We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place for the Business Traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok
Ranked #263 of 879 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip...though my first preference would be Citadines 16. Overall its a good experience but as they say..."good" is the biggest enemy of "great" :-)

The good things first -
1) very good location...it's tucked well inside the Soi so you would be away from the "road side din"...the complementary Tuk-tuk service is very good....drops you right in front of Nana BTS Station (BTS is an excellent service here).
2) Excellent usage of space - within a not-so-big room it does provide nearly all amenities for a business traveler (on a longish stay)...including a mini kitchen
3) Very good service - the reception and room service are above par (though some have problems in spoken english)..
4) Great location - Sukhumvit Soi 8 is a great place to be...lots of shopping (big and small) and food places (street food, korean/mexican town and big shot diners)...

Now for the possible improvements - noting major...but can improve the experience of a business traveler bigtime.....

1) The restaurant and breakfast - I was Ok with the spread but the service was not very good (the servers were pleasant and trying to help but there was a glaring lack of adequate food and taste)....either stop the free breakfast or improve it (even with a additional cost)
2) The room ventilation (specially bathroom) is not good...also the quality of stuff like bathroom-curtains etc can be improved....I am all for "Lean" service...but lean-ness cannot mean "mean-ness" :-)....

Again....minor issues in an otherwise excellent value for money stay right in the heart of Bangkok...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AniRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 603 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Rooms are not very big, but you have everything you need, even small kitchen and sofa. The location is good, the street is not noisy, but about 250 metres with free tuk-tuk service and you are in the heart Sukhumvit Road. I would also like to note the stuff. My girlfriend broke her perfume accidentally. Fragments of the bottle stayed in bathroom and housemaid think that it was her mistake and the hotel tried to give us new perfume as compensation, but we have to explain the situation and refuse

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gagki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

After staying in 2 excellent Citadines, I downgraded myself from Citadines #16 to the cheaper Citadines #8, the worst reviewed of the four in Bangkok, to see if there was much of a difference.

Yes, there is. This one is packed, and is consequently noisy at all hours. Last night I was awakened at 3 am by a chap loudly banging on a door down the hallway. Walls are thin, so you hear your neighbor coughing (and apologies to my neighbor on that count). Furniture is a scuffed, and WiFi is slower.

Citadines #8 is located at the end of a long lane near the Nana statuon that starts off as bars and restaurants and becomes a row of similar hotels, so there is no traffic noise at least. Because of the influx, check-in might take some time (I had 4 people in front of me). Families and groups are in abundance.

An alluring outside bar is attached to the foyer. But I will not return to this location and am dreading the next two nights.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank dgdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is my third time in this Citadines hotel, it is a convenient one when travelling to Bangkok for business, the room is studio type with separate small living room and bedroom, ideal if you need to do some work while there, it has free wifi connection to internet and a high speed option but this is not included. The hotel is in Soi 8, just in front of the Nana BTS station and very close to the metro too. It allows one to move, shop around Sukhumvit night market, has many restaurants around and it is also close to the metro network and to the brand new Century 21 shopping mall. The apartment if full equipped although one seldom cook here with so many possibilities in any corner. The price is also very reasonable and a good deal if sharing the room with your loved one.

The hotel has a small swimming pool (really small) and a reasonable gym. It also offers a complimentary tuktuk service from hotel to Sukhumvit road and back, in the latter case you need to call to the reception desk. I cannot talk about breakfast, I use to have just a coffee and this you can have at the room.

I have also been at the same hotel at Soi 11 and Soi 16, all highly recommended, not luxury ones but feel a bit like you are in your own place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIR54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you are going to pay about USD100 per night for 4 people, this would be great. On top of having 2 bedrooms, you are able to have your small pantry which you can heat up food, cook delicious Thai instant noodles with egg, sausages etc after all that late night outings. Rather than to take 2 rooms in other hotels, or have extra beds, and end up eating instant cup noodles on your bed. There are TWO 7-11 along the stretch of the road, and it's near Terminal 21 which has this excellent food court upstairs. Service is ok, staff are friendly and helpful, and it is kept clean to it's standards.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnDhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I had never heard of the Citadines brand until my recent trip to Thailand. Turns out they are available in many cities around the world.

The closest sky train (BTS) station is Nana Station. Once you are on street level, simply ask for Soi 8. If you have access to a cellphone, call the hotel and tell them to send the free Tuk Tuk shuttle to pick you up. The shuttle runs all day from the hotel to the main street. If you're not carrying heavy bags or luggage, it's probably a nice 10 minute walk from the main street to the hotel.

Citandines Sukhumvit 8 was a real refuge after a long flight from Los Angeles. The rooms are well appointed, the beds are comfortable and the most important air conditioner worked wonders.

The rooms also have a fridge and small stove in case you want to stock up on drinks or small snacks even breakfast.

The hotel is far enough down from the main street that it keeps quiet all the time. There's also a coin laundry facility and small pool available to you.

One thing I wasn't too excited about was their breakfast. It was just okay, but it's there in case you need a quick bite before heading out in the morning.

Since my stay here I've researched other cities where you can find a Citadines and am excited to say I'll definitely stay at a Citadines on my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanStudioCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you plan to be stay minimal time in the room for your time in Bangkok, this would be the place for you. Pros include convenient to the BTS (Nana station), friendly and efficient staff, free high-speed wifi, clean, free tuk-tuk service at almost any time of the day/ night whilst cons are small room, a little moldy, The room rate that I had did not come with breakfast, so I cannot comment on the breakfast selection. I must compliment the front desk for their service – they helped me with the dining selections and the massage that I picked. As we were a fairly large group and had some room changes, they had moved our reservations and combined bills correctly. I would definitely suggest that there should be some revamp of the exteriors etc due to the worn-out look. Bathrooms should definitely be the first ones to be upgraded. Overall, I would recommend this accommodation if you are looking for no-surprise standard room at a great price in the middle of Sukhumvit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meowmeow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 11 Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Aspen Suites Sukhumvit 2 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
#390 of 879 in Bangkok
492 reviews
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok

Address: 77/7 Sukhumvit 8, Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#157 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#165 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $40 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok is just a five-minute walk from Nana skytrain station, close to major office and business centers. Vibrant colours and bold interiors underline the property’s modern yet sophisticated style, all 130 stylish apartments offering a fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom and lounge and sliding television. Stay tuned for great information through WIFI internet access in all apartments and public. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Citadines Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing