We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Navalai River Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Navalai River Resort
Ranked #37 of 1,217 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Navalai River Resort”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We chose this hotel purely for it's position and we were very happy with our choice. We had chosen a riverfront room, so we had a brilliant view of the river with all of its activity The hotel was clean, well appointed, and , although the hotel does not have a tourist desk, the staff were happy to help us with all of our enquiries. We ate at the restaurant every night after a swim in the rooftop pool. The atmosphere at the restaurant was restful and a wonderful way to spend each evening after a busy day of sightseeing. There are a lot of hotels on the riverfront, but this hotel filled all our requirements at a much better price . Would definitely stay there again, and would have no hesitation to recommend it.

Room Tip: definitely book a room on the river side- very pleasant to sit on your own balcony and watch the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cscruse2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    859
    213
    44
    22
See reviews for
279
900
79
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is our fav hotel in Bangkok and we come here time & time again. Our last visit was even more special as my now fiancee proposed on our balcony. The hotel is is a great location - close enough to KS Rd but far enough away to escape it when you've had enough. It's also right on the river so access to water taxis is on your doorstep. I'm sad that the airport bus no longer stops right outside which was a massive bonus and very cheap but a taxi isn't a big expense or inconvenience. I love the rooms and always look forward to putting my robe and slippers on at the end of the day and sitting in comfort on the balcony with a drink from the fridge. The rooftop pool is a great spot and we were lucky enough to be in it as a storm passed overhead - the rain and lightning made it a special experience. The buffet breakfast is always great and a fantastic fuel for the day. We'll be back again as soon as we can & will stay for sure when we're in Thailand for our wedding next year - I know we'll be well taken care of here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzieg8816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Nice hotel, clean, free WiFi, roof top pool, with perfect location. We really hit the nail on the head with this one. The location couldn't be better. We discovered the Express Boat which has a pier right at the hotel. Just a few piers down the river in either direction (and the river ride was an experience on its own) are the piers for all the major "don't miss" attractions.
It's also in the famous "Koh San Road" area which is basically a huge night market, restaurants, bars, massages, and guest houses where the backpacker youngsters party all night. It was a fun stroll a couple of evenings.
We are a 40-50 something year old couple who live in a quiet mountain town. That being said, Bangkok was a lot for us to take in. The ability to visit the Grand Palace, take a quick boat ride back to our hotel room for a blast of AC, and a dip in the roof top pool and cocktail before heading out to the next adventure was exactly what we needed.
Front desk very helpful and attentive. Breakfast a bit pricey (they did offer a 50 baht off coupon with the purchase of one breakfast which was kinda stingy) but not a big deal as there are so many options all around. We originally booked a "city view" room and quickly realized it's on a pretty noisy party street. We upgraded (quite a jump...about 50% up cost) to a river view which was a smart choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finallyfreebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Navalai River Resort in December 2012, at the beginning of a three-week trip through SE Asia. The hotel is located at the Phra Athit river taxi stop, and that convenience enabled us to use the river to get to most of the places that we wanted to explore in Bangkok. The hotel itself is modern, clean and well-maintained, with a good restaurant and a beautiful roof-top pool and bar area with 360-degree views. Go for happy hour, have refreshing dip and watch the sunset!

We had a River View room on an upper floor. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the extra expense of the River View room was well worth it for the balcony and the view.

Room Tip: The extra expense of the River View room was well worth it for the balcony and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenRutchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I recently stayed at Navalai River Resort and it was a great experience. The front desk is very friendly, the pool is nice and quiet and has a great view of the river, and how can you beat FREE WiFi?! I stayed in the Serene Corner and my room and bathroom were clean and big. It is very close to Khao San Road, less than a 5 min walk. Lots of bars and eateries across the street and all around, too. It was really nice to have a 7-11 in front of the hotel as well a massage parlor that offers a 15% discount for hotel guests. The only "complaint" I have is the breakfast food; none of the Western food was appetizing, however, the Thai dishes were good (I'm just not used to eating hot and spicy food in 90 degree heat at 7a :)).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_shon145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Navalai is handy to khao san road, which is why we chose to stay here - about a 50 baht tuk tuk. It's right on river for the ferry, which will take you down to china town etc for 15 baht, so thats always a winner. Plenty of good food nearby, and the breakfast buffet is actually pretty good. Awesome staff, they pretty much make the place what it is.
Nice rooms, but the noise from the bar across the road has deafening, if you want to sleep at night, get a room closest to the river, then you at least have a building to dampen the decibels. Is about a 150 baht trip to Siam Square area, but most tried to charge 200. There is a wonderful pool on the roof, just watch out for the broken tiles. Restaurant expensive, but nice enough, and you can eat out on the river which is well worth it just to people / boat watch.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2morebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I chose to stay here on account of the many reviews here on tripadvisor, we wanted a quiet hotel within easy reach of the many tourist attractions and the hustle and bustle of Kao San Road. The room was most comfortable and in a clean and smart condition, credit to the cleaners who do an excellent job. The rooftop pool was lovely with excellent views over the city, I got some great pictures on the clear and sunny days that we enjoyed up there. The only negative I can really find about the place is the restaurant is expensive, we only ate there once as we were too lazy to venture outside for food on that occasion.
We did have one unfortunate evening when the drunken chav couple in the room next to ours decided to have a full on screaming argument at around 4am, but I must point out the night staff wasted no time and were most helpful in sorting this out. The day manager also put in some effort the next day in moving this rather unpleasant couple out to another room on a different floor well away from us, so as to ensure there would be no repeat of the previous nights noise.
I would reccomend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uptoyouWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#17 of 863 in Bangkok
1,694 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#142 of 863 in Bangkok
1,530 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#67 of 863 in Bangkok
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#170 of 863 in Bangkok
1,204 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#147 of 863 in Bangkok
1,818 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navalai River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navalai River Resort

Property: Navalai River Resort
Address: 45 / 1 - 2 Phra Athit Rd | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,217 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Navalai River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navalai offers a hip design, unlike any other city hotel. You can find this extraordinary experience of Oriental Chic Boutique and be inspired by historical and social context of hotel location. 74 unique and stylish rooms are decorated in four different themes: Artist; Thai-lifestyle; Colonial-influenced; and Rattanakosin heritage. This uniquely designed hotel is the ideal place for honeymooners and travelers who look for a unique life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Navalai River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navalai River Hotel Bangkok
Navalai River Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing