We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful introductory to Thai local cuisine for first-timers !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basil

Basil
Ranked #69 of 10,626 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: basil is an award-winning Thai restaurant serving the finest authentic cuisine in a sophisticated setting. Diners can enjoy the exquisite flavors of traditional dishes made from fresh ingredients and presented with creative flair.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Wonderful introductory to Thai local cuisine for first-timers !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Highly recommend to go there for dinner, but do reserve a table in advance during festive season (so we were told). For first timers, you can dine in quiet, with attention from the staff who are helpful to explain the different dishes, the local ingredients used, how spicy hot you prefer for your order. We were first there some years ago and we try to dine there whenever we are in Bangkok. The quality has not changed over the years. Prices are reasonable and affordable for the "farang".

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Silverlucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSGS, General Manager at Basil, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Silverlucky,

Thank you very much for for your continuous support for basil and for sharing your recent experience with us.

I am extremely pleased to read about your positive comments. At basil, we strive to prepare our authentic cuisine to meet our diner's taste preference in order to have the best experience of Thai food. Your kind comments have been shared with the team at basil and they look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    132
    38
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
524 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Super Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful Thai restaurant! It is quite upscale with wonderful food and atmosphere to match. The service was super. We had Tom Kai Gai to start.....two entrees...Panang curry and stir fried Sparagus with mushrooms. We would definitely return.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank drlehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSGS, General Manager at Basil, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear drlehman,

Thank you for choosing to dine at basil and for the time that you have taken to write a review.

I am glad to read that you had enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere of basil. We continuously strive to offer our guests with a memorable dining experience and the comments that you have shared certainly matches what we aim for.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
478 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“best thai restaurant in Bangkok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I've enjoyed coming to this restaurant for many years. The food is original and decadent. The wine list is impressive with many options to compliment a wide variety of cuisine. The staff is incredibly professional and attentive. And the decor is absolutely beautiful. I will continue to patronize this establishment for years to come. Try the baked lobster complemented with the Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand. Amazing !!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jazsacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSGS, General Manager at Basil, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear jazsacher,

May I thank you for the continuous support and loyalty for basil and for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

The voice of customers is critical in maintaining our high standards and I am pleased to read about the positive interactions you had during your visits to basil. Our biggest asset is our people and I am happy to hear that we were continuously be a part in creating a memorable dining experience for you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to basil and all our other venues in the future.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Went here on New Year's Day based on previous reviewers.

My mother is allergic to chicken. They could not have been more accommodating. The exec chef was out in a flash to ensure everything was ok when we ordered and the waiter was fantastic.

Food was fantastic - Mussaman curry awesome - veg spring rolls were lovely too.

Great restaurant, great chefs and staff.

Thank you Basil.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Archipeligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSGS, General Manager at Basil, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Archipeligo,

May I thank you for choosing to dine with at basil and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At basil and all our venues, we continuously strive offer the best service to our guests in order to create a memorable dining experience. Your positive comments certainly matches what we aim for and I have shared your comments with the chef and service team at basil to recognize their efforts.

We look forward to the next pleasant opportunity of welcoming your mother and yourself back to our restaurant.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
254 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very nice food.....probably as authentic you can get....good ambience.....they did however take an inordinately long time to get the baby chair

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RRC_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSGS, General Manager at Basil, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear RRC_1976,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent dining experience at basil.

I am glad to read that you have enjoyed the authenticity of the cuisine offered. I would also like to apologize for the time taken to provide the baby chair and the inconvenience caused. This will be re-emphasized with the team at basil to ensure that such inconveniences do not reoccur.

My team and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Chapman
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil also viewed

Bangkok, Thailand
 

Been to Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing