We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, good value for money, despite plumbing problems(!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok
Ranked #182 of 883 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I got a special rate for a studio, and having stayed at the Citadines 16 in the past, I wanted to try this location. Overall, very similar room layouts and facilities. Location-wise, it is a 10-15 min walk to Asoke BTS and Terminal 21.

Pros:
* Comfortable double bed, doesn't really move on its coaster wheels as some other reviewers noted
* Good A/C
* Good clean bathroom, ample hot water pressure
* Stable wifi and LAN internet but relatively slow
* Full and clean kichenette
* Good facilities for a boutique hotel: nice small pool on the roof, a gym room with enough equipment, and a laundry room

Cons:
* On my third day there, the bathroom sink developed a huge water leak that proved to be irrepairable! After 2 hours of plumbing work, I was told I had to change rooms. I was given a room on the same floor, which made moving my stuff easy
* The bathroom sink is outside the bathroom, next to the sofa. I don't see the reasoning behind this, as I don't see how they save space like that.

Special note about the staff, as many other reviewers have also commented. The staff service and attitude overall is ok, some of the staff are more pleasant than others. What may seem to others as negative attitude, might be because they are compared against the legendary "Thai-smiled" hotel staff that BKK has plenty of.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EliasNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 781 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was excellent, food at the Minibar Restuarant was great. Room were clean and very comfortable and the room rate are also suitable. Of course , this hotel is my favorite hotel. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I had booked rooms from the previous night to get early check-in. However, the hotel staff allotted rooms to me after 12.00 pm and I was charged for the previous night as well.
Staff is rude and was on personal phones in spite of we standing there.

Rooms are good and have latest amenities. House keeping services not available throughout the day. In all good for stay but don't expect services.

Room Tip: Studio rooms are better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sudhanshu2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Thank you for the staff at Citadines, Sorry for leaving a mess, thats what 3 guys will do!

Firstly, the service here was fantastic, my wifi signal was strong but not connecting, so I called and within minutes they had brought up a modem, still didnt solve the problem for a while but it eventually worked.
The room itself was very neat, air cons worked very well, we had two! the toilets were ultra modern, the showers, and the kitchen was great!!

The pub downstairs was pretty good, the rooms were very clean, and the cleaning staff did a fantastic job, we had a bit of a party in our room, we had a 2bdr.and left a lot of empty bottles, which we were going to clean up ourselves, but were beaten to it.

The only negative, pool was a bit bland, the view is pretty bad, or lack of, but not much they can do about it. I believe the walk in rate for a studio room was 1965 baht. Our 2 bdr was approx 5700 baht at almost 3 times per price, we could have had almost 3 single rooms, but I guess thats what you pay for convenience.

Thank you CItadines

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank losttravellerfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This Citadines is up a soi off of Sukhumvit Rd and not the closest to the main road compared to several other hotels in the area. They have a tuk-tuk service to the road if you don't want to walk, but if you're not in the face of the manager for it, you might lose your line to someone more "worthy," it seems. The staff are generally not attentive and do their jobs at the minimum level. Going in and out, you'll be pestered by the ladies across the street. Nothing interesting around the hotel except for some eateries and "massage" parlors, but maybe that's why you're there anyway. The rooms are your average layout with a partitioned kitchen and bathroom area, however, consider a corner room so the air conditioner doesn't strike your bed directly. The AC is quieter than at other locations (LG brands are louder). The rooms are not particularly bright owing to the location, but they have everything you need for a comfortable stay. Considering the choices outside, I avoided the pricy restaurant. All in all, I would recommend the Citadines at soi 16 to this one.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexn216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed for 5 days in Feb'12 and we booked through Club Mahindra.The check in was efficient/ The roomis not large but is well designed.There is a mini kitchen on one side as soon as you enter and a sitting area with a comfortable sofa . The beds are behind a partition giving some privacy from visitors.I loved the the way the flat screen TV is fixed. It is fixed to a railing which extends all the way from the bedroom to the sitting area so you can shift the TV as per your convenienceand watch without disturbing your partner. The location is good as it is only 5 min walk from th nearest station and the hotel offers a complimentary Tuk Tuk ride to the station all day.Soi Cowboy is very close by but in a lane so it does not disturb but near by if you want to see the nightlife.We did not try the restaurant as there is great food available on the streets of Bangkok.There are minimarts close by for your urgent needs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Anand H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at the hotel from 17th - 20th July, through our Club Mahindra member ship, hence we didn't have to pay anything, booking was done through the Club Mahindra website.

The hotel by itself is very self sufficient and we quite liked the idea. Everything was provided complete with a kitchen unit, so much so that you can actually cook a meal from scrap. Also you have an iron and an ironing board in the closet. Free WiFi in the room, a broadband connection is available for laptops, a ID and password is given to you while you check in, you also get 2 Key Cards.

We tried the breakfast at the Minibar and didn't like it, for 200 Baht it was not worth it, only some sausages, eggs, bread, fruits, salads, tea and one Juice. Compared to the place where we stayed at Phuket, for the same price there was literally a banquet available. So we didn't eat there the next day.

We didn't try the tour desk available there, as we would just hail a cab and name the place we need to go to and were taken there by meter...much cheaper. But the lady there was very helpful in giving information and also helped us get a cab at one occasion.


For the first 2 day of the stay the staff was very polite and helpful, they would explain to us direction to the various malls for shopping, and even places for sight seeing. There was one staff by the name of Mimi, who really helped us and paitently answered all our questiones.

But the experience was ruined on the last day. We checked out on the 20th at 12pm and left our luggage at the reception and went shopping. When we returned at 4:30pm the staff at the reception had changed and there were all new faces there.

We asked them to book us a larger cab with more storage space as our luggage included large suitcases. The lady there told us that the charge was 900 Baht (note: meter cabs and fixed rate cab 400 Bhat were available) but we chose the hotel booking as we wanted a specific type of cab.

The pickup time confirmed was 5:15pm. We waited till 6pm and there was still no sign of the cab. When we approached the reception, the lady on duty very rudely told us to either wait or else make our own arrangements. We had to then hail our own cab, which was the smaller one, adjust with the luggage on our laps and paid only 200 Baht in the end.

The attitude and tone of the lady on duty was what ruined our perfect vacation, I would not want to return back if this is the case.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CassandraDsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit 12 Bangkok Hotel & Suites
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
CityPoint Hotel
CityPoint Hotel
#109 of 883 in Bangkok
1,241 reviews
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok

Address: 37 / 7 Sukhumvit Soi 23, Sukhumvit Road, Klongtoey-Nua, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit , Wattana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#163 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $43 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok offers international travelers the comforts of an urban city apartment. A wide array of popular shopping and entertainment outlets, local and international restaurants, museums and theatres are in the immediate vicinity or just a short drive away. All 138 apartments are very comfortable and have all modern amenities, a fully equipped kitchen and home entertainment system with cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Citadines Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing