We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
Ranked #227 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Expected more for the price.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was very surprised to find a plain small room for the price paid. There certainly are nicer hotels in Bangkok for less money. Beds were comfortable and clean but was disappointed to find a bag of rotten fruit in the fridge and the drainage of the shower was very poor which meant you were standing in dirty water for most of your shower. The biggest issue though was a lack of plug sockets in the room. There was 2 positioned at the far end of the room but they were so close together that once you plugged in one device it left no room for you to plug in another. It was a comfortable stay but very basic rooms and a lack of care about room design. Not what I expected from a brand name like Ibis. Better independent hotels around for less.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjb38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oruma S, Manager at ibis Bangkok Sathorn, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to detail your views with regards to your recent stay with us.

We are happy to learn that our bed quality and cleanliness had met up to your expectations.

We have also noted on your comments with regards to the shower and insufficient number of plugs that you had encountered during your stay with us

Rest assured that we had highlighted these matters to our Housekeeping and Engineering Teams for their follow up to prevent any future occurrences.

Thank you again for your review which is of great help for us to improve on our services.

Best regards,
Ornuma S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    668
    261
    62
    24
See reviews for
99
279
284
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I watched it being built during previous visits to BKK and was recommended to me by my brother.

I have been reluctant to write a review of this hotel because I was afraid of being booked out in the future, but after 13 nights and many hours of watching the tour buses (loaded with Russians) drive in and out, as many as 3 a day, I realized that there are more than enough rooms to accommodate everyone.

There have been reviews of loud guests in the hallways and rooms, yet that has not been my experience. While there before and after the Chinese New Year, the worse I experienced was a lobby crowded with Russian waiting for their bus. My room was 501, located at the top of the reverse "L" facing away from the parking lot. I never ran into crowds on this floor, it was always quiet and the cleaners respected the "DND" placard on the door as well as the odds and ends I'd left out on the counter.

Here's a few remarks re the hotel:

1. It never ceases to amaze me when people stand in front of elevator doors blocking people exiting.
2. Free (WOW!) wi-fi in room and accessible through out hotel.
3. Ibis wi-fi keeps dropping out.
4. 2 bottles of water and more if you ask for it.
5. Room accommodation were bare bone (small screen TV, fridge, A/C, hot pot for tea, soup or coffee, room under bed for luggage, bench), but more than adequate for me. Furnishings were relatively new (European modern) and everything was clean. Only found one outlet near window.
6. On the last night I wanted to change $5.00 into Baht, just enough for the night, but the front desk said they only change a minimum of $100.00. Their exchange rate was a constant 27. XX per dollar, 2 Baht less than everywhere else. Go across the street to the Malaysia Bangkok Hotel and they'll exchange for a better rate.
7. I was able to check in about 0800 for no extra charge.
8. Nice sitting area outside on deck by bar as well as inside with the A/C.
9. 80+ channels on the TV in several languages and lots of football (soccer) and movies.
10. Easy walk to Rama IV and the MRT. The hotel has a free shuttle for the local area and I only used it once on the 10 of Feb when it rained.
11. The shower has an adjustable American Standard shower head. The force of the water stream was not the greatest, but was adequate. The temperature of the water was never as hot as Î like it and during hours of heavy usage, the temperature would be noticeably lower.
12. My costs for the room varied between $39.00 and $41.00.

I recommend this hotel for singles, couples and families (though there really nothing for kids to do).

Very good value for the money and I would stay there again!

Room Tip: Upper floors on reverse "L".

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pakefromkona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oruma S, Manager at ibis Bangkok Sathorn, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We are delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your valuable stay with us.

At ibis, we aim at providing our guests with warm welcome and services at great value for money for a wonderful experience.

It is great to know that you will be our future returning guest.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the ibis Bangkok Sathorn in the near future.

Best regards,
Ornuma S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

For this short Citytrip to Bangkok, we went into this Ibis Hotel, due it is not far away from one of the largest Shopping streets in Bangkok and also the Metro Station was nearby (3 Minutes Drive away). Basic, but very clean and friendly Ibis Hotel. Good Service at Breakfast and we tried two times the Restaurant and can say, that itwas also good there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuicyOrange1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oruma S, Manager at ibis Bangkok Sathorn, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
We value and appreciate your feedback and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and the level of service delivered.

We will be sharing your review to all our team members as a form of encouragement to motivate them to strive further.

We are looking forward to have another opportunity to serve you in the near future

Best regards,
Ornuma S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hotel is at peaceful location and near to the market and sky train is at 10 min walking distance . Rooms are quite clean and well maintained .
Staff is helpful and cooperative . Free shuttle bus is also available to drop at nearest MRT station .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Anooj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oruma S, Manager at ibis Bangkok Sathorn, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are glad that you found our hotel well located and the staff attentive.

All of us at the ibis Bangkok Sathorn look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,
Ornuma S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metchosin, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
979 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked a pre-paid double room (no breakfast) for one night in January 2013 and paid a deliciously low ~$48 USD. We arrived quite late (after midnight) and received a friendly and efficient check-in. Our double room, on a med-high floor and very close to the elevator bank, was small and clean. As is typical for an IBIS property, the room was compact but well laid out allowing maximum utilization of the space. The bed linens and towels were fine. The free wifi reception was good in the room. The view was surprisingly pleasant, and the location was pretty convenient. The room was very quiet; we slept well and didn’t hear any elevator noise. There are 2 or 3 small Thai cafes across the street offering decent cheap breakfast if you don’t want to eat at the hotel. For the price, this hotel is a deal for one or two nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oruma S, Manager at ibis Bangkok Sathorn, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit.

We are pleased that you had a smooth and swift check in during your arrival. We are also glad that you found our hotel being a great place to stay.

We will be sharing your review to all team members as a form of encouragement to motivate them to strive further.

Hope to welcome you again at the ibis Bangkok Sathorn.

Best regards,
Ornuma S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Ibis Bangkok Sukhumvit 4
Ibis Bangkok Sukhumvit 4
#238 of 867 in Bangkok
1,924 reviews
ibis Bangkok Riverside
#166 of 867 in Bangkok
2,567 reviews
Sathorn
Pinnacle Lumpinee Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
ibis Bangkok Siam Hotel
#157 of 867 in Bangkok
1,465 reviews
At Mind Executive Suites
#215 of 867 in Bangkok
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Bangkok Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Bangkok Sathorn

Property: ibis Bangkok Sathorn
Address: 29/9 Soi Ngam Duphli, Rama IV Rd. | Sathon, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Bangkok Sathorn 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique character of the IBIS Sathorn Bangkok matches the colourful personality of Bangkok. Young and modern yet also warm and inviting. Right in the heart of Sathorn business district and close to subway (MRT Lumpini) and skytrain (BTS Chong Nongsi) stations. Shopping, sightseeing, clubbing, it is all right here. 213 modern rooms, all equipped with WiFi Internet. Snacks and drinks available day or night. Warm smiles at the reception. With one step through the door, you will immediately feel at home.IBIS Sathorn Bangkok has got everything you need, and at the best value! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Bangkok Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Sathorn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing