We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff, nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Navalai River Resort
Ranked #40 of 1,385 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I recently stayed at Navalai River Resort and it was a great experience. The front desk is very friendly, the pool is nice and quiet and has a great view of the river, and how can you beat FREE WiFi?! I stayed in the Serene Corner and my room and bathroom were clean and big. It is very close to Khao San Road, less than a 5 min walk. Lots of bars and eateries across the street and all around, too. It was really nice to have a 7-11 in front of the hotel as well a massage parlor that offers a 15% discount for hotel guests. The only "complaint" I have is the breakfast food; none of the Western food was appetizing, however, the Thai dishes were good (I'm just not used to eating hot and spicy food in 90 degree heat at 7a :)).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_shon145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 1,727 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Navalai is handy to khao san road, which is why we chose to stay here - about a 50 baht tuk tuk. It's right on river for the ferry, which will take you down to china town etc for 15 baht, so thats always a winner. Plenty of good food nearby, and the breakfast buffet is actually pretty good. Awesome staff, they pretty much make the place what it is.
Nice rooms, but the noise from the bar across the road has deafening, if you want to sleep at night, get a room closest to the river, then you at least have a building to dampen the decibels. Is about a 150 baht trip to Siam Square area, but most tried to charge 200. There is a wonderful pool on the roof, just watch out for the broken tiles. Restaurant expensive, but nice enough, and you can eat out on the river which is well worth it just to people / boat watch.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2morebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I chose to stay here on account of the many reviews here on tripadvisor, we wanted a quiet hotel within easy reach of the many tourist attractions and the hustle and bustle of Kao San Road. The room was most comfortable and in a clean and smart condition, credit to the cleaners who do an excellent job. The rooftop pool was lovely with excellent views over the city, I got some great pictures on the clear and sunny days that we enjoyed up there. The only negative I can really find about the place is the restaurant is expensive, we only ate there once as we were too lazy to venture outside for food on that occasion.
We did have one unfortunate evening when the drunken chav couple in the room next to ours decided to have a full on screaming argument at around 4am, but I must point out the night staff wasted no time and were most helpful in sorting this out. The day manager also put in some effort the next day in moving this rather unpleasant couple out to another room on a different floor well away from us, so as to ensure there would be no repeat of the previous nights noise.
I would reccomend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uptoyouWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a lovely 3-star hotel right on the river. This was my first trip to Thailand and I was very satisfied with this hotel. We got a great price on Agoda.com. Our room was in the Serene Corner and it was very quiet. The rooftop pool was wonderful. This hotel is in a great location. Right next door is the river ferry. This hotel is also in walking distance to Khao San Road and many of the leading historical sites. My only complaint is the hotel restaurant was expensive. However, all you have to do is cross the street and there are a variety of good, reasonably prices restaurants to choose from on Phra Athit Road. I would definately recommend to hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarlaMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We picked the navalai based solely on previous tripadvisor reviews and can honestly say we were not disappointed.

Location:

Our first time to thailand we wanted a hotel close to khoasan road but with breathing room from the action. We found the hotel easily using the river as a handy reference point. As previously stated the location on the river is great for accessing the hot spots by river taxi and the fun of the city by foot or tuk tuk. Max at a slow walk 10 mins but I would say closer to 5 from heart of the excitement that is khoasan.

Food:

We were only there for 2 nights so opted to eat out in evenings. We did however thoroughly enjoy our lunch around the pool. There are some great restaurants accross the road who also had great live music. The breakfast was fresh and plentiful and lovely setting on the river.

Rooms:

Room was clean and in good order and as we were expecting from reviews. We opted for the serene corner which was actually the cheapest. It was on the side of the hotel and we slept well both nights.

Facilities:

Pool area was great. We loved catching the sun up top after busy days sightseeing. They seem to have now made all cocktails buy 1 get 1 free all the time. It is by no means cheap but as I write this from a lovely hotel in phuket I see it is just the going rate for hotel drinks in Thailand. We found the seven eleven in front/under the hotel very handy.

All in all a great staging point for a busy few days. Service was friendly and checkn in/out easy. Good job.

Room Tip: Only saw serene corner but was happy. View rubbish but the view is much better from outside the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sm0254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear sm0254,

Thank you so much for your nice comments for our hotel, we are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and your comments for our hotel will be informed around the world to many travelers to know more about our hotel.
Thank you & We are looking forward to welcome you on your next visit to Navalai River Resort.

Kindly Regards
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Writing this as we sit watching the action on the pier below. The riverfront rooms are really worth it. Yes you get some noise of the boats coming and going but nothing more than any other inner-city location.
A short walk to the cheap eats and shopping of khaosan or jump on the boat to get elsewhere
We initially checked into a "serene corner" room which would probably usually be serene but there is noisy construction.. Looks a few months off completion? We upgraded to river front and glad we did.
Breakfast buffet was adequate but not special- fruit, some hot food, bread, pastries and 2 cereals. Being on the waterfront decking was a nice way to start the day though. The staff were helpful but pretty formal.
Overall- would stay again, riverfront is worthwhile to pay for, I think it's the whole appeal of the place- I think if staying in any other room there are other cheaper places which would add up the same on service and food.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ella-C-Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Ella-C-Dee,

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and fine compliments on your review. We are delighted that you enjoy staying at Navalai River Resort and that the room suites you well. I shall share your comments with all staff who will be pleased to read them. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

...but if you invest some more money you can also get a real 5 star hotel. The hotel is quiet ok but I m not sure if its worth the money. It was very nice that its so close to Khao San Road but during the night you could hear noises from the hall and from the street. The room were ok, but the bathroom could need a make over. So far so well but maybe not again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara_Haaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Sara_Haaz,

Thank for posting your feedback of Navalai River Resort on TripAdvisor and we appreciate your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#22 of 891 in Bangkok
1,812 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#141 of 891 in Bangkok
1,680 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#69 of 891 in Bangkok
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#172 of 891 in Bangkok
1,340 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#140 of 891 in Bangkok
1,871 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#55 of 891 in Bangkok
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navalai River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navalai River Resort

Address: 45 / 1 - 2 Phra Athit Rd | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 1,385 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $67 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Navalai River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navalai offers a hip design, unlike any other city hotel. You can find this extraordinary experience of Oriental Chic Boutique and be inspired by historical and social context of hotel location. 74 unique and stylish rooms are decorated in four different themes: Artist; Thai-lifestyle; Colonial-influenced; and Rattanakosin heritage. This uniquely designed hotel is the ideal place for honeymooners and travelers who look for a unique life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Navalai River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navalai River Hotel Bangkok
Navalai River Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing