We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You have not been to bangkok if you you didnt try Somboon!”

Somboon Seafood Surawong
Ranked #234 of 10,793 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Silom
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“You have not been to bangkok if you you didnt try Somboon!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was the 2nd trip and 4 time dining in the restaurant. Its a medium costs restaurant. a decent meal for 4 costs around 2,000 to 2,500 baht.

Aplace you must prebook and preferably reaching there before 6pm if you want to miss the long waiting and bad traffic jam.

They have 5 branches, but if you stay in sukhumvit area, like myself, then the Branch Surawong ( near to patpong area) is the best choice.

Must try the iconic Curry Crab. Strangely called curry crab but it tasted no spiciness rather sweet and creamy due to coconut content. We ordered prawns, morning glory ( vege) in stir fried, fish and dessert plus coconuts water.

I love the food so much that each trip, i make sure to dine there at least twice.

Service though is bad perhaps they know the food make up for it. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeithW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    413
    163
    63
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best meal of the trip”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Not much from first appearances - a brightly lit canteen style restaurant with plastic tables and crockery. The food was consistently good but it earns its stars for the curried crab - sensational if a little inelegant to eat....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheMortyVicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Somboon is overated”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I think this place is totally overated. Water/tea/ice is charged. I tried their famous curry crab, the sauce is good but the crab is not that fresh. We ordered a pepper crab and they are only available at 800bhat. The meat is slightly better but its still a long way comparing to the Crabs in Singapore (No Sign Board in Gaylang). We also ordered a deep fried groupa with Thai special sauce. My dad noticed theres a large piece of fish meat missing and was covered up with deep fried flour. We try to convince ourselves that maybe its not the full fish so we just let it go. But now I think back, it's so silly that I didn't ask them to explain, this place is no fish & chips! The other dishes are adequate, the taste is good but the ingredients are not fresh enough (i.e. the prawns in Tom Yum Gung) i think a lot of other restuarants may have better quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel_beginner921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome seafood place, let down by rude staff”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This place is a place to definitely visit if you are in Bangkok. Their seafood is out of this world. Try the Black pepper crab curry!

If they could just fix their staff attitude, they are very rude and pushy, which is strange for Thailand.

If you ignore that, and only go for the food, I would highly recommend it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kep, Cambodia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best crab curry”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Nothing flash to look at (the restaurant that is) but the crab curry is as good as any I've tried. Our meals took about ten minutes to arrive in a restaurant that was packed with (mainly Chinese) people. I had a medium size, next time I'll choose large, and my partner had a large dish of pepper prawns. Both excellent quality. This is not the place for a lazy, slow dinner, we were in and out in forty five minutes. That said, we both loved the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JesV_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Somboon Seafood Surawong also viewed

 

Been to Somboon Seafood Surawong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing