We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome Home!”
Review of Urban House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Urban House
Ranked #70 of 1,189 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Gelang Patah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcome Home!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Although Urban House is located 5-10 minutes away from the main street (Silom Road), we found it very convenient as the distance is not too far, while you can find many local food & drinks along the way to the hostel. Easy access to both SIlom MRT & Saladaeng BTS, make our trip very convenient as we do not need to change between MRT / BTS along the way.

The owner is very helpful in advising us the way to our destiny, by providing maps and information. She even helped us to call taxi for our journey back to airport, and inform us on the correct timing to avoid heavy traffic and the expected taxi charges. Just feel happy staying here, with the "welcome-home" feeling, highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherry2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    33
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
80
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by the friendly owner upon early checked-in. Her knowledge and recommendation about Bangkok has helped us tremendously.

This guesthouse is tucked away few minutes walk to BTS and MRT station, lots of food and coffee available in this area. If you want to enjoy freshly cooked street food at night, do check it out behind Silom Complex, they have English menu available (mostly patronize by locals).

This place is a perfect comfortable stay away from the hustle and bustle of main street, surrounded by offices and residentials, towards noon time you will see stalls lining up the alleyway. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elainejenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Es un hostal sencillo pero acogedor y bien mantenido. Está bien situado, cerca del sky train y el metro y en una zona con mucha vida de día y de noche. Está limpio y el trato personal y es muy bueno. La dueña es muy amable y atenta y da consejos prácticos de la ciudad, cómo moverse, a dónde ir… En resumen, muy recomendable para una estancia agradable y tranquila en Bangkok y sin duda repetiría.

Simple but cozy hostel in an excellent area of the city, full of life day and night. Very good location within walking distance from the skytrain and the subway. It is very clean and comfortable and the staff is very friendly and attentive. The owner gives practical advice to visit the city, how and where to go, etc…In short, highly recommended for a pleasant and peaceful stay in Bangkok and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: La habitacion tipo suite es muy grande y tiene una pequeña cocina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here during my family trip in Bangkok after reading good reviews both from forums and tripadvisor. Although it's not very easy to find, it is placed in a great location.

The location is accessible via both BTS and MRT. You can always take a short cut from the Office Building (i can't remember it's name) to hail taxis. Besides, there are stalls selling fruits, street food and clothes in the Office Building. There's also a 7 Eleven in the office building. Along the road back to Urban House from BTS Sala Daeng has a lot of stalls selling street food and clothing as well.

The owner Kwang is a gem. She's extremely helpful and honest. She told us bout tips and discounts to go everywhere! She even asked us to book the Ayutthaya tour by ourselves if we go to Khao San road cos she has been told by previous guests that they paid extra THB50 compared to walk-in customers by Mama Tours. She's the best hotel owner i've ever met.

The room is also kept spotlessly clean and comfortable. Bed is also very comfy and good after a long day out. I'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elainechew88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We got the suite, as it was the only room available, and it was great. Nice shower, big windows that looked out onto the street (with very effective blackout curtains), strong AC, and very clean. The staff was extremely attentive and helpful. They recommended a SIM card for me (dtac Happy), a travel agent to book train tix, and a few massage spots, all of which were excellent. They also taught my brother, who was staying in another hotel, how to ask in Thai for vegetarian / no-meat food.

Urban house was a little tricky to find, as it's down a few small streets, but while that's a little inconvenience, it also makes the place really quiet. And, if you've got a craving for street food, every day at lunch time and dinner time, the area is overrun with office workers and hundreds of food stalls to feed them. Excellent offerings.

My wife and I love staying in Silom, as it's not crawling with tourists, has great food and massages, and is really close to the Sala Daeng MRT and Skytrain stations. Would definitely come back to Urban House. It's our new go-to place in Silom!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn East, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had stayed here twice, it always perfect for me.
The first time to be there is a little bit hard to find it; however, once you get it, you will find out the position of Urban House is really good.
It is very near to BTS or MRT. Every weekday around noon time, you can find a lot of cheap and delicious local food on the street. Choose whatever you like, they are really good !

The spotlight of this guest house is the owner. She is such a lovely, friendly women.
If you can understand the Chinese on the note board, you will find out that some people call her angel, fairy or GOD!

If you want to live in a very good and comfy room, you can try the suite room. The room is such big includes sofa, big fridge, huge room....
Anyway, if you have no idea about which guest house you should stay, try it, and you will love it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPL0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Big room, cheap, great location, and the woman who seemed to be the manager was very helpful, making great trip and dining recommendations. We spotted her on the street one day and she walked us through the finer points of ordering papaya salad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pompiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Baan Silom
Baan Silom
#253 of 1,189 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Silom
Baan Saladaeng
Baan Saladaeng
#116 of 632 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Silom
The Cube Hostel
The Cube Hostel
#29 of 1,189 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Silom One
Silom One
#29 of 632 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Silom
Pula Residence
Pula Residence
#232 of 1,189 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Silom
No photo provided
bnb@Silom
#381 of 1,189 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban House

Property: Urban House
Address: 35/13 Soi Yommarat Saladaeng | Road Silom Bangkok, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,189 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urban House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban House, opened in February 2006, is located on Saladaeng, Silom – the heart of Bangkok’s business, tourist and entertainment district, provides you a cozy and clean accommodation in a relaxing atmosphere for both business and leisure travelers. Within walking distance, you may find shopping malls, major attractions, embassies, first class hotels, banks, restaurants, night market (Patpong,) Suanlum night bazzar, and recreation area (Lumpini Park). Since it is close to BTS skytrain station (Saladaeng), underground MRT station (Silom), it is very convenient and easy to access to all parts of the city. Amenities: - Air-conditioning (individually controlled) - Refrigerator - Complimentary drinking water (one bottle per person per day) - Television / Cable TV - Bathroom en suite - Linen / towels - Soap / shampoo - Key card access - Hi-speed internet / telephone/ fax facilities in the lobby - Continental Breakfast (7am – 10 am) - Free coffee (7am - 8pm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Urban House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing