We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it but will never go back, until...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saladaeng Colonnade
Ranked #211 of 1,158 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We loved it but will never go back, until...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Good, quite location with minutes away to subway at Silom. Room, big and very clean, incl free WiFi. We had a suite with sep. bedroom.BUT why can't a nice place like this have a breakfast to be called BREAKFAST? You get to your room cold, over cooked eggs, soft butter and cold toasts. That together with lukewarm coffee and juice is not a good start of the day. No nice breakfast buffe here as in most other hotels of this standard. Change that and we will be happy to come back. That there is no minibar in the fridge, can we live with.
R and K

Room Tip: Hard madresses - Thai style, for the rest nice big rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richme1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    68
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
21
26
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

The location of the hotel is very good. It is in Soi Sala Daeng which is right next to Sala Daeng BTS Station. The hotel building is located in a lively area but in a quiet street. Lots of food outlets and street stalls around. Silom market and nightlife are just right the corner.

The reception area is relatively small but it is ok. Staff are very friendly. The room is spacious and very clean. The kitchen is well-equipped with all kinds of utensils. The living room is comfy. As mentioned in other reviews, the maids would bring the breakfast to room.

The only complaints are water problem and the limited TV channels. I haven't seen this problem in the other reviews. Maybe it is only my room. The water pressure is too small. The water was sometimes very hot and sometimes not hot. Anyways, it is never in the right temperature.

The Italian restaurant next to the reception is quite nice. They have relatively cheap lunch sets.

Overall, the hotel is very nice. It would have been perfect if they could fix the water pressure problem.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miraclen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

What a pleasant surprise, indeed. The hotel has a Colonial charm to it. The rooms were large and comfortable, and there was even WiFi and cable available. The breakfast was simple, but good enough to fuel one up before hitting the sights and sounds of Bangkok.

The front desk and security personnel was helpful. Special mention goes to the young lady who was on the morning shift during my stay - she was professional and spoke impeccable English.

The hotel is a mere 7 mins' walk to the Sala Daeng BTS Station. Along the way, there are quite a few stalls if you are keen to sample local cuisine.

As the neighbourhood is made up of offices, it gets rather quiet in the night and on the weekends. While it is generally safe, be careful if you are planning to walk back from the BTS Station to the hotel at night. I was harassed and robbed by a street urchin and his accomplice on motorbike. Beware of young kids pretending to sell you things, they are aggressive and are looking to pickpocket unsuspecting tourists.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jameskenglim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel several times over the past year, the last being in April 2011. It is conveniently located, within a few minutes walk from the BTS station. The rooms are well kept and spacious, even the studio apartments.

One good thing I'd like to point out is that they do value return customers. During my first stay there, we were upgraded to a two bedroom apartment as the studio that we had booked was unavailable. During the last trip, we were upgraded yet again.

With regards to a previous review about the unfriendliness of the security guard, I'd like to clarify that there are 2 of them. One of them is very friendly, even to me, an Asian. The other one does have an attitude, and only seems to be nice to 'non-asian' residents. I have experienced this over several stays myself.

If you stay there for more than a few days, you may get bored quickly with the limited breakfast selection. This is one of the few faults that I can find, apart from the seemingly unfriendly security guard (1 out of 2).

Overall, I would still return to the Collonade on my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TanDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

The de-luxe one bedroom suites are large and well furnished and very very quiet, particularly those on the back of the building (there is some construction going on almost opposite the front). The room rates are not cheap but in my opinion one receives value for money. Breakfast is limited and delivered to the room, but there are literally scores of places serving food and drink at all hours within a 5 minute walk. Not a problem for me, but if you prefer the traditional hot buffet style breakfast try Marriott Vista or Fraser, both on nearby Sathorn, for similarly priced quality serviced apartments. Also within a 5 minute walk are the BTS Sala Daeng station and the MRT Silom station plus the excellent Silom Complex containing plenty of food outlets, supermarket, department store etc etc. If you prefer the Silom area to the rather seedy lower Sukhumvit area, which I do, then you will not go far wrong with Sala Daeng Colonnade...subject to the one reservation about breakfast

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KhunBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

This is a great place to stay and is just a 5-minute walk to/from Sala Daeng BTS. The hotel is off the main road so there is peace and quiet when you return to the hotel. The front desk staff was friendly and the security guard was always eager to open the lobby door for us and with a big smile. The room we got was very spacious with a cosy living room and kitchen. The bedroom was nice too with a clean and big toilet. I love the fact that breakfast was served to our room everyday. The gym and lap pool was good as well. The restaurant downstairs, Zanotti, is worth a try. I will be sure to book Saladaeng Colonnade again when I return to Bangkok.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tylermus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofheim am Taunus, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

stayed in saladeng colonnade from 31st march till 3rd of april 2011. the hotel is very nice, close to silom road, the mainly road in bangkok. the room, that i had was very nice. but the security personal was unfriendly. i dunno why, maybe because i am asian from indonesia. he didn't talk or say good morning or something like that. but i stayed there and pay alot of money for my stay. i took the expensive room there, and he should cahnge his behaviour. normally i stay in bandara suite also in saladeng, but this time i would like to try this hotel,and i was not satisfied with this hotel. i come 3 time a year to bangkok, because i love bangkok and the people, but dont judge me as rass

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank curuix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Inn Saladaeng
The Inn Saladaeng
#309 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Silom
La Residence Bangkok
La Residence Bangkok
#389 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Silom
Baan Saladaeng
Baan Saladaeng
#102 of 618 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Baan Silom
Baan Silom
#255 of 1,158 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Silom
Silom Forest
Silom Forest
#499 of 1,158 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Silom
The Pad Silom Convent Serviced Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saladaeng Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saladaeng Colonnade

Property: Saladaeng Colonnade
Address: 21 Soi Saladaeng Silom Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 1,158 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saladaeng Colonnade 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saladaeng Colonnade offers Bangkok serviced apartments on Saladaeng Road, which is close to Silom Road and Sathorn Road. All rooms boast antique furnishings that blend perfectly with modern amenities, such as private bathroom, flat screen TV, and DVD player. The concierge desk is open 24 hours to entertain queries and welcome arriving guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saladaeng Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saladaeng Colonnade Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing