We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay at the Navalai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Navalai River Resort
Ranked #35 of 1,193 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good stay at the Navalai”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

As a first time visitor to Bangkok, I found the Navalai to be ideally placed, within easy walking distance of Soi Rambuttri which I much preferred to the Khao San road - also nearby, and being right on the river it was so easy to get to the Grand Palace, Wat Pho and Wat Arun. I had requested a quiet room, as I am getting on a bit in years and don't sleep well at the best of times, and was given a room on the top floor which was great, as it was very quiet !!!
The breakfasts I enjoyed, with quite a selection of dishes to choose from. I only ate there in the evening on my first night, as I found better and cheaper options in Soi Rambuttri for the rest of my stay.
I'm not sure how it compares to other places with regard to cost as I paid for all my accommodation in Thailand as part of a tour package before I left the UK, I imagine you could find much cheaper places, but I would certainly stay here again should I pay another visit to Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HammyStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear HammyStafford,

Thank you so much for your nice comments for our hotel, we are so delighted to know that you enjoyed staying with us.
And once again thank you & we are looking forward to welcome you on your next visit to Navalai River Resort .

Kindly Regards
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    850
    212
    40
    22
See reviews for
274
894
79
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located right near the Chao Praya river. It is very convenient to use river boat as public transport to explore Bangkok. You can easily reach Royal Palace, Wat Arun Temple and Wat Po Temple using public boat. Famous Kaosan Road is within10-minutes walking distance, so right near the corner you can find a lot of pubs, bars, restaurants, travel agencies, Thai massage salons, clubs, etc. But for those, who prefer to use metro or other public transport, better to choose another location, because metro line is rather far away from the venue.
Hotel is nice and clean. Rooms are spacious. Staff is friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a lot roof top swimming pool - it was fantastic.
Restaurant is good too. Impressive variety of food is proposed for everyday breakfast. In the evening it is great to have a dinner right on the river.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina_DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Irina_DM,

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and fine compliments on your review. We are delighted that you enjoy staying at Navalai River Resort and that the room suites you well. I shall share your comments with all staff who will be pleased to read them. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level Contributor
193 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Navalai after being recommended by a friend . Its a great location for visiting all the sites in Bangkok . We had a riverside room well worth the extra money , fantastic view from the balcony and a lot quieter than the street . Rooms are large and have a large bathroom , funny window in bathroom to bedroom , you can look at river as you shower or watch your loved one on loo !! Bit strange but hey your in Thailand . Room safe , bathrobes and toiletries , free daily water , tea ,coffee . Has a pool and bar on roof for a welcome cool down . Nice breakfast on deck overlooking river . Hotel right by pier 13 so you can get to grand palace and other sites . Short walk to kohsan road . All staff are good and very friendly , unlike some of the tut tut drivers who will tell you grand palace is closed and want to take you to other sites , then drop you off at Suit maker . Enjoy the hustle and madness of Bangkok watch the roads , prices , tut tut drivers . But the Navalai river resort is a great base in Bangkok get a riverside room grab some beers from 711 next to hotel no need to pay mini bar prices sit on your balcony and watch the river boats float by as you enjoy a cool one after a day site seeing you will need one !!! .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colchesteradrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear colchesteradrian,

It was a great pleasure to read your comments about your stay at Navalai River Resort on Tripadvisor, I shall share your good comments with all staff and We would like to thank you for chosen Navalai River Resort for your stay. We appreciated your well pointed out comments regarding our room as well as our friendliness staffs.
We look forward to the pleasure of your next visit in Bangkok.

Best Regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
275 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a double room facing the street. This made our stay a bit noisy. The hotel is clean, the rooms are quite spacious and the breakfast is great with many choices. In the evening, you can eat at the restaurant where the food is good and not over priced, but the service is slow. The best part about the hotel is the rooftop pool. There are sunbeds and it's surprisingly quiet up there. What's not so good is the location. The things that we wanted to see were quite far away and the hotel is not well connected to the transportation system. There's an express boat leaving directly from the hotel, so if you're going up or down the river, it's not a problem, but if you're going somewhere else (like Patpong night market, Jim Thompson's house, MBK etc), then transportation becomes much more difficult. The only sights easy to reach are the Grand Palace and Wat Arun. We liked the hotel, especially the pool and eating breakfast outside near the river, but if we return we would choose another hotel where transportation would be made easier.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arwems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Arwems,

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and fine compliments on your review. We are delighted that you enjoy staying at Navalai River Resort and that the room suites you well. Navalai is located in the old town part of Bangkok which is located near to well known Temples, The Grand Palace and Tourist Attractions but in the future our guest will be able to connect to an under ground Metro which is 10 minutes by Tuk Tuk. I shall share your comments with all staff who will be pleased to read them. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

In September 2011 when we arrived in Bangkok to start our 3 month journey through some of Asia, we decided to treat ourselves for a night. By Phra Arthit pier, we discovered the Navalai and asked to be shown the rooms. We liked it and booked for the following night. Already when we got there the day after, the room we got given was nothing to compare to the one we saw, furniture was aged, bed top had nails scratches! We got given another room, still not as nice as the one we got shown the day before, but I couldn't be bothered arguing, I just wanted to enjoy my time there with my boyfriend. We went up to the pool, had a lovly afternoon even though there was no bar service. We had diner by the river that night, food was nice, the sunset was amazing. Breakfast the following morning was just great too. The whole time we stayed at the Navalai our money was in the safe, and got packed as we left. I had it then on me at all times as we got the train to Surattani. Only getting to Koh Tao when I needed to get money off the belt did i realise some was missing. This being a serious accusation I can only tell you I thought about it all very carefully before emailing the hotel, convinced this is where the money has been stolen. They say it's not true, I know it is.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MLR881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear MLR881,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor your comments are all important for us to consider.

First of all, we would like to apologize that some experience you have been received during your stay with us does not meet your expectation. However we will improve on that.
Our Pool Bar is operated from 11:00 hrs to 20:00 hrs everyday but if a Royal Family passes the hotel by boat we have to close it in a curtain time as for the safety. Our in room safe is operated by the customers own code so it is impossible for a person to open the safe without a code, and if customers can't open it our staff will open it for them by manual together with the customers as they are not allowed to enter a guest room if they are not there as we can see from our Security cameras what is placed in every corner in our hotel if something happens.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was my fifth visit to Bangkok, and my fourth stay at Navalai. It is a reason that I come back. Situated riverside the Chao Phraya is good when you are in hot and humid Bangkok. To feel the breeze from the river helps you get through it.
The staff is wonderful, they have a really nice restaurant with goodand hot food. On the roof you have a nice pool where you can relax. And the hotel is situated only a ten minutes walk from Rambuttri Road and Khao San Road.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the street, at least in the weekends. A lot of noise from bars and traffic. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryPorsgrunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear HarryPorsgrunn,

Thank you very for having taken the time to share your experience about Navalai River Resort at Tripadvisor. We were very delighted to read that you have enjoyed the service, customer relation and friendliness of all of our staff and I shall certainly congratulate them personally. It was also gratifying to read your other comments about the property.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to the pleasure of your next visit in Bangkok.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Navalia about 5 times now, I have given fantastic review and a not so good review but we still came back. Firstly the location is fantastic and thus a big draw card for us. Secondly love sitting out on the deck in the mornings having breakfast looking over the river, this never gets boring.

We have stayed in City View Rooms and Serene corner - both have pluses - city view room, sitting on the balcony in the late afternoon with a cold beer watching life happen - this is so interesting, however if you are a light sleeper the City View Rooms can be a little noisy at night due to music from restaurants accross the road. Serene corner rooms are much quieter but you miss out on the view. Have not stayed in a River View room as haven't wanted to pay the extra in the past but think it might be worth it, quiet and a great view - we will do this next time.

The service is the thing that really lets the Navalai down. We don't require a lot from reception as we usually book all our own tours, and manage through, only need them for check in and check, sadly they don't even do this with a smile - a real shame as this hotel has so much going for it.

Also it is time for a bit of a makeover as things are looking a little tired the last time we stayed, that said we will still definitely stay there next time we are in Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenandCathieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear LenandCathieTasmania,

Thank for posting your feedback of Navalai River Resort on TripAdvisor and we appreciate your kind comments. We are happy to read that you enjoyed with the room. We are having a plan to makeup the rooms for this year but its quite difficult when we are having many customers coming to us all the time, so we are trying our best to find a date so we can start the makeup for the rooms.

Once again we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#19 of 858 in Bangkok
1,679 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#142 of 858 in Bangkok
1,507 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#67 of 858 in Bangkok
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#171 of 858 in Bangkok
1,182 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#409 of 858 in Bangkok
55 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navalai River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navalai River Resort

Property: Navalai River Resort
Address: 45 / 1 - 2 Phra Athit Rd | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,193 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Navalai River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navalai offers a hip design, unlike any other city hotel. You can find this extraordinary experience of Oriental Chic Boutique and be inspired by historical and social context of hotel location. 74 unique and stylish rooms are decorated in four different themes: Artist; Thai-lifestyle; Colonial-influenced; and Rattanakosin heritage. This uniquely designed hotel is the ideal place for honeymooners and travelers who look for a unique life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Navalai River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navalai River Hotel Bangkok
Navalai River Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing