We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value two bed apartment hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok
Ranked #249 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Citadines on Soi 8 (there are other Citadines on other streets) is really well located at the end of a lively Soi with many good restaurants, 7Elevens and close to a branch of Villa Market a great supermarket popular with ex pats in Thailand. There is a complimentary tuktuk to and from the end of the Soi which is right next to Nana skytrain station. This was really useful if you can't face the ten min walk in the heat especially with the kids and it only ever required a few minutes wait as it doesnt take guests further than the end of the Soi and back.

The apartments do look a little tired when compared to the newer hotels and the decor was plain and a bit faded in areas but for space and cost we were very pleased and happy to overlook the minor issues. We took a two bed apartment and had a small double with good pillows and duvets ( not the huge bed in some mid to upper range rooms), a twin room and small lounge/kitchenette all with separate ac units. The kitchenette was well equipped (fridge/toaster/4 ring cooker/microwave/kettle and utensils/crockery) so it would be easy with the selection of local shops to cook here rather than reheat meals which is sometimes the limit of the kitchenette appliances provided in the apartment hotel rooms. There was a tv/dvd player and unexpectedly a good speed, reliable free wifi service (you get given a password on checking in)

The only downside was the small pool (more like a large plunge pool )with no surrounding seating areas and the limited breakfast options, however again for price and location we were not bothered.

If you are looking for a double room you can probably get a plusher studio elsewhere for not much more but for families or those requiring more space this is a really cost effective option in a great location.

We have stayed in four different hotels in Bangkok with similar facilities but despite the negatives this is the one we will most likely return to .

Room Tip: The two bedroom suites are good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathmanduKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 619 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed at many hotels in Bangkok since i traveled there the first time in 1997. A few years ago when the Citadines Soi 8 opened i thought i'll give a try and never booked a different one since. It is a relatively small hotel inside Soi 8 about 200m from the noisy Sukhumvit Road but absolute value for money. The rooms are all appartment style with full kitchen, sitting area, office desk, double bed, flatscreen cable TV and bathroom. The restaurant is also quite small but provides something for every taste from Thai to Western cuisine. Breakfast is rather basic but absolutely sufficient and one can order extra items from the kitchen which are then separately cooked. They provide a convenient "tuc-tuc" service to Nana BTS station at any time of the day or night. Just call them before you arrive at Soi 8 and they will be there waiting for you in a bright orange "tuc-tuc" (you can't miss it :) ). The staff is absolutely great and friendly assisting one at any time of the day. I really like it here as it give me as a very frequent traveller the "home from home" feeling every time i stay there. And the best are the room rates, great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harald_BKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowaratana_y, Manager at Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Dear Valued Resident,

Greetings from Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok!

We wish to thank you for your recent patronage and the invaluable feedback through TripAdvisor. We are delighted to note that most of our facilities and services met your expectation. Your positive feedback will certainly encourage our staff to go the extra mile to serve our residents better.

We trust you had a pleasant trip home and now look forward to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok, soon.

Kind regards,

Nowaratana Yamdee
Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Have stayed at Citadines on more than one occasion, and again found it an excellent experience. The staff were helpful and eager to please. The facilities were of a high standard and the suites were clean and well equipped. The best thing about Citadiens is the staff, the tuk tuk and the customer focus on this hotel. I would like to thank all at Citadiens Soi 8. Look at Soi 8 for some good bars, (we 4 u & Soi 8 bar). No girlie bars and a host of good company at a god price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn8038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

It is great Place to stay, Little inside from main road, so found very peaceful place. Hotel arrange Tuktuk for Pickup and drop to Sukhumvit station. Hotel equipment with kitchen, was having all the required things for cooking. Good part was that drawing room was having expandable sofa. Kids really enjoyed our 4 nights stay. Roof top pool was quite good and so as fitness centre.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank AM2000011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowaratana_y, Manager at Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Dear Valued Resident,


We were delighted to learn that you and your family has enjoyed your stay with us. At the same time, we are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service.

Once again, thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok, we look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences.

Kind regards,

Nowaratana Yamdee
Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Stayed at Citadines Sukhumvit Soi 8 for a week due to a business trip. It was near to my Bangkok branch office so in terms of location it was ok for me.
The hotel is so far into the side road that it's impossible to walk, but they do offer a complimentary tuk-tuk service which was a plus and minus. There are always people on the tuk-tuk so sometimes you have to wait for it to send the first batch in and come back out for you again. Not very convenient when after a long day of work you just want to get back to your room quickly.
There are a lot of restaurants and bars on the main street, it's walking distance from the entrance to the Nana BTS Station. If you don't drive, it's fantastically convenient, but if you do drive, there is permanently a traffic jam on the main street. Just taking a U-turn to get to Soi 8 can take 1 full hour.
Room itself - fuss free, no frills. Don't expect thorough housekeeping to be done, they might miss a bin or two, and miss to wipe a spot or two. The towels given were sometimes old and torn, but at least they are clean. I hope. I had the studio room with a kitchen with cooking stove (didn't do any cooking but I would expect the smoke to get everywhere in the room), there is also a microwave which I did use, a sliding door to separate bedroom from living area, a tiny bathroom whose heater just doesn't heat the water hot enough. There is a working desk and complimentary wifi - very important for a business hotel. A wardrobe with in-room safe and iron and ironing board.
The lobby is minimal, just a staff on standby so don't expect concierge service.
I didn't go to the pool or the gym so can't comment, but they do have it.
I had room service, pretty mediocre, can get much better food outside. Or try one of their delivery services from restaurants around the area. Didn't take breakfast as it looks scarce, had breakfast at one of the roadside stalls by the main road instead.

OVerall it was an averagely good stay, no big issues, but definitely not a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: I think the corner rooms are slightly bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrinCessPraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

This hotel is such a good location. We can easily travel by public transport and enjoy BKK without any terrible traffic around.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AimAimCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowaratana_y, Manager at Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Dear AimAimCM,

Thank you for choosing Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok for your recent stay and feedback.

We have read your comments about our property and greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests' satisfaction is our main priority.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we wish to thank you again for your support and patronage. We look forward to your return to Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok


Have a pleasant day.

Kind regards,

Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed here with a group of friends, we were in the city to shop, party and see the sights.

I shared a room with a friend. The room was classy, clean and very comfortable. It looked like a well-designed studio apartment. The bathroom was clean and stocked with toileteries. The kitchen was also stocked with cutlery and crockery, but we didn't stay long enough to use any of that.

The hotel is on a street off the Nana subway stop, it's about a 7 - 10 minute walk from the main road to the hotel. Lots of bars and restaurants along the way, so it's always busy with people. The hotel has its own little Tuk-Tuk to take guests to and from the hotel to the main road... super convenient when you're returning with shopping bags and the staff recognize you! The staff were also very helpful in arranging a taxi to Kanchanaburi (which on a separate note, is overrated).

Good place to stay if you're with a group of people. The rest of my friends stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment in this hotel, and had an equally comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Classy but not too posh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prithim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 11 Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Galleria 10 Sukhumvit
Galleria 10 Sukhumvit
#267 of 891 in Bangkok
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Aspen Suites Sukhumvit 2 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
#340 of 891 in Bangkok
518 reviews
Sukhumvit
On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok

Address: 77/7 Sukhumvit 8, Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#157 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#165 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $43 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok is just a five-minute walk from Nana skytrain station, close to major office and business centers. Vibrant colours and bold interiors underline the property’s modern yet sophisticated style, all 130 stylish apartments offering a fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom and lounge and sliding television. Stay tuned for great information through WIFI internet access in all apartments and public. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Citadines Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing