We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant but watch out for the wine prices!!”
Review of Mezzaluna

Mezzaluna
Ranked #147 of 10,929 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $150 - $180
Cuisines: European, Italian, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Silom
Description: Welcome to Mezzaluna - Bangkok's finest and highest restaurant on the 65th floor at Tower Club at lebua, where the breathtaking 180-degree city and river view are combining with the masterful culinary innovatively presented. Chef Ryuki Kawasaki prepares his exquisitely innovative cuisine nightly in the open kitchen right besides Mezzaluna's half-moon windows wall, overlooking one of Bangkok's most iconic views. Let us escort you up the polished teak staircase to your table, where you will find the table impeccably positioned for privacy. Here our highly informed servers will waltz you through a magnificently choreographed culinary experience that many connoisseurs regard as the best fine dining in Bangkok. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used at Mezzaluna, from international growers as well as local artisanal producers - often royally initiated projects and always with an emphasis on organic farming methods. Homemade herbal oils, vinegars, bouillons, and fruits and vegetables extracts are used for the smoking, pickling, drying, curing and grilling that are done on-site. The seasonally inspired tasting menus are reinvented each day, and served with optional wine pairings for an unforgettable culinary experience.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant but watch out for the wine prices!!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The location of the restaurant is truly fantastic with the most wonderful views. The food is undoubtedly of Michelin star standard and the highly qualified staff are extremely attentive and knowledgeable. The ambience is really great and the presentation of everything is in line with what you would expect from a top class fine dining experience. The food prices are also in line with good Michelin starred restaurants but unfortunately the only downside is the extortionate prices of their wines. This seems a common theme in other reviews and we can only agree. We paid £140 -£150 for a modest bottle of French Sancerre. Hopefully the restaurant will take on board these repeated criticisms as it is the only thing that lets this highly recommended restaurant down.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    70
    32
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The view knocked out the food!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This my first time at this elegant Bangkok panoramic view restaurant. From the 65th.floor of the tower, you could find how beautiful Bangkok be . The services were impressive by the well-trained service mind team work .
I absolutely gave the big score in the first 30 minutes. The longer,the more noisy,......,the longer,the more sleepy,.......
It was about 3-4 hours for 6 course menu serving.......
The food quality was good by the freshness of the raw materials.......
It was hardly to compromise with the word ' creation' or ' innovative' as expectation.
Other out door outlets might worth to enjoy the view and price wise .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pimjai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Wonderful cuisine worthy of two Michelin stars”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The enticing description on the web and other positive reviews had prompted me to book "Mezzaluna" as a belated birthday dinner gift to my husband on the occasion of our return to Bangkok. At "Mezzaluna", 2 chefs officiate - German twins Thomas and Mathias Sühring (my husband is also German). We had a wonderful surprise. The decor was very elegant and in keeping with what the website photos promised. The food was simply...amazing. My husband and I are food lovers and go out of our way to taste innovative cuisine. With the 6-course tasting menu at "Mezzaluna", we had very precisely engineered dishes which were a sensory blend of interesting flavours. We were impressed and delighted. The portions are small so one can cope with the number of offerings. We opted for the wine pairing and were very pleased with that too. The staff was very attentive and explained all the dishes competently. I warmly recommend "Mezzaluna" to the attention of Michelin, Gault & Millau and other specialists in high-quality foods. I also recommend it to you, dear Tripadvisor reader, for that special occasion when you won't mind opening your palate and your wallet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best restaurant we have ever been to !”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We visited this restaurant on a whim we went to have drinks at the Sky Bar and loved the ambience so much we requested a table. We were not disappointed the service was exceptional the setting out of this world and the food divine.

There are 2 set menus to choose from and both change daily which goes to demonstrate how hard the chefs work. We have dined at many Michelin Star restaurants and Mezzaluna beats them all including Gordon Ramsey NY City.

The price is expensive for Thailand but it's not everyday you get this view and service. Something similar at home would be double so I could not complain.

Throughout the evening there was a string quartet playing which only added to the romantic atmosphere and the overall experience. I could not recommend this place enough. We got a parting gift of a beautiful box of chocolates and a copy of the menu to keep as a souvenir.

Overall 10/10 and perfect for any special occasion we are in Thailand to get married and have our honeymoon and this restaurant is the perfect setting to celebrate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Go there, watch the stunning view and eat somewhere else in Bangkok”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Dome at the 63th floor of the State Tower at Lebua, has two restaurants, Mezzaluna and Sirocco, and the highest Sky bar in Bangkok. The views are stunning but do not expect to be alone. Lots of tourists are following the same path. You can get there using the BTS, and from Saphan Taksin station you are three blocks away foollowing the indications to Lebua.

Once you at the 63th floor you will get to an open verandha with the restaurant Sirocco and the Sky bar one level below. But control your impulse to take photos because there will be always someone to tell you that photos are forbidden at that level but allowed at the Sky bar.

Expect the Sky bar to be overcrowded and having a waiter giving the drinking list once you step in. With regards to Sirocco it is an open air restaurant with probably half of its area being disturbed by the traffic to the Sky bar.

I went there with my wife and daughter. Although my daughter made a reservation online for the Sirocco ( www.lebua.com) we were told that since she did not receive a confirmation they could not get a table for us because it was fully booked. They offered the choice of Mezzaluna.

The settings at Mezzaluna are also great. Stunning views and an orchestra of five playing soft music. We were accomodated at a table offering Bangkok at our feet. We felt in paradise untill the moment they gave us the drinking list. A bottle of mineral water (from Italy) was US$ 30. I started asking myself why have water from Italy if we could have bottled water from Thailand that we had beeen drinking for the last enjoyable 10 days.

My next move was to ask for the wine list. It was certainly an impressive wine list with the sommelier choices of the month starting at US$ 200. Needless to say that if you are not the type of person capable of drinking at this price level there are many choices above US$ 1,000. For more comments about wine at Mezzaluna see the review from Leonardo C, Overwhelmingly Expensive.

In the process of internalyzing the US$ 200 punch for a bottle of wine we unanimously acknowledged the excellence of their service. At that point we had a bottle of italian mineral water and a bottle of french chardonnay in front of us.

Next step was to order the menu. And then another surprise. They only had two options: a six course menu paired with wine ( ckeck the review A Perversion of Nouvelle Cuisine by Expat_JohnMar ) with a US$ 170 price tag, or the three course dinner for US$ 140. Since we had already ordered the wine, we went for the three course dinner.

As I mentioned before as part of their excellent service at each course someone would explain in details each of our choices. We all concluded that the explanation is part of their effort to convince us that we were experiencing something unique. Just for the record, we have been experiencing MIchelin star restaurants for quite a long time and we have to admitt that Mezzaluna was not capable of demonstrating why they are charging so much for a food with no trace of personality. The courses were visually interesting but incapable of leaving everlasting memories in our brains.

Before desert, they asked us if we wanted coffee or tea. Since it was not included we decided to have only desert .

At the end of the arrival line, after a US$ 800 bill (including the 10% for service and 7% VAT and an option for tip ), I have to say that we left with a feeling that the Dome is organized about collecting as much as they can for the stunning views. The best thing to do is to visit the Dome, watch the view, take some pictures from the Sky bar, and go somewhere else to eat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luiz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezzaluna also viewed

 

Been to Mezzaluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing