We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Thai Food in Bangkok” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basil

Basil
Ranked #69 of 10,626 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: basil is an award-winning Thai restaurant serving the finest authentic cuisine in a sophisticated setting. Diners can enjoy the exquisite flavors of traditional dishes made from fresh ingredients and presented with creative flair.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The arrival at the restaurant was grat they greeted us with a big smile and by mi name that really made us fell at home the atmosphere of the restaurant was great and the service was very good. I have to say that we expected good quality food and I have to say that we found it. We had great pineapple curry with tofu and a great creame brule with coco that was incredible. I really recommend thus place to anyone in Bangkok great thai food

Helpful?
2 Thank Womat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSGS, General Manager at Basil, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Womat2000,

Thank you very much for choosing to dine at basil and for sharing your experience with us.

I am glad to you that you had enjoyed not only the authenticity of our food but also the level of customer service provided by the team at basil. Your compliments have been shared with the team to recognize their efforts and they all look forward to the next opportunity of welcoming you back to basil.

With Kind Regards.

Richard Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    132
    38
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had two (out of six) dinners at Basil and thoroughly enjoyed both of them. The service was excellent and we thought the menu offered a wide range of Thai taste sensations.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Johan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSGS, General Manager at Basil, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Johan P,

Thank you for choosing to dine at basil and for the time that you have taken to write a review.

It is always a great pleasure to receive positive comments and I am glad that you had enjoyed your dinners at basil. Your words of compliments have been shared with the team at basil and we all look forward to being a part in enhancing your dining experience during your future visits.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My Favorite Thai Restaurant in BKK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have been a Bangkok resident since 1999, and can say that this is my favorite Thai restaurant. An ward winning lady chef doesn't sacrifice authenticity for the sake of foreigners. This restaurant is good for either a power lunch or a romantic evening. Call ahead as they are not always open everyday for lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TanhaLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSGS, General Manager at Basil, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear TanhaLV,

Thank you for your continuous support for basil. I am delighted to read that you have listed basil as your favorite Thai restaurant in Bangkok and hope that your comments will be useful for future guests. Moreover, I have shared your kind words to Chef Kesinee to recognize her efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Do not be lulled into thinking this a bland, 5-star hotel take on Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I'm sceptical about eating in 5-star hotels in BKK. Why pay so much when you can eat on the streets for next to nothing? This isn't India, where you're likely to contract some terrible illness. Why accept bland interpretations of Thai food? Well, you don't have to if you come to Basil. Yes, you can get fantastic food on the streets at a fraction of the cost, but if you fancy a change this is the place to come. There's no view to die for, there's not even a window for natural light. However, what there is is superb Thai food at incredibly reasonable prices. There is on one proviso: you do, as I did: you make it clear from the start that you are used to Thai food and please prepare it as you would for a Thai person.

I had one of the lunchtime menus. With only one exception, every single dish was exquisite. I just couldn't eat the dessert. If Thai cuisine has an Achilles' heel, it's the deserts. For me, that's not a problem.

There are several lunchtime menus to choose from (take a look at the website). They start from 600 baht ++. Incredible value for this level of food and service. The latter being absolutely beyond reproach; excellent in every way.

I think the Sheraton tries that much harder, since: (1) there's no view; (2) the hotel is not that new or, indeed, beautiful; (3) the hotel is managed incredibly well.

Unless you just want a beautiful setting, cancel your reservation at the Celadon (Sukhothai Hotel) or Vertigo (Banyan Tree Hotel), and come directly here, especially at lunchtime.

Excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinkmoon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSGS, General Manager at Basil, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Pinkmoon7,

Thank you very much for choosing to dine at basil during your recent visit to Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok.

I am delighted to read that you had enjoyed our lunch menu at basil. We do indeed, try to cater to every diner's taste. Your kind words have been shared with the team at basil to recognize their efforts and we all look forward to welcoming you for another memorable dining experience.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANKARA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Thai food restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

It is in sheraton hotel, sky train asok station directly goes to the hotel. (250 Sukhumvit road 1F) you have to try food which are serverd in coconut or pineapple. there are so many different types of curry, try green ones. Be careful Thai foods are generally spicy, warn if you can not eat.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SIRIN11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing