We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical tourists trap”

The Seafood Market and Restaurant
Ranked #782 of 10,703 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Typical tourists trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We went to this pwon't late long. because it was recommended in some TV programs, and our experience was remarkable.... When we entered the restaurant, we suspected it should be a tourist trap and our guess was right! No locals, food were extremely ver priced and tasted terrible.
Their only attraction is to allow you select the ingredients, that's all! I bet that place won't last long.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank s5yeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    234
    113
    79
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wow!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

There were 11 of us who went to the Seafood Market and Restaurant. You select the fish you want, along with the veggies, bread, fruit. There are all kinds of fish and various prices. All the fruit and veggies are local. Once your selections are complete, you pay, the same as checking out at the market. Then they take your selctions and you select how you want them cooked. The food is then served family style, so that everyone can enjoy a little taste of everything that was selected. Between us we had lobster, grouper, and several other varieties of local fish all fixed in different ways; veggies that were wonderful with spices and seasonings to suit each of us; clam soup that was pretty spicy, but tasty; garlic bread; and fresh fruit for dessert (watermelon, mango and mangosteen. A very tasty meal.

The restaurant has a charm about it, although it is not fancy and most of the tables are for large parites. We could see them cooking the food at the entrance to the restaurant. This was a very good meal and lots of fun.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanetWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If It Swims We Have It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I try to make it to this restaurant at least once every time I go to Bangkok. First, the restaurant is HUGE. I have no idea what the seating capacity of this place is? After being shown your seat and giving your drink order, you "go shopping". There is a huge ice bar at least 30 yards long filled with Seafood (some of it alive - for you squeamish folks). A cute little Thai girl with a shopping cart accompanies you along the bar as you pick your meal. Then you check out like in a grocery store. So - you buy the food, which is charge #1. Then after you sit, you explain how you want each item prepared. So - charge #2 is a cooking charge. There is also a separate bar bill at the end of the meal. BTW - there is a liquor store IN the restaurant stocked very well with scotch, etc. Pricing on the alcohol is not outrageous. But all in all -- after you add the 3 bills up this restaurant is very pricy for Bangkok.

Overall -- I think the raw material VERY fresh seafood, and expertise in prepping the food adds up to a superior meal. The down side would be that you need to know how you want your meal prepared. You are not ordering "Lemon Grass Chicken" off a menu, for example.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johngannonlasvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I always come here when I am in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have been to Bangkok on a number of occasions and I ALWAYS make sure I come here for dinner. The selection of fresh fish and shellfish is great and there is always something for everyone in your party. I would recommend going in a group as you always end up with waaaaay more food than you need and it is all excellent. A lady with a shopping trolley accompanies you along the fish and vegetable counters collecting what you have chosen, you then pay for this and return to your table. Your table server then brings over your trolley and goes through your selections suggesting the best way to cook each one and what veg to add to it. After that it is just a case of waiting for all this amazing food to arrive. I love this place and would recommend it to anyone in Bangkok.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cbaatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonding, Austria
Level Contributor
397 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“fun place to experience seafood in Bangkok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

it is a large hall and not so much a restaurant but the seafood selection is great and it is FRESH, some of it alive. You kind of have to know fish and seafood to know what to chose - but there are Thai girls there to help you fill the shopping cart. You choose fish/seafood and veggies and so on, you pay, they come to your table and ask how you want it cooked and then you pay again for cooking but not much and it was delicious (a chef speaking). you buy your wine in the store there - reasonable. All in all not romantic but an experience - fresh seafood properly prepared. You can have it easier but it is an experience! Certainly not a cheap nor super expansive one. But enjoyable for sure!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbaraebner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seafood Market and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Seafood Market and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing