We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as bad as other reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Navalai River Resort
Ranked #37 of 1,245 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
“not as bad as other reviews”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

we stayed for 4 nights here. the room was clean, staff friendly. yes, the bed was very hard and unforgiving, but we slept ok. other reviews have mentioned the noise on the non-river side and i did find this a bit too much. The noise went on til about 2am. if i had known about this beforehand i would have considered a river view. we didnt have much of a city view. mostly of a very run-down block of apartments above the bar/s. the material on the bedhead had seen better days. only one card-key so can't leave aircon on when sightseeing. in fact the notes in the provided folder say that the aircon should be turned off when out of the room, so that seemed a bit mean of them.....are they trying to cut costs?? a few pictures or a bit of carpet in the corridors wouldn't have been out of place either.....very echoey when walking or talking. made it feel very clinical. however, having said all this i WOULD stay there again, but this time on the river side of the hotel.

Room Tip: river side room better. city side noisy bars and traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear edward w,

It was a great pleasure to read your comments about your stay at Navalai River Resort on Tripadvisor, I shall share your good comments with all staff and We would like to thank you for chosen Navalai River Resort for your stay. We appreciated your well pointed out comments regarding our room as well as our friendliness staffs.
We look forward to the pleasure of your next visit in Bangkok.

Best Regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    865
    214
    44
    23
See reviews for
283
903
80
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here a couple of nights last summer in two connected rooms. Great location, ferry at the back of the hotel, good restaurants nearby and the all the sights are within walking distance. Excellent breakfast buffet and al freso dining and lunch opportunity at the terrace facing the river. The staff is professional and very friendly. A word of warning about the pool though. It's hard to pinpoint but i'm afraid the pool was responsible for my ear infection later that holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear FrankTheHague,

It was a great pleasure to read your comments about your stay at Navalai River Resort on Tripadvisor, I shall share your good comments with all staff and We would like to thank you for chosen Navalai River Resort for your stay. We appreciated your well pointed out comments regarding our room as well as our friendliness staffs.
We look forward to the pleasure of your next visit in Bangkok.

Best Regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Navalai River Resort is a really nice hotel located right on the river and a few blocks away from Khao San Road. The location is perfect, however the staff is far from that. In a country known for it's great treatment towards foreigners, Navalai River Resort is the exception to the rule. Checking in is similar to going to the Dentist office, with staff rarely if ever smiling. The woman who runs the tour desk at the hotel was one of the rudest people I met during my travels. However the staff at the restaurant was pleasant and accommodating. It is unfortunate that the staff ruins the hotel, but that is the case with Navalai River Resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grego2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Grego2,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor your comments are all important for us to consider.

First of all, we would like to apologize that some experience you have been received during your stay in March 2012 with us does not meet your expectation. However we will improve on that as the staff on that time is no longer with us since March 2012, as you can see most of our nice comments what we have received until now.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We will appreciate to have another opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We arrived at this resort at 10:30pm after a short flight from Singapore so we were pretty refreshed and relaxed and then this place hit us right in the face with no greeting at all so we check in we were given one room key which meant we couldn't have the aircon on when we where out an about, so the room was a sauna when we got there and the king bed harder than concrete the mould in the shower wasn't to flash ether from then on my checklist was complete get the hell out of there my partner and I grabbed our bags and went don't to check out lets just say if we didn't book with agoda they wouldn't have given us a money well they didn't want to anyways, agoda did with a one night cancellation fee, the reception would help us at all didn't want to look at us and it's not like we were rude to them ether we were polite but yet they didn't give us the time of day at the start why would they now so we left and headed down the road walking distance to the Riva Surya a 1 month old hotel that was amazing in everyway the best bed I've slept in, really nice decor, awsome staff and a great pool to boot. The navali river resort was a shocker and I wouldn't recommend the place even if on a budget a hostel would be more acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jneave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here on our first night in Thailand. After a 12 hour flight it was the perfect place to stay with a nice room and a roof top swimming pool. We didn't have breakfast included but i'm sure as you know they can always be a little bit dodgy. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: all rooms have balcony so it doesn't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anaputtachai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Oatesfamily999,

Thank you so much for your nice comments for our hotel, we are so delighted to know that you enjoyed staying with us.
And once again thank you & we are looking forward to welcome you on your next visit to Navalai River Resort .

Kindly Regards
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Navalai River Resort for three nights, October, 2012. We paid extra to have a river front room and thus could enjoy the river activity from the balcony off the room (If you stay in a room on the front of the building, you will get the noise from the bar that is across the street).
The included breakfast has a huge variety of offerings (fresh fruit, hot entrees, cereals, breads, salads, etc.) which are attractively presented. The room was very clean and comfortable and the room temperature could be individually controlled. Hotel personnel were helpful and very polite (and could speak English). We also had dinner at the hotel for three nights and enjoyed the food which we felt was reasonably priced. he river taxi has a stop right by the hotel which is very convenient for accessing the major tourist spots. We also used Spice Roads bicycle tours on two days in order to get out of the city and into the countryside (I don't really care for large cities). The bike tours were well done and greatly enjoyed.

Room Tip: Bite the bullet and get a room that faces the river -- they are quieter and have more interesting vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outdoorperson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear outdoorperson2013,

Thank you very for having taken the time to share your experience about Navalai River Resort at Tripadvisor. We were very delighted to read that you have enjoyed the service, customer relation and friendliness of all of our staff and I shall certainly congratulate them personally. It was also gratifying to read your other comments about the property.

Thank you for your nice comments and we look forward to the pleasure of your next visit in Bangkok at Navalai River Resort.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Clean room, nice breakfast with alot of choices, friendly staff, very quiet to sleep in a big city! Try the footmassage in front of the hotel! Aquatini in the hotel is nice and cosy at the evening. Try the mango smoothie, very delicious!

Helpful?
1 Thank Hazwanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Hazwanie W,

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and fine compliments on your review. We are delighted that you enjoy staying at Navalai River Resort and that the room suites you well. I shall share your comments with all staff who will be pleased to read them. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#18 of 867 in Bangkok
1,711 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#139 of 867 in Bangkok
1,543 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#67 of 867 in Bangkok
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#175 of 867 in Bangkok
1,218 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#147 of 867 in Bangkok
1,824 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Riverside Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navalai River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navalai River Resort

Property: Navalai River Resort
Address: 45 / 1 - 2 Phra Athit Rd | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,245 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Navalai River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navalai offers a hip design, unlike any other city hotel. You can find this extraordinary experience of Oriental Chic Boutique and be inspired by historical and social context of hotel location. 74 unique and stylish rooms are decorated in four different themes: Artist; Thai-lifestyle; Colonial-influenced; and Rattanakosin heritage. This uniquely designed hotel is the ideal place for honeymooners and travelers who look for a unique life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Navalai River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navalai River Hotel Bangkok
Navalai River Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing