We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 18
Ranked #66 of 731 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Stayed for three nights in February 09. Found hotel to be clean, comfortable and good value. Breakfasts were great - good coffee and the location was good for getting around to most of the sights in Bangkok with easy access to the Skytrain at Asok and undgerground at Sukhumvit.
Only problem we had was with checking out v.early to catch a flight - the credit card machine wasn't working - advise that if you're checking out early in the morning that you settle the bill the night before.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 289 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2009

We stayed here twice during our recent trip. Like others, we were a bit apprehensive when the driver turned down the ally on Soi 18, but once inside, all fears went away.

We loved:
*The welcoming and kind staff, even at 2:30 am!
*Yummy breakfast each morning, included with room
*In-room safe; in-wall panel control for all the room lights
*Flat-screen with good channel selection; DVD player
*Free in-room wireless internet; free computer use in lobby
*Close proximity to Asok station for skytrain/subway

After our first stay, we asked the staff if they could keep some souvenirs for us while we traveled. They happily obliged and our things were waiting for us in our room when we returned a couple weeks later. It's the best little guesthouse and the staff make all the difference--from arranging taxis and giving directions/suggestions--we had a great time and loved coming "home" every night to Baan Sukhumvit Soi 18. We will definitely stay here whenever we are in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MissBibimbap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Baan Sukhumvit twice in January en route to other destinations in Thailand. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come again.

Highs
- very quiet (secluded soi off sukhumvit road)
- staff was always helpful and friendly
- breakfast was great, nice variety and service (and included in price of room)
- location convenient to skytrain and metro access
- rooms were clean, modern and had nice amenities
- rooftop terrace was a great touch
- free internet access (wireless and a nice pc for common use)

My one piece of advice is to print out the directions in Thai to the hotel to show to your taxi driver - could be a little hard to find without those directions!

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

I stayed at their sister hotel in Soi 20 (see my other review) in February 08 and here in November 08. This hotel is even better and is different in the following ways:-

its modern and totally new inside;
VERY quiet laneway (read silent!)
fresh smelling bathroom
roof top sitting area (too hot for me though!)
in-room safe

The staff are great at this hotel - although I missed chatting to Kevin as he as at the other hotel! Our air-con stopped working and the staff had it working again (blown fuse) in minutes!!

We had a problem with the hot water not coming on till a couple of mintues of running the shower and then it ran out very quickly. We didn't ask the staff to fix it - so I really don't know if this is a common problem.

The beds don't have a 'sheet' - just a doona with cover. I really think that a sheet should be standard. I asked for one - and got one straight away. The beds are very firm - but I prefer this over a sloppy/springy bed. I just sleep on top of the doona - using it like a topper and sleep under the sheet I asked for !!

I love this place and will continue to stay here in the future. Its great value. Keep up the good work!

My favourite Pad Thai place is outside the Lexus showroom in Soi 18 - the lady is lovely - she has a fully made up face each day and remembered us from our last stay ! Very clean & disposable chopstick. Seek her out!

Great massages on the corner of the soi 18 to the hotel too.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ruatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

What can I say...it was like having friends who happen to own an Inn. We just spent two visits to Baan Sukhumvit 18 with a trip to Bangladesh in the middle....it was heavenly to arrive back at Baan Sukhumvi 18 and Thong Bai (sp?) and her welcoming staff. The hotel itself is beautifully appointed and very clean. When we first arrived and the taxi drove down the narrow street we were apprehensive...but we found it to be a lovely gem in a vibrant area. We would love to make it back to Thailand in the near future...and Baan Sukhumvit 18 will be an easy hotel choice!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank meehanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2008

What an amazing little hotel. Down an ordinary Bangkok alleyway is this shining little gem. No kidding. When our taxi turned into Soi 18 I thought "Uh oh", then we saw it and walked in. It's place of stylish comfort, in the most unexpected of locations. And it's only a couple of strides away to the Skytrain, so a quick access to Bangkok's big places.

The staff were terrific - friendly and helpful. The rooms were lovely, clean, comfortable and very, very stylish. The wine was a little expensive though. Free internet and good food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank OzzieBrunei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

i've just returned from my one month vacation in the dream land "Thailand" . In Bangkok i stayed in this cosy, homy, uterly clean & friendly hotel, and it just couldn't be better, the hotel got all the Amenities of a 5 star plus hotel, the plus is his staff , "thongbai" you are wonder woman she did miracles to put me back on my flight home after last airport's situation, Kevin the owner will literarly offer his experienced help on anything you need to know you just have to ask, the hotel is just Magnificent with a 3 min walk to asok station and a 1 min 7/11 and just around the corner there is "rembrant massage" for a heavenly foot massage say hi to "digi" and her heartfelt smile.
all in all, anyone going to Bangkok would be crazy not to stay here because you'll miss the meaning of the word "Thai hospitality". a huge thank you to all of the staff there and specialy thongbai for all what she is.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cash-Beh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 20
Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 20
#81 of 731 in Bangkok
194 reviews
Sukhumvit
Room@Bangkok Boutique Guesthouse
Sukhumvit
Tints of Blue Hotel
Tints of Blue Hotel
#9 of 731 in Bangkok
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Baan Pra Nond Bed & Breakfast
Sukhumvit
Nandha Hotel
Nandha Hotel
#40 of 731 in Bangkok
126 reviews
Sukhumvit
iCheck inn Sukhumvit 19
iCheck inn Sukhumvit 19
#85 of 731 in Bangkok
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 18

Address: 3/13-14 Sukhumvit Soi 18 Sukhumvit Rd | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 731 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $44 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 18 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following the success of Baan Sukhumvit Soi 20, and located on the same style quiet side street yet still only four minutes walk from Asok Skytrain, Baan Sukhumvit Soi 18 has all the trade mark features of Soi 20 but with larger rooms equipped to a higher standard with beautiful walk in style showers, free WiFi and Lan line for your laptop in every room together with a lovely relaxing roof top garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 18 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 18 Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing