We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Happy Customer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Navalai River Resort
Ranked #39 of 1,346 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2009

We stayed in late February & since we send very little time (actually none) sitting on a balcony looking at the view we took the "Serene Corner" @ $60. Leaving the airport after 1am with directions in Thai the driver had to be encouraged to turn on the meter & still took a tour, actually getting himself confused by his meandering. The fare was 410 baht. Going back to the airport at 4am we found many taxis cruising the area, about half of whom are unwilling to meter. Just wait 30 seconds & somebody else will come by. Fare back was 250 baht.

The hotel was shiny and new and contrary to some we found the staff friendly & helpful at all times, even for post midnight problems (broken drinking glass & stopped up toilet). They were out of bed & up yo help in minutes.

The room was fairly small but not cramped. The restaurant was very good. As a side, after about 5 days I decided a big greasy American hamburger would be good & to my amazement the restaurant had one. It was bar none the best I ever had & the fries were competitive with the best. My cardiologist would not approve of how they made it so good however so I stuck primarily with Thai fare. Many backpackers also ate here while staying at lesser nearby hotels. As one told me he had noticed that in Thailand bad restaurants are cheap and the really good places are not much more.

The express boats take you to everything along the river for 13 baht, less than, $.40 US but stop running at 7:30.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albuquerque_NMGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

929 - 935 of 1,706 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2009

What a great place to spend our last 4 nights of a 3 week trip. Our party of 3 booked a River Breeze triple room on the 4th floor - very modern, clean and spacious - with a large balcony overlooking the river and all its goings on. A wonderful palce to have a drink at the end of the day. Buffet breakfast served in the terrace restaurant was pretty good - dinner meals were expensive and service very ordinary - they really do need some serious customer service training. There are many dinner options in surrounding streets and the hotel is a short 10 min walk from Kao San Rd. However, the overriding plus for this hotel was that it is located right on a river ferry stop - Phra Arthit - which takes you to all the tourist spots closeby (Chinatown, Grand Palace, Reclining Buddha etc) and to Saphon Taksin 'at the end of the line' where you can pick up a Skytrain to all parts of the city including Siam, Chatuchak Market etc - this was very important for us as we were travelling with my wife's 78 yo mother - who had a ball here. Great swimming pool on the roof for the end of the day. Negotiate with the long tail boatman for a 2 hour trip on the klongs (canals) to Tailing Chan (an hour there and back with an hour stopover - we paid 1200 baht total for the 3 of us) - local food market which is only open on weekends - serves the most wonderfully delicious prawns, satays, whole fish, Thai fish cakes, washed down with cheap bottles of Chang, Heineken or Singha beer - all food cooked while you wait on myriad small boats that are tied up to the wharf on the side. A great Thai eating experience - very surprised that it is not in the Lonely Planet!
Best kept local secret? Will be coming back to Navali at the end of the year - would not hesitate.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMac27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

Good location, nice hotel overall but insist on a river view room. The food in the hotel is good but breakfast so so. Please!!! ...... if you hail a taxi insist that the driver switches on the meter. If you do you will be surprised how cheap they are to get a round the city. And if you get a tuk tuk, ask the price before you set off, never pay over 200 TB, most journeys will cost no more than 50-100TB. They can be good fun for short journeys.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjagall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

We stayed at the Navalai for three nights and enjoyed the location in particular but also the hotel generally.

Our taxi driver could not locate the hotel and phoned Agoda ( my internet booking agent )to whom I spoke to spell out the name of the hotel and then the driver got the directions. It paid to have the booking printout close to hand. It was quite late at night too.

The hotel is indeed right next to the river and a ferry stop which is perfect. There is a counter to the right (facing the river) selling tickets however you can easily buy tickets on board.

There is also a pathway along the river from the hotel (we went to the left toward Central)from which it is pleasant to take a stroll. It is endlessly facinating to watch the life of the river.

The rooms were comfortable and clean and fairly new. The first night my daughter and I were given a double room instead of a twin but they brought us in a rollabed and then moved us to a twin the next day - I think this is pretty common. However we found the staff very pleasant in all this and all our dealings- I was sort of prepared for sulky people after some comments here but far from it, the staff were nice and the house keeping women were very cute and giggly (probably at us). We did tip modestly!

My daughter thought the rooms were much nicer than the Viengtai Hotel (right in the midst of the Khao San Road area) where she stayed recently before an Intrepid trip. Funnily enough the Viengtai lobby was more impressive than the Navalai but not the rooms.

The breakfast was included in the price and was rather boring but it was such a nice outlook to the river and really Bangkok is all about exploring the food that it didn't matter to us. We just wanted a bit of fruit and a drink to start the day.

Which brings me to the location again - it is classed as Riverside (not surprising) and the hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the lively Khao San Road area where there is shopping restaurants nightlife massages and did I say restaurants? Great fun we thought. We loved eating at the little food stalls, particularly the Pad Thai ones and of course the crepes. We also drank jugs of cold sweet Watermelon Crushes in the restaurants.

So the hotel was perfectly placed for all this.

We had no trouble with any noise and just had basic rooms although I was sorry for not booking a river room for the view. There is building going on right next door and so perhaps it was just luck we didn't find it noisey at night and we were out all day.

I used the pool once and although refreshing it was a pretty much a concreted area and not really attractive.

I would stay here again for the location although it is not on a Sky Train stop but you can easily get the ferry to Central where I think there is one - and so avoid the troublesome taxis.

We (there was 6 of us travelling together) had a great time in Bangkok from this Hotel as our base.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Heads up: Good Hotel but there are serious noise issues. Do not get a "city view" room as they over look a street that screams with traffic and faces bars that offer live music 'til the morning hours. The river view rooms are the best BUT there is a building being constructed right next to them. This building maybe finished by the end of 2009... we ended up moving to the smaller rooms that are in the middle of the hotel. I am not super sensitive to noises but between the motorcycles with no mufflers, buses and banging hammers, well heck, that can be an issue.
The staff is tourist hardened and their attitude seems to be that you are another body that they need to deal with.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Wi-fi, Cable, A/C etc.
The location on the river, in front of a river taxi stop, is excellent. The hotel's restaurant overlooks the river and serves very good food (however, next to the hotel, on the street there are very good small eateries that are 1/2 the price). Overall, this is an good hotel with good value if you can get the right room.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

We stayed here for three nights mid January, based on the feed back left on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.

The hotel was easily found by the taxi driver from the airport and having booked a river view room, this was exactly what we were looking for. Not sure about the window between the bathroom and bedroom though!

Having stayed in Bangkok ten times previously, mainly in 4 star hotels, this far exceeded our expectations and we would definitely stay here again. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glordcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

Clean, big rooms with balcony. At that price its a great deal. Also next to the Pier. You can catch the boat to all parts of Bangkok.

Only bad part is that the staff at the restaurant are lazy and it seems they are least interested to serve you.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank santayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#18 of 891 in Bangkok
1,788 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#142 of 891 in Bangkok
1,655 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#67 of 891 in Bangkok
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#171 of 891 in Bangkok
1,313 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#379 of 891 in Bangkok
64 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#57 of 891 in Bangkok
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navalai River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navalai River Resort

Address: 45 / 1 - 2 Phra Athit Rd | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 1,346 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $72 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Navalai River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navalai offers a hip design, unlike any other city hotel. You can find this extraordinary experience of Oriental Chic Boutique and be inspired by historical and social context of hotel location. 74 unique and stylish rooms are decorated in four different themes: Artist; Thai-lifestyle; Colonial-influenced; and Rattanakosin heritage. This uniquely designed hotel is the ideal place for honeymooners and travelers who look for a unique life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Navalai River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navalai River Hotel Bangkok
Navalai River Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing