We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad”

The Seafood Market and Restaurant
Ranked #1,156 of 14,299 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Khlong Toei
Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

Thai traditional restaurant , very expensive and the service is bad, employees look for customers when they eat and this thing I do not like, compared with the value of the quality of eating and eating place this restaurant does not deserve all this fame

Date of visit: March 2016
2  Thank soqor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 172 of 804 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2016

We didnt like the ambience at all. A little overpriced and taste wise was just average. We have had better and more satisfying seafood. The cooking need to be improved

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank rosymossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

The seafood market is a tourist trap. During my time as a Bangkok resident in the early 2000's we took all of our visitors there as a "must do". There was theatre, noise, great fish well cooked.

Returning in 2016, the place is tired and so so quiet. There might have been 80 people eating, but I suspect the restaurant seats nearer 1,000. Theatre gone, choice of fish reduced........

The food was still fresh and well cooked - it was very good.

Stripped from the noise (chaos) and theatre, we were left to notice the cost of the meal - high for Bangkok (for the quality of the food) - still reasonable for Europe.

I hope Seafood Market gets its mojo back.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank BigginsBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

In terms of price this place is definitely not targeted for student or fresh grads work adults.

In terms of quality of the food it was moderate.

In terms of ambience it was good for couples to visit as you could choose your own seafood.

A piece of advice to help Travelers with moderate Budget is not to order the crabs as it can be very costly.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank LinW339
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile

This is a very large Thai Chinese style seafood restaurant that caters mainly to busloads of package tourists. The staff try very hard to steer you to the most expensive options on the menu. Service is quite mediocre, with an emphasis on trying to get you in and out as quickly as possible.
Not recommended.

Date of visit: June 2016
2  Thank JDinBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed The Seafood Market and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Seafood Market and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.