We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, watch your change” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tom Yum Kung

Tom Yum Kung
Ranked #600 of 10,632 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Banglamphu
Description: This restaurant "Tom Yum Kung" since 1999 on Khaosan Road, therefore serve as a resemblance for the Thai pristine cuisine and to share these valuable experiences with our respected friends.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, watch your change”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Myself and my wife eat here in June and were very impressed with the food we got. The setting is very nice and relaxed, you wouldn't think that ya were only yards away from Khao San Road. One experience while eating here left a bad impression on us. When we got our change back after paying, it appeared that two 10 baht coins were hidden neatly away under the magnetic holder at the top. I had planned on leaving a tip but when I noticed this, it annoyed me, so they lost out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phiggs97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnnifty, Guest Relations Manager at Tom Yum Kung, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Phiggs97,

Thank you for coming and eating at Tom Yum Kung Restaurant on the world famous Khaosan Road.

We really appreciate your kind words about the standard of the food we serve and our relaxing setting.

On behalf of our team I would like to apologize for the incident regarding the returning of your change. Our staff have been informed not to do this again in the future and we are glad that it did not detract too much away from what was overall a pleasant experience.

We would be very happy to welcome you both back here again next time you come to Bangkok.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    98
    35
    20
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just OK Thai Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The restaurant has ordinary Thai food and the price is just ok or maybe a bit expensive. But since it is located in the tourist area, the price is probably acceptable. Most of the food that we ordered are below our expectation such as the tom yum soup, Thai fried rice, chicken with cashew nut, and the green curry. Only the morning glory that really meet our expectations, but the strange little thing is almost every Restaurant in Thailand that we went have very delicious Morning Glory. Overall I wasn't disappointed with this Restaurant, but I wouldn't go to this restaurant again in my next visit to Bangkok since I don't find this restaurant special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sudarto Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnnifty, Guest Relations Manager at Tom Yum Kung, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Sudarto Y,

Thank you for coming to our restaurant and for taking the time to write a review of your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry if our food was below your expectations, our chef and his team work hard to try and cook good quality, authentic Thai cuisine for our guests.

We hope you had a nice holiday in Thailand.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is the first time that I cam to thailand and I choose to stay at Buddy Boutique Inn Hotel which is close together. this restaurant seem to be an only authentic thai food in khaosan road 9 which is not padthai and street side food. I order tom yum kung which the staff recommend and the taste is good also the price not expensive. I recommend to try if you come to visit here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnnifty, Guest Relations Manager at Tom Yum Kung, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Alejandro M,

Thank you for eating at the Tom Yum Kung Restaurant, our whole team was delighted to read your great review.

We really appreciate your kind words and recommendation to other travellers to choose this restaurant.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the nearby Buddy Boutique Inn which is also part of the Buddy family.

We hope you will get the chance to come back again soon.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“.Must visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Must go by and have the Tom Yum Soup! This is where locals eat.It is a few doors down from D&D Inn on KSR. Go under the sign and keep going until you hit the restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnnifty, Guest Relations Manager at Tom Yum Kung, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Hobogal,

Thank you for your very generous recommendation to fellow travellers to try our Thai restaurant, we really appreciate your kind words.

Good luck with your travel and see you next time.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Thanks to wikitravel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Ok. I know I really shouldn't have followed wikitravel blindly. But honestly, the food here was horrible. I order thai fried noodles, which is supposed to be thai food? Cooked by thai people? Yet it tasted worse than instant noodles. It was slimy and bland and I can continue describing it but you get the idea. As a Singaporean, who has to put up with declining food standards everyday, even the thai noodles in Singapore do not taste as bad as the one I had ordered. Stay away!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oceangeek1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnnifty, Guest Relations Manager at Tom Yum Kung, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Oceangeek1986,

Thank you for coming and trying the food at Tom Yum Kung.

We are sorry you had a poor experience at our restaurant and found the food here not to your taste.

We can confirm that all our food is cooked by experienced local Thai chefs and all the ingredients used in our dishes are fresh.

Once again we would like to apologize for the bad experience you encountered here.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom Yum Kung also viewed

 

Been to Tom Yum Kung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing