We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic and rustic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruen Mallika Royal Thai Cuisine

Ruen Mallika Royal Thai Cuisine
Ranked #899 of 10,632 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Description: The gorgeously 200 year-old early Ratanakosin-era teakwood house is one of the favorites for Thai and Foreign customers, who would like to feel and to live Thai cultures. "Eating's like Thai, Living's like Thai"
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic and rustic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Same friends who recommended the hotel took us here for the real experience. Nice to have authentic Thai food in a gorgeous atmosphere. We sat outside in the romantic garden.

Cannot remember the various names of the dishes but we tried many dishes that we'd otherwise not find at home. Lovely experience, highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    33
    18
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Expensive and average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

In a small lane just off Sukumvit. It is difficult to park.
The restaurant is in a small old wooden traditional Thai building. We sat on cushions on the floor. We had catfish which was average quality, but the rest of the meal was poor. The overall experience was not good. Far too expensive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not very good by Thai standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Really disappointing experience. Website suggests there is a focus on healthy use of herbs etc. but this is just a pretty ordinary restaurant serving the type of Thai cuisine you can get anywhere in the world. Admittedly, we weren't able to eat what we originally wanted as two items were 'finished' for the day - it was 8pm. all our food arrived quickly & at once: felt a little like they wanted us out of there - to be honest, after tasting it I wanted to as well...to be fair, the food wasn't terrible - but Bangkok has SO many great places to eat there is no need to search this one out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank parisbarce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Do NOT go there, it is not worth at all. We had just wanted to try good thai cousine. We were 2 for a dinner there. We spent time to go there by taxi. The food is not fresh, they are using some staff stayed from a day before. We even got sick on next day. Comparing to Bangkok standarts, it is expensive too. Just try somewhere else.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mrt111
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stumbled across this place by accident when we were just exploring and pleased we did. It is not particularly fancy but that is what we liked about it. A nice friendly feel with character of its own. Staff were good and food was delicious.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kik-kat-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruen Mallika Royal Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Ruen Mallika Royal Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing