We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awsome room, very large, and very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Color Living Hotel
Ranked #633 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Samut Prakan, Thailand
Level Contributor
171 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Awsome room, very large, and very comfortable”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I'm an American expat and I ended up staying here just for one night since my air conditioning was not working in my apartment and it was just up the road from me.
So, I decided to lodge there as well as check it out in case of a needed accommodation at some point in the future.
Potential lodgers beware; this hotel is NOT in Bangkok province and not all that close to the major attractions that can be found nearer the center of Bangkok. It's in Samut Prakan province but just on the outside of Bangkok so it's not that far from main access to the city nor that far from the main airport of Suvarnbhumi. The hotel is also not too distant from the Bearing BTS Skytrain station.
However, it is close to the existing attractions in Samut Prakan which would include the Ancient City, Crocodile Farm, and the Erawan Museum (where the giant elephant statue is).

The hotel was very clean and was very impressed with the interior of the room (I chose a superior). The bed was big and the closet space was separately divided as was the bathroom. The bathroom actually had a frosted sliding door and a curtain in front of it in which you could close off from the main room.
The air is nice and cool and the bed very comfortable and got a good night's sleep.
There was also a big TV, small frig, table space and chair, safe in the closet, and WIFI.
* However, to access WIFI one must pay 100 Baht and is good for only 24 hours. (There may be other options to get it for longer though but not sure).
* There IS apparently a swimming pool although I did not go to it nor check it out since only being there for one night.
When you book you also get a breakfast coupon which must be presented for each day's meal. The food is basic but good and consists of a buffet style meal. You are offered things like fried rice, fried eggs, breads, sausage, fruit, juice etc. (even spaghetti).
It was good though and left me very satisfied.
Finally, the staff were great, helpful, and pleasant and even give a complimentary small ornamental Thai style elephant to keep.
Also, if you don't want to bother paying for the snacks and drinks already stocked in the frig, the hotel is just within walking distance of both a Family Mart (a convenience store), a 7 Eleven, and street food which will be sold all along the road and all on the same side of the hotel. Just go out of the hotel, walk to the end of the entrance and turn left (which will be on Teparak Road). Then just walk along the sidewalk and you will find an array of foods to choose from if you are hungry.
I would certainly consider staying here again if there was ever a need and would love to make it an apartment actually.

For more information just follow the link to view the hotel's main website:

http://www.thecolorlivinghotel.com/

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    18
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
11
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is time came to this place and stayed here, I've
Filled comfortable free of mind for purpose I came is meeting with customer.
The is value for money and it's equivelant to 4 star room. Clean and pempered situation.
Thank you for good service given.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chand4237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
198 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our stay in this hotel was included in a bicycle tour package. We had a spacious room, with bath, two beds (1 queen, 1 single), mini bar, safe, coffee/tea facilities. The hotel has a swimming pool which we didn't use. Breakfast was served in two different restaurants, one for "farangs"= Europeans, and Thai, and another for Chinese guests. That was because of the eating habits of the Chinese as we were told. We choose a Thai style breakfast, but other options like American, or pasta were available too. Although this hotel offers almost everything you could wish, it is not luxurious and looks cheap. But who cares when the beds are good, and the breakfast delicious? If you want to visit Bangkok, you could better choose another hotel, but it its not far from ancient Siam, and that is certainly worth while a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaapK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel is not in the city and not at the airport. If you want to visit the Ancient City it is near. If you want to go to Sion Center the Sky train is near. Near means 100 Bhat with the taxi.
We wanted to be near the SOS Childern Villiage.
The service was very good and helpful.
Food stalls out on the street are very active. Walk in the neighborhood was interesting.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 12 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kololi, Gambia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I took one look at the threatening black sky above Suva, the impressive flashes of forked lightning & the driving rain so decided that no way would I fly in this sort of weather. This hotel was recommended so headed here for the night. The room allocated was spacious, clean & tidy. I ate in the hotel restaurant & the food served was unremarkable, but tasty enough. Breakfast was average, but the eggs, toast & coffee did the job perfectly well. Its unlikely I'd stay here again (no desire whatever to explore the local environment) unless faced with exactly the same circumstances again, however, should you choose to stay here, for whatever reason, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't be misled by the dingy & drab corridors, the rooms are fine. Price is paramount (there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rightfirsttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I have never actually stayed here, but I live virtually 'down the road' and I have used The Color Living's restaurant and outdoor beer garden and I have been into the reception several times to enquire about the cost of a room for other visitors.

I would just like to point out to Trip Advisor readers that this place really is in the middle of nowhere. It's not even that near to the airport compared to other hotels. Samut Prakarn / Theparak - where the hotel is located - is a very working-class Thai area with lots of cheap apartment buildings, cheap markets and lots of foodstalls. Many Thai engineers and factory workers live in this area. It's not a bit touristy.

You might take an interesting 10-minute stroll before dinner to see Thai street-life but after that, you'll be totally reliant on taxis if you want to go to a nice restauarnt or a shopping mall. In heavy traffic, the nearest decent shopping mall (Paradise Park or Central Bang Na) could take you an hour to get to at least.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BangkokPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangkok
Coco Hotel
#8 of 15 in Samut Prakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Sky Place Srinakarin
#483 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Clef Hotel
#5 of 15 in Samut Prakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avana Bangkok Hotel
#656 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Lee's Mark Residence
#1 of 15 in Samut Prakan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Paradise Sukhumvit
Paradise Sukhumvit
#729 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Color Living Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Color Living Hotel

Property: The Color Living Hotel
Address: 2222 Teparak Rd, Km. 4.5 | A.Muang Samutprakarn , Suvarnabhumi, Srinakarin, Bangkok 10270, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #633 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Color Living Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of Bangkok, in close proximity to the BITEC exhibition centre, the hotel is ideally placed for business and leisure. The hotel features a fine dining restaurant serving an array of Asian and International dishes and a 24 hour limousine service to take guests to down town Bangkok to discover the thriving business and shopping destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Color Living Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing