes away to Hunlamphong central train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your P&R Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
p&r Residence Hotel Bangkok
p And r Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing