We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Navalai River Resort
Ranked #38 of 1,346 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located on the river, making it possible to use the river "bus" to quickly reach various locations across Bangkok, bypassing the city traffic jams. We booked it specifically for this reason, so that it was possible to easily visit the Royal Palace and Emerald Buddha temple. Upon check in, we were upgraded to "Scenic City View" room - picture is attached to the review. In our opinion, this view can hardly be described as scenic. :) Generally the area around the hotel wasn't impressive.

The room was ok and clean, double bed was comfortable, the only complaint is that the hot water wasn't stable and shower abruptly varied between hot and cold. Wi-Fi Internet worked strangely, a few times our password stopped working and we had to ask for another one. Breakfast was average, while at night the restaurant was enjoyable. The pool on the top floor appeared to be quite small.

Overall, the hotel is ok for a short stay, but I wouldn't stay there for more than a couple of days.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CYVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Dear VladCY,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor your comments are all important for us to consider.

First of all, we would like to apologize that some experience you have been received during your stay with us does not meet your expectation. However we will improve on that.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We will still appreciate to have another opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 1,706 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed for three nights. The location was perfect! Middle in the area 'where it happens' Also Ko San road, but also other nice small streets with shops, restaurants, bars. A lot of young people around in this area. The hotel has a nice swimming pool on the roof, a quiet place middle in the hectic town of Bangkok. Breakfast is served directly on the water, nice view although you can smell the river. Good breakfast, lots of choise. The beds are a little bit hard. The bathroom is good, shower is nice. The AC works perfect, cleaning is good. A good hotel to stay and discover Bangkok. The boat service is directly next to the hotel, perfect way of traveling in Bangkok. A great tip to all of you: GO CYCKING in Bangkok! Take a bicycle tour!

Room Tip: There is an karaoke bar at the front of the hotel, so ether book a room with river view or a serene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Rob v,

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and fine compliments on your review. We are delighted that you enjoy staying at Navalai River Resort and that the room suites you well. I shall share your comments with all staff who will be pleased to read them. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Navalai River Resort is a lovely hotel located in the Banglampoo neighborhood and so convenient with a boat stop right in front. The river boats are easy and cheap. A couple stops up the river and you can walk to the Golden Palace and Wat Pho. The roof top pool and bar was very nice, beautiful place to cool down in that heat. The staff was friendly, helpful with tours and cabs. And right across the street was a heavenly (and air conditioned!) cafe - Coffee and More where they make delicious iced coffee drinks. Room was nice with a deck and a view of the river.

Room Tip: It's definitely worth paying a little more for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girltracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Dear girltracey,

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and fine compliments on your review. We are delighted that you enjoy staying at Navalai River Resort and that the room suites you well. I shall share your comments with all staff who will be pleased to read them. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

What a great location. Just a 2 minute walk from khao san road, & backing onto the river, the hotel itself was beautiful, modern & spacious. The hotel staff were fantastic, & very helpful with all requests. The roof top pool was beautiful! Great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bek7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2012

Dear bek7,

Thank for posting your feedback of Navalai River Resort on TripAdvisor and we appreciate your kind comments. We are happy to read that you enjoyed with the room.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Bangkok was my last stop in SE Asia, and after sweating it out in no-AC beach bungalows in the hot season, I was ready for a little splurge. The hotel I'd picked out (New Siam Riverside) was pleasant and clean, but not quite the splurge I was looking for, so I walked a few blocks up the street and ended up at Navalai. Boy, am I glad I did! This place was beyond my expectations.

I stayed in 2 different rooms -- the "junior suite river view" and a "serene corner room." Both were very pleasant and comfortable, spotless, and quite tastefully decorated. The beds were comfy, the bathrooms were lovely, the staff was very nice, the rooftop pool was fabulous, and even the corner room had a nice little balcony. The junior suite was pretty special -- a big balcony overlooking the Chao Praya river. You can sit in the big, comfy bed and watch the boats and listen to the sounds of a river at work. This is especially nice because Bangkok can wear you out, but you don't want to miss anything.

The Phra Athit pier is right next door, so you can get to much of the city by just stepping onto a boat practically from the restaurant. The restaurant has mostly outdoor riverside seating, and breakfast is a reasonably substantial buffet. And if you want to explore the Khao San Rd. area, it's not too long a walk. Great for me as I'm a little old for the backpacker set, but young enough that I had to check out KSR.

I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Junior suite is nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2012

Dear Katlanta,

Thank you very for having taken the time to share your experience about Navalai River Resort at Tripadvisor. We were very delighted to read that you have enjoyed the service, customer relation and friendliness of all of our staff and I shall certainly congratulate them personally. It was also gratifying to read your other comments about the property.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to the pleasure of your next visit in Bangkok.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel is very nice and has a good location if you want to visit Grand Palace and Khaosan road and be in a more quiet area.
The rooms are ok and clean, staff is friendly and help-full and food is good. I have no complaints about this hotel.
Recommend booking a river view room as it is great to sit and wake up to the river view and same in the evening before turning in.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RexDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear RexDK,

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and fine compliments on your review. We are delighted that you enjoy staying at Navalai River Resort and that the room suites you well. I shall share your comments with all staff who will be pleased to read them. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

What a great place to stay. We have been to Thailand many times over last 7 years and we always stay to New Siam Riverside but because of construction happening next door to them we decided to try Navalai, much better rooms more cosy, especially the corner room and had a big bathroom. Pillows and bed very comfortable. Will definitely stay there again. Having the pool on the roof was great and a bar located there as well.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gypsys40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Dear Gypsys40,

Thank you so much for your nice comments for our hotel, we are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and your comments for our hotel will be informed around the world to many travelers to know more about our hotel.
Thank you & We are looking forward to welcome you on your next visit to Navalai River Resort.

Kindly Regards
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#19 of 890 in Bangkok
1,788 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#141 of 890 in Bangkok
1,655 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#68 of 890 in Bangkok
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#169 of 890 in Bangkok
1,313 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#374 of 890 in Bangkok
64 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 890 in Bangkok
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navalai River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navalai River Resort

Address: 45 / 1 - 2 Phra Athit Rd | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 1,346 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $72 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Navalai River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navalai offers a hip design, unlike any other city hotel. You can find this extraordinary experience of Oriental Chic Boutique and be inspired by historical and social context of hotel location. 74 unique and stylish rooms are decorated in four different themes: Artist; Thai-lifestyle; Colonial-influenced; and Rattanakosin heritage. This uniquely designed hotel is the ideal place for honeymooners and travelers who look for a unique life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Navalai River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navalai River Hotel Bangkok
Navalai River Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing