We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but...........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Regent Silom Hotel
Ranked #717 of 1,192 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Location but...........”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Advantage: This hotel is in good location. Adjacent to both BTS and MRT stations. There some eateries around the hotel or street foods and night Bazzar and the Lumpini park was just a 5 minute walk away from the hotel. Beautiful park with beautiful pond and views. They have Free breakfast.

Disadvantage: It is very confusing to find this hotel, when you are outside you can't easily find the entrance because the door going inside is too small. So you have to really good in finding it. The staffs are not the friendly people i have ever met but they were ok. We were kinda' disappointed of the room, too small for the money we paid. Bathroom was ok too. The only problem we had was they didn't have enough outlet to charge our phone or computers. What we did was we unplugged the refrigerator every time we charged our gadgets so we ended up having our drinks (water/juices) not cold. Wifi was slow. The bedroom was not built up for sound proof so you can hear voices outside our room. Very noisy as well as the AC that you can't sleep. The safety deposit box wasn't working and unfortunately, we put our important stuffs there to find out we can't open it. But they fixed it on the next day and got our important things back.

If we will comeback to Bangkok in the future, not gonna stay in this place again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallaceA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    29
    11
    6
See reviews for
1
14
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Notice that there's no review for the past few months and I've stayed in this hotel during early November 2013 and hope that my review helps you guys.

The good stuffs:
Location of the hotel is the best, the bts is just outside of the hotel!
staff is friendly, if you need hot water, just let the staff at the counter know and they will arrange to bring up a flask with hot water, hair dryer is also provided but you need to ask. The massage is very good.

Now onto the not so good stuffs:
Why I gave two stars is because 1. if you need to make a local phone call in Bangkok you need to pay 45 baht when I asked the receptionist to help me to make a call. 2. you need to pay 10 baht if you request the hotel to help to print a piece of email.
The rooms are not exactly sound proof, you can hear people at the hall way, and even the room next to you when they are plugging in or out the plugs.
There is limited power points take note.
The tv channels are limited and so can be kinda boring if you are back in the hotel and unable to sleep after 2am when the night market outside is close.
The wifi is slow ... so if you're downloading movies its very slow.
The air con is old... and will take quite a while to cool the room. As every time you remove the key, the power cuts off and when you return from your shopping trip the room feels like a sauna.
There are computers on the lobby but they are out of order... all at the same time.

Summary
Location is very good but still I believe for the price you can get other hotels.
For the kinda money the hotel is earning I sincerely hope they can upgrade the hotel bit by bit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The location is perfect for me. Close to shopping and the BTS. But the rooms are tired and the bed mattresses are stiff and not at all comfortable. The room we had was hot and it took a while for the air con to kick in. The bathroom was surprisingly nice, clean and roomy. For the price, you can definitely find nicer places in the area. (Baan saladaeng for example).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danoir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stay here many times but this is time for my review

1-Clean
2-Basic room and old furnitures
3-Old A/C
4-the building is from shophouses, this is not seperated building
5- Staff is friendly, informative, good services with smile
6- small room - no space
7- No parking area
8- connected with Bug and Bee
9- have 1 elevator
10- Good location closed to BTS
11- Access the entrance by card
12- security is fine but no guard

Check rate and compare to big building because sometime the price you pay you can stay a better place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is smack bang in the middle of all the action on Silom Road. Its a mere 1 min walk to the BTS station, 2min to patpong night market, and other surrounding bars and restaurants.
For the price i suppose you could get better but you're paying for the excellent location this hotel has to offer.

The hotel does have a lift but rooms are slightly small and basic, very clean but could do with a lick of paint.
My room contained a window with blurred block cubes so couldn't really see anything. The water pressure was good and was hot majority of the time. I never made it to breakfast so cannot comment.
I would return. I think this hotel would suit a lone or couple traveller who wants be in the middle of the action and just need a clean safe place to lay their heads

Room Tip: Any floor as this hotel has a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craiguk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Extremely convenient right next to the Sala Daeng BTS stop. But be warned that is it also right in the middle of the gay district - something not advertised on their website. Staff were a mixed bag of extremely pleasant during the day and night to quite rude during the morning. The rooms are clean but super basic - you are certainly pay 1000thb extra for the convenience of being next to the train. If you have another option then there is no point to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked this hotel over the Internet near the Chinese year and we had to specify what we really wanted in terms of smoking, quiet, floor, type of room, etc.

They almost got the booking right and they could accommodate our request for delayed check-out. The rooms are OK with the basic amenities. The AC needed a little time to start cooling the room because it was really stuffy when we entered the room. Maybe an upgrade will be necessary in the future.

Staff very helpful and recommended places to visit in the area.

BTS, Metro station, night market and shopping mall nearby.

Very limited options and quantities for breakfast. They could do better for the price they charge.

Room Tip: Book using Internet and state your preferences clearly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank espa000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
D Varee Diva Bally Silom, Bangkok
Silom
La Residence Bangkok
La Residence Bangkok
#388 of 858 in Bangkok
97 reviews
Silom
Bavana Hotel
Bavana Hotel
#574 of 858 in Bangkok
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
D Varee Xpress Pula Silom
D Varee Xpress Pula Silom
#232 of 1,192 in Bangkok
20 reviews
Silom
No photo provided
bnb@Silom
#378 of 1,192 in Bangkok
1 reviews
Silom
Silom Lofts Luxury Service Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Silom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Silom Hotel

Property: The Regent Silom Hotel
Address: 60 / 15 Silom Road, Suriyawong, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #717 of 1,192 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Silom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Regent Silom, the affordable hotel in the heart of Bangkok, Silom area. All comfortable guestrooms at The Regent are provided all common facilities for a comfortable stay for both Leisure and Business Traveler with our comprehensive services to fulfill your journey. The Regent Hotel is located in Silom area with a few step walk in to BTS Sky train station and MRT. Guest can conveniently access to all major points of interests and Bangkok Tourist Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Regent Silom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing