We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find in the Khoa San Area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Navalai River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Navalai River Resort
Ranked #35 of 1,136 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great find in the Khoa San Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

An excellent find in the heart of Bangkok backpacker district. We were looking for a place to relax in comfort yet venture out into the crazy backpacker area of BKK when we wanted. This is the perfect place for this.

Navalai is a proper hotel with all the amenities you would expect including a great pool on the roof overlooking the city and the river. The pricing is very reasonable and you do get a bit more than you pay for.

Our only concern was that the aircon in our room did not work; however after reporting this we were immediately given another room for the night and the aircon was fixed first thing in the morning.

We highly recommend this hotel if you plan to be in the Khoa San area but dont want to backpack as it is a very short walk to the road along other great little back roads with awesome restaurants, massage places and shops / stalls.

We have actually rebooked our last night in Thailand back at Navalai as we know we will be comfortable and we know our surroundings. We will; however check the aircon immediately on arrival.

You can also catch the river taxis right from the hotel and arrange a longtail tour of the canals from the longtail guys sitting on the pier. The longtail tour was a highlight for us.

Room Tip: The river view are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THW03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear THW03,

Thank you so much for your nice comments for our hotel, we are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and your comments for our hotel will be informed around the world to many travelers to know more about our hotel.
Thank you & We are looking forward to welcome you on your next visit to Navalai River Resort with a room with cold air condition as for the time its hot in Bangkok and our air condition make take time to get it cool.

Kindly Regards
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    823
    204
    38
    22
See reviews for
268
859
76
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights of our Honeymoon. The rooms are very clean and contemporary. Lots of nice touches like bath robes and Slippers.
There was a great roof top pool with an amazing view of Bangkok, happy hour at the bar between 4-5. There is very handy pier next to the restaurant. Ko San road is walking distance but far enough not to be in the centre of it.

Breakfast was really nice, lots of choice.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy280671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear andy280671,

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and fine compliments on your review. We are delighted that you enjoy staying at Navalai River Resort and that the room suites you well. I shall share your comments with all staff who will be pleased to read them. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

My three-year old daughter and I stayed here twice during our 10 day visit to Thailand and it was a perfect location for our days in Bangkok. The rooms very clean and nicely decorated, and very much worth the reasonable price, with excellent bathroom, a TV 9with DVD player) and mini-bar. We stayed on the 5th (top floor) facing out towards the road, with a nice little veranda to use when the sun had set (too hot during day time in April). Some visitors may find this road-facing side of the hotel noisy, as it is opposite several nice little bars, often playing local Thai music. Having lived in Thailand before, and not being able to enjoy the late hour nightlife traveling with my daughter, I actually enjoyed having the music in the background, and sipping a beer on the veranda enjoying it from a distance. Those who want a completely quiet room and view over the Chao Prya River should request for that to avoid disappointment.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and also very accommodating with my daughter. The breakfast buffet was good, and sitting out by the pier in the mornings a very nice experience, watching the boats go by. My daughter in particular enjoyed this every morning. Lunch and dinner is also served at the hotel even if a little pricey. The swimming pool was great, with a beautiful view from the top floor and a bar adjacent, for drinks and a meal if one wanted. This was one of the highlights of the hotel after a hot day walking around the city.

The location was from our point of view excellent, and this is what made the hotel one of the highlights of our stay. Being right next to the pier made you feel connected to the local river-life, and made it very easy to take the river taxis around Bangkok, which is the best way to travel in the city. We made several boat trips to the palaces and the hotels further down the river, as well as to local restaurant a little further north. My daughter loved taking the boat (and on the contrary did not like at all the long taxi rides to anywhere else in the city). It was also a perfect location to walk around, having the busy Pra Atit Road full of little restaurants at the door step, and Khao San Road just a few meters away. It could not have been more convenient, with a travel agency, a 7-11 shop, an ATM, and an excellent massage SPA right downstairs from the hotel. I even brought by daughter there and they took care of her the hour I had a massage at no extra cost.

Navalai is a great choice if you would like to be in the older part of Bangkok yet at the same time get a flavor of the affordable luxury that Thailand has to offer within going to some of the five star hotels. Having lived in Thailand for 5 years, and not being back for many years, the hotel was a perfect surprise and we will come back to stay here again with the whole family.

Room Tip: 5th floor (top loor) river-view rooms. Also the closest to the pool which is on the roof top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nairobizebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Nairobizebra,

Thank you so much for your nice comments for our hotel, we are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. And we were very delighted to read that you have enjoyed the service, customer relation and friendliness of all of our staff and I shall certainly congratulate them personally and your comments for our hotel will be informed around the world to many travelers to know more about our hotel.
Thank you & We are looking forward to welcome you on your next visit to Navalai River Resort.

Kindly Regards
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkel en Rodenrijs, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice, well maintained hotel with clean rooms. We stayed here for a few separated nights during our stay in Thailand. Our first room was a Riverside room on the 5th floor. The view over the river was amazing. Unfortunately, the airconditioning was a bit loudy and i think you can hear the swimmingpoolpump as well during the night. I recommend to bring earplugs to lower the noise.

From this hotel, you can just walk towards the pier to grab a boat. Or just sort out a taxi at the roadside to any specific spot in Bangkok. There is also a Seven Eleven and a good working ATM around the corner for your daily needs.

Staff at the reception is ok but could be a bit friendlier compared with other hotels. Breakfast was the best one we had seen in Thailand with many food to choose from.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MvHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear MvHal,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor your comments are all important for us to consider.

First of all, we would like to apologize that some experience you have been received during your stay with us does not meet your expectation. However we will improve on that.

Once again, thank you & we are looking forward to welcome you on your next visit to Navalai River Resort .

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice in our 2 week holiday to Thailand and couldn't fault it other than the view from our room (you can pay more for a river view) and maybe a few more sunbeds around the pool.
But on the plus side it is situated right on the river, with a pier where you can catch the water taxis which we found to be the best way to get around Bangkok. They are cool fun and cheap if sometimes a little squashed. Taxis were not a problem, we were dropped off several times right outside, the only time we couldn't be was when the road was closed for the market.
Khao San Street is only a short walk away, but to be honest we only got there twice as there were so many distractions, bars, restaurants, shops, market stalls and roadside eateries on the way that were far cheaper and friendlier.
The pool is fine for a cooling dip with fantastic river views, towels supplied for free.
The Hotel restaurant was very good, excellent food used by the locals for special events it seemed.
The rooms were clean as was the whole Hotel, spacious, with a mini fridge, free water daily.
And now the staff, we couldn't fault them, I unfortunately fell ill with the old Bangkok belly, ended up in hospital, the staff could not have been more helpful and concerned, booking us in extra nights and just generally being helpful.
I would definitely choose to go back here again and would not hesitate to recommend it.
One last point, don't be put off when you arrive outside, you might think you are staying above some shops! But once you have walked down the passage and see the fishpond you will know you have arrived! (The hospital was very good also with English speaking nurses, but I hope you don't need it)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meejuliedorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear meejuliedorset,

Thank you very for having taken the time to share your experience about Navalai River Resort at Tripadvisor. We were very delighted to read that you have enjoyed the service, customer relation and friendliness of all of our staff and I shall certainly congratulate them personally. It was also gratifying to read your other comments about the property.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to the pleasure of your next visit in Bangkok at Navalai River Resort.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a clean, quite small hotel next to Chao Phraya River, with great connections by boat but limited access by taxes. If you like to go e.g. to Siam or Sukhumvit area, it is best to use Express Boat service and continue with Skytrain from Samphan Thaksin pier.

Khao San street is only a few hundred meters from the hotel, making this a good option if you are looking something more than basic hostels. Also the great palaces are relatively near.

The pool at the top of the building is nice, though there is less shade during the hot hours of the day. The hotel offers free wifi, but it is slow (max 400 kbps) and sometimes loosing connection. The bed could be softer (like almost in every hotel in Asia ...)

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side have balcony, which is very nice. They are also quieter (and also more expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Olli L,

Thank you so much for your nice comments for our hotel, we are so delighted to know that you enjoyed staying with us.
And once again thank you & we are looking forward to welcome you on your next visit to Navalai River Resort .

Kindly Regards
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

hotel location was awesome. Just a few walk to Grand Palace. Room was great special mention to my housekeeper who made my stay memorable. Staffs were very accommodating and helpful. Seems like everyone has been taught of professionalism. Three thumb up!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Richard Ken J,

Thank you very for having taken the time to share your experience about Navalai River Resort at Tripadvisor. We were very delighted to read that you have enjoyed the service, customer relation and friendliness of all of our staff and I shall certainly congratulate them personally. It was also gratifying to read your other comments about the property.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to the pleasure of your next visit in Bangkok.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#140 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#66 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#182 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#401 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navalai River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navalai River Resort

Property: Navalai River Resort
Address: 45 / 1 - 2 Phra Athit Rd | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,136 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Navalai River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navalai offers a hip design, unlike any other city hotel. You can find this extraordinary experience of Oriental Chic Boutique and be inspired by historical and social context of hotel location. 74 unique and stylish rooms are decorated in four different themes: Artist; Thai-lifestyle; Colonial-influenced; and Rattanakosin heritage. This uniquely designed hotel is the ideal place for honeymooners and travelers who look for a unique life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Navalai River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navalai River Hotel Bangkok
Navalai River Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing