We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay at Baan Sukhumvit on every Bangkok trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 18
Ranked #60 of 710 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2008

A superb combination of great location, warm staff, beautiful, clean and cosy rooms. We were only a short walk away from Asok BTS. So it is very accessible, yet quiet, as it is tucked in a little lane off the main sukhumvit road.
The rooms are very tastefully done...and spanking clean. And the single beds are large and comfortable.

The little dining and bar area downstairs is quaint...and it's wonderful to start your day there with Baan Sukhumvit's excellent breakfast. There is a PC with free internet access too.

Our stay was wonderful. The ambience is very homely, the staff are professional yet warm.
Don't want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lipika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 288 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2008

This is a very nice inn near the Asoke train station which is 4 train stops away from Siam Station (Siam Paragon, Siam Center & Siam Discovery Centre) and it costs 50-60 baht to take a cab there.

The room is quite spacious and there is plenty of room to place your luggage. There is a shower ( no bath tub) and they provide basic toiletries such as shampoo, shower cream and body lotion. However, they do not provide toothbrushes but you can easily buy one at 35 baht at 7-11. One thing I dislike was that it was difficult to control the water heater, I tried to turn on the basin tap, it works at time but sometimes it does not work.

The hotel is about 5-10 mins walk to Asoke Station. Dun forget to turn to the Exchange Tower and use the escalator. You will not have to climb up the stairs up to the station.

There is a 7-11 around the corner where you can easily buy drinks. The mini-bar prices at the inn is not pricey but it is still cheaper at the 7-11.

Breakfast is included in the hotel price, you have different combination of breakfasts to choose from. If you are hungry at night, you can try the roadside stalls. A lot of locals eat there and I tried some of the food too and did not have any problem.

The bed was a bit hard and remember to ask for room that #01 or #03. I stayed in 302 and it was right beside the air-con compressor which can be quite noisy at night. Asked to change room but was rejected.

Overall, it is a affordable hotel to stay in Bangkok. At 1760 baht per night, you can well use the savings for shopping and spa.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ysouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaanSukhumvit, Manager at Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 18, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2008

Sorry you had a problem with your stay but the noise didn't come from Baan Sukhumvit but from a nearby houses air con which you cannot hear as long as you keep your window closed on the night time, a good thing to do to stop mosquitos.
We will always do our best to make our guests comfortable but on that particular day we were fully booked and therefore couldn't offer an alternative room.
By Bangkok standards I think everyone will find Baan Sukhumvit an amazingly quite and peaceful hotel.

Miss Thongbai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

I stayed in this hotel with three other friends and we all found the staff very welcoming and pleasent especially the lady who runs the place. It is a little gem in a busy, bustling, at times smelly city. It is also very clean and I would highly recommend anyone to stay here whether your trip last one night or many more. It is easy to get any where in Bangkok as it is very close to the Skyline. Thanks for everything and look forward to staying there again.

Amanda (White Moon)
Ireland

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DublinWhite_Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

My husband and I go to Bangkok regularly and always stay at the Baan Sukhumvit on soi 20. We've tried the new one on soi 18 twice now. It's an extra 200 baht and I think it's worth it. It's closer to the sky train which is a big bonus. The rooms are bigger and nicer and the breakfast is better. We love both places though and will always stay in one or the other when we're in town.
We only had two small complaints about the new hotel. The pressure from the shower alone wasn't enough to activate the water heater. The only way we managed to get a hot shower was to have the hot tap running in the sink at the same time! We did mention this before we left and I'm sure it will be fixed but it was annoying at the time. Also, the range of english-language TV channels is very limited.
On the plus side, there is free wi-fi in the hotel (as in soi 20) and the mini-bar and telephone are both reasonably priced - it's the first hotel I've ever stayed that doesn't try to rob you on the extras. The staff are amazing, so friendly and helpful, as is Kevin, the owner. We always get a great welcome when we check in.
I've stayed in a lot of places around Sukhumvit so I can say with confidence the Baan Sukhumvit is great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Neeby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

I only stopped for one night but enough to know that I would love to stop longer. The most friendly owner/staff I have come across and the position is excellent. Rooms bright, spacious and clean and have been telling everyone about it since I stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ash666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

previously stopped at sister hotel on soi 20 ,but decided to try this hotel on soi 18.Both hotels excellent,but found this hotel slightly more modern and position better.Even though i only stopped 1 night found the staff very friendly .Will be stopping again at xmas and wound recommend this hotel if you are looking for a more personnel place to stay at

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the just opened Baan Sukhumvit sister hotel on soi 18. The hotel is located on a quiet street near excellent transportation options. The rooms were nicely furnished, with well appointed bathrooms. Best of all the staff could not have been more pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowardNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Towers Serviced Apartments
Sukhumvit
Hotel Clover Asoke
Hotel Clover Asoke
#52 of 885 in Bangkok
387 reviews
Sukhumvit
Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 20
Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 20
#84 of 710 in Bangkok
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Room@Bangkok Boutique Guesthouse
Sukhumvit
White House Asoke Sukhumvit 18
Sukhumvit
LiveitUp Bangkok
LiveitUp Bangkok
#126 of 1,304 in Bangkok
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 18

Address: 3/13-14 Sukhumvit Soi 18 Sukhumvit Rd | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: $40 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 18 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following the success of Baan Sukhumvit Soi 20, and located on the same style quiet side street yet still only four minutes walk from Asok Skytrain, Baan Sukhumvit Soi 18 has all the trade mark features of Soi 20 but with larger rooms equipped to a higher standard with beautiful walk in style showers, free WiFi and Lan line for your laptop in every room together with a lovely relaxing roof top garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 18 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Sukhumvit Inn Soi 18 Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing