We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic but looking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruen Mallika Royal Thai Cuisine

Ruen Mallika Royal Thai Cuisine
Ranked #990 of 10,626 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: The gorgeously 200 year-old early Ratanakosin-era teakwood house is one of the favorites for Thai and Foreign customers, who would like to feel and to live Thai cultures. "Eating's like Thai, Living's like Thai"
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Authentic but looking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This place was somewhat difficult to find, tucked down a side steet. It had a great look to it with segregated rooms with aircon and a nice courtyard outside but the place seemed to miss something. For our team dinner, we had a separate room but with a low table. Unless you are young and fit, it made eating quite difficult and uncomfortable. The food was good and the service was OK. You chose your food from a picture book.
Like othe reviewers, perhaps there are many other places to go first for Thai food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PFTraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    33
    18
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good food but way overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I went to Ruen Mallika with friends, and we were shown to an inner room that we had all to ourselves. The atmosphere is that of a very authentic old Thai mansion. The staff were a bit cold and unfriendly, but that may have been due to the late hour at which we arrived, as one of the party got lost finding the location.
The food, when it arrived, was quite good, and there was lots of it, some of the dishes being quite unique, such as the deep fried flowers. Yes, actual flowers. The shocker was the bill at the end of the meal, which made it the most expensive meal I have eaten in Bangkok but a big margin. I have eaten as good or better food for about 1/5th the price. For that reason, I could not really recommend it, and would not go again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LosBound2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food was okay, but high priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I went to Ruen Mallika hoping to get some really good Thai food. However, I wasn’t fully satisfied with what I got. Sure, the menu, the website, and the photos looked nice. The interior was well decorated beautifully. You really get the feel of being in a traditional Thai house from the northern part of Thailand. The food was okay – the portions were much smaller than the photos and the taste wasn’t spectacular. Service was okay was well. But the prices were high for the portions served.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chai_Sitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Could be so much better...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Visited late December based on guidebook recommendation. The restaurant is a rustic version of Jim Thompson's house (for Anyone who has been there) and dates back to the very early 1800s . It has a inner courtyard with lots of greenery and the rooms indoors are equally charming and air conditioned. the huge menu with each dish in glorious technicolor on each page was just annoying as you had absolutely no overview of what to order. By the time you got to the end of the book you had forgotten pretty much everything at the beginning of this great book...
We tried the deep fried flowers with sweet chilli dip , nice but nothing special. Mostly like an unusual tempura. Also tried the morning glory with prawns - delicious , the crab soufflé balls, green chicken curry All very good. The food is pretty spicy for a western palate , but we enjoyed it And the experience / ambience of the place. Avoid the cocktails , the Long Island ice team was horrible. The service is sweet , but chaotic and there is scope for much confusion as the waitresses generally speak little English. Price wise , we found it fairly expensive , but this may have been because we somewhat over ordered ( the portions are big and although a dish seems to be a starter , it is actually huge. )

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlixynTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing expérience, this place is overated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We found this place in our hotel brochure and loved the photos...it seemed like an authenticThai experience. We were disappointed by the service ( several misunderstandings in our orders) and the food ( looks not as nice as the photos and excessively spicy). We absolutely love Thai food and have had much better experiences elsewhere for much better prices.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bribribel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruen Mallika Royal Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Ruen Mallika Royal Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing