We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option if wanting palace/ river/ khao san type areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Navalai River Resort
Ranked #41 of 1,415 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Chose this hotel as wished looked like hotel had good open aspect from roof terrace.
On the plus side;
• The hotel has a water bus stop right outside- very handy for getting up and down the river, a real plus (note- you can pay on the public service ferry boat service, its about 20 baht per trip. An agent has set up what looks like a turn style type entrance as you approach the landing area where they encourage you to pay 150 baht for an all day tourist ticket- don’t buy it if you only want a few trips on the river; you just walk straight through to the landing area and pay on the boat)
• Room was spacious and nicely decorated with a warm, friendly feel
• Had a side room, which was fine, it avoided the noise from the front road and you could just about see the river !
• Friendly welcome
• Allowed early access to the room (we arrived early at 10 am and the room was ready)
• Nice breakfast area adjacent to and overlooking river
• Nice rooftop pool area
• Approx £2 (90 baht) in taxi using meter from phaya thai station to the hotel)

No negatives !

Room Tip: Side room good as quiet. Dont go for city view as overlooks busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thecoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear thecoaster,

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and fine compliments on your review. We are delighted that you enjoy staying at Navalai River Resort and that the room suites you well. I shall share your comments with all staff who will be pleased to read them. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 1,747 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Location is great, can walk to Khao San Road and Grand Palace etc. Lovely breakfast on the terrace overlooking the river. We stayed in Serene Corner, nice and quiet and had a little balcony. We had a drink one night in the pool bar which was very overpriced, took a while to arrive as had to be brought up from downstairs as no draught beer, VAT and service added on so became very expensive compared to any other bar/restaurant. After that we went out or bought beers from the 7/11 next door and kept them in the fridge! Pool was lovely and nice views over the river. Girls on reception were very helpful. We didn't try the restaurant as so many other great places in Bangkok.

Room Tip: We stayed in Serene corner so view wasn't very exciting but we didn't spend much time in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Amy B,

Thank you very for having taken the time to share your experience about Navalai River Resort at Tripadvisor. We were very delighted to read that you have enjoyed the service, customer relation and friendliness of all of our staff and I shall certainly congratulate them personally. It was also gratifying to read your other comments about the property.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to the pleasure of your next visit in Bangkok.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Little gem tucked away behind Main Street. Good views of river .Breakfast & dinner overlooking river superb. Staff very friendly & helpful rooms large, clean & well maintained. Roof top pool with happy hour drinks an added bonus. River busses give easy access to all main tourist sites.

Room Tip: Try for river views if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Ruth W,

Thank you very for having taken the time to share your experience about Navalai River Resort at Tripadvisor. We were very delighted to read that you have enjoyed the service, customer relation and friendliness of all of our staff and I shall certainly congratulate them personally. It was also gratifying to read your other comments about the property.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to the pleasure of your next visit in Bangkok.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nice clean hotel with a friendly atmosphere and great view over the river. Breakfast was ok, dinner also ok but a bit pricy. Roof top pool and bar very good! Rooms are big and clean with a nice toilet. If you have a room with view over the river it' s very nice!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fofroridoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Fofroridoda,

Thank you so much for your nice comments for our hotel, we are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and your comments for our hotel will be informed around the world to many travelers to know more about our hotel.
Thank you & We are looking forward to welcome you on your next visit to Navalai River Resort.

Kindly Regards
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

You know, giving 5 stars really is something I'd do only with hotels that really slammed my expectations but Navalai came really close to it.

The hotel is well situated in Old Bangkok next to the river, means, you simply take a boat for 15 Bhat to the next BTS station. The palace and some temples and monnuments are in walking distance.

The rooms are very spacious, confortable and clean. As everywhere in Thailand in a decent hotel, you get one bottle of water free of charge. The bathroom was clean aswell but could have been a bit more spacious. Being in the corner room, the street noise was nearly down to zero and we had a great bunch of sleep.

The breakfast is international and provides some fresh fruits, muesli, ham & eggs and of course Thai soups and rice (try it, it will give ya power for the day). The staff is very friendly and caring, nothing to complain about. We did not try the Restaurant, there are many great street kitchens and Restaurants in walking distance.

But what really made me feel a bit closer to paradise was the amazing rooftop pool (of course with pool bar) with a great view over the river and Old Bangkok. Great to watch the sun going down!!

All in all, I'd really recommend this hotel to everyone, who is tired of the hassle of the day, having the wish to relax. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I think it would be better not to take a room with street-view. Take a corner or river-view-room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mturrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear mturrini,

It was a great pleasure to read your comments about your stay at Navalai River Resort on Tripadvisor, I shall share your good comments with all staff and We would like to thank you for chosen Navalai River Resort for your stay. We appreciated your well pointed out comments regarding our room as well as our friendliness staffs.
We look forward to the pleasure of your next visit in Bangkok at Navalai River Resort.

Best Regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times now, I have just returned from 3 weeks in Thailand an d stayed at the Navalai at the beginning and end of the trip. The location is excellent, only 2 min walk accross the road to bars, restaurants,food stalls and market stalls, all of this is mainly free of any traffic and takes you to the famous Koh San Road in approx 10 mins.

The hotel is right on the river, and the restaurant during dry season offers breakfast outside which is amazing with great views of the river. The terminal for the tourist boats is right next to the hotel. Breakfast is an average self service buffet.

The hotels rooms are excellent, however this time I had booked a city room, which I would not do again as the bars opposite have loud music and singing which goes on until 2.00am meaning that getting a good night sleep was impossible.

Most of the staff in the hotel provide good service, however there were a number of occasions where I went to reception to find the staff sat there with headphones in listening to music! and I found the lady who worked nights 8th and 9th March extremely rude and unhelpful. Whilst I was waiting for a taxi at approx 22.00 on 9th I watched as she went missing for 15 mins leaving the desk unmanned much to the frustration of other guests, and also the numerous people trying to ring the desk as the phone rang out. She did re appear after this time with her take away food for herself!!

All in all this is a great hotel and I will definately be returning again soon

Room Tip: Avoid front facing city view rooms due to noise, if you must stay in one of these request a high flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evertongary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Evertongary,

It was a great pleasure to read your comments about your stay at Navalai River Resort on Tripadvisor, I shall share your good comments with all staff and We would like to thank you for chosen Navalai River Resort for your stay. We appreciated your well pointed out comments regarding our room as well as our friendliness staffs. We are unhappy to know that you were not satisfied with our nightshift. I have informed the concerned departments about your comments and rest assured that this will not be taken lightly.
We look forward to the pleasure of your next visit in Bangkok.

Best Regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

First time to Bangkok and on a tour so they picked the hotel. Great position, friendly staff and close to some really cool lane ways. Also a long boat stop right out front. Would go back there again. Room was clean, bed was firm felt like it had recently been renovated. Great pool and rooftop bar.

Room Tip: Room 205 is over the void to reception so is a little noisy but not enough to complain about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Nicci D,

Thank you very for having taken the time to share your experience about Navalai River Resort at Tripadvisor. We were very delighted to read that you have enjoyed the service, customer relation and friendliness of all of our staff and I shall certainly congratulate them personally. It was also gratifying to read your other comments about the property.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to the pleasure of your next visit in Bangkok.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#30 of 893 in Bangkok
1,848 reviews
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#176 of 893 in Bangkok
1,380 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#143 of 893 in Bangkok
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#72 of 893 in Bangkok
1,151 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#148 of 893 in Bangkok
1,890 reviews
Banglamphu
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navalai River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navalai River Resort

Address: 45 / 1 - 2 Phra Athit Rd | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 1,415 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $64 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Navalai River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navalai offers a hip design, unlike any other city hotel. You can find this extraordinary experience of Oriental Chic Boutique and be inspired by historical and social context of hotel location. 74 unique and stylish rooms are decorated in four different themes: Artist; Thai-lifestyle; Colonial-influenced; and Rattanakosin heritage. This uniquely designed hotel is the ideal place for honeymooners and travelers who look for a unique life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Navalai River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navalai River Hotel Bangkok
Navalai River Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing