We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Songkran Crash Pad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Navalai River Resort
Ranked #39 of 1,346 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Just spent 2 nights at Navalai. Yes, we arrived just in time for a soaking. Songkran was in full swing! Was hesitant because our room faced the street on 5th floor. My 2 boys and I (15 & 10) armed ourselves with water guns, made the most of Songkran spending the two evenings out and about getting wet and came back to our very clean, air conditioned, comfy rooms to bath and dry off. The room was great, we actually slept really well. I would suggest choose a room on the riverside if available (Lots of night club noise on our side). We weren't bothered though. We enjoyed the party! Restaurant and buffet breakfast were fab! Navalai is well located.

Room Tip: Choose a riverside room. Quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Dear Karen G,

Thank for posting your feedback of Navalai River Resort on TripAdvisor and we appreciate your kind comments. We are happy to read that you enjoyed with the room.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 688 of 1,706 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

Discovered Navalai last September.... last minute on Trip Advisor (of course!)... had a lovely stay then and on a recent visit to Bangkok decided to give it another go ... oh how glad we are that we did! The rooms are basic, but very, very comfortable (loving those firm beds) but the highlight, without a doubt is the restaurant that sits right on the river. The Ferry stops here (No. 13).. literally on the doorstop..step off the ferry, into the restaurant for an ice cold beer. The quality of the food that is served in this restaurant is superb. They have a hugh menu (this usually makes me cringe!) however we dined here (6 people) on several ocassions, and without exception, were delighted with the quality of the food.. great service ... and Oh so cheap!! Will be back soon!

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room on the side of the hotel that facesthe main street .. side and river view are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yogaflowjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Dear yogaflowjo,

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and fine compliments on your review. We are delighted that you enjoy staying at Navalai River Resort and that the room suites you well. I shall share your comments with all staff who will be pleased to read them. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon on your 3rd visit.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

So we chose the Navalai due to it's location and good trip advisor reviews. Overall, It turned out to be a good choice. There were a couple of negatives which prevented me giving a 5 rating; the room was extremely cramped with the extra single bed, making it a bit of a pain for a family, and the main double bed mattress was extremely hard, very uncomfortable. Apart from that, It was a good experience. The location on the river and also being so close to the shops, bars, restaurants in khaosan road was a huge plus for us. The rooftop pool & bar was a godsend after a hot day touring around Bangkok. The breakfast was also very good. The room (306) was pretty quiet and the aircon worked very well. A metered taxi to the airport worked out at about 300 Bhat including tolls, so that seemed pretty reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear Pete B,

Thank you so much for your nice comments for our hotel, we are so delighted to know that you enjoyed staying with us.
And once again thank you & we are looking forward to welcome you on your next visit to Navalai River Resort .

Kindly Regards
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is by no means a bad hotel however you do run the risk of getting a bad room. I want everyone to be aware that the hotel is situated near to night clubs and live music bars playing LOUD music till 2am most nights. The rooms on one side of the building face out onto the street and the music comes through. If you have just landed after a 12 hour flight and want a good night sleep this may not be the hotel for you.
However I have to say that when we asked to move to the other side of the hotel we had a completely different experience. The noise was still there but much quieter and easy to sleep.
If you manage to get a good room you will find this hotel to be excellent. It is in a fantastic location, near to the grand palace, Wat Pho and the Chao Phraya river. There is a river boat stop next to the hotel for trips down the river. The rooftop swimming pool is great and the view over the river is stunning. The hotel itself is fine. Well maintained, clean and tidy. The restaurant is in a good location, right next to the river, however there is better food at a cheaper price available in the restaurants nearby.
When you arrive at the hotel please ask for a room away from the street on the right hand side of the building when you face the reception desk. On the same side of the building as the fishpond.
If you are the sort of person who will be out till 2am anyway then you will have no problem with this hotel, unfortunately I am not which is why I really want to love this hotel.............but can't.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear James B,

Thank for posting your feedback of Navalai River Resort on TripAdvisor and we appreciate your kind comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Great service, clean, big rooms and lovely roof top pool with views of the river. It's only a 10 min walk to Khao San Road, there are lots of good restaurants (like the Hemmock) and bars around. It's by the river, so you can get a boat straight to the grand palace, Wat Pho etc..

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marifeijoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Dear marifeijoo,

Thank you so much for your nice comments for our hotel, we are so delighted to know that you enjoyed staying with us.
And once again thank you & we are looking forward to welcome you on your next visit to Navalai River Resort .

Kindly Regards
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I went back after two years, the hotel had remained the same - large rooms, clean and nicely decorated, comfortable bed, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (including rooms), small and refreshing pool on the roof of the hotel.
And best of all? Wonderful location, two minutes walk from the Kaosan and jast near the river dock.
Staff friendly and helpful.
A typical breakfast but just sitting by the river makes all the difference.
Highly recommended ...

Room Tip: Recently opened on the street several pubs playing their music until late, if the noise bothers you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yifta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Dear Yifta,

Thank you so much for your nice comments for our hotel, we are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and your comments for our hotel will be informed around the world to many travelers to know more about our hotel.
Thank you & We are looking forward to welcome you on your next visit to Navalai River Resort.

Kindly Regards
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

The Navalai is a 4 star hotel that broadly satisifies the star rating. But it performs with good, bad and ugly aspects that anyone contemplating this hotel should be aware of before booking.

First the good…. For those who enjoy seeing Bangkok by boat, the hotel is ideally located with a water bus station at its door step. It’s location to many of the main attractions of “old” Bangkok is also good with most being accessible by foot providing you can handle the heat while you walk and the constant barrage of Tuk Tuk drivers who want your custom.

The rooms are comfortable enough with good facilities. Those who like a more “European” style firm bed, as I do, will be comfortable. The hotel was also clean, a fact that stood in contrast to its surroundings.

The hotel also provides a good breakfast selection from western style through to Thai. The quality is not excellent but it is quite acceptable within the price you pay as part of a room and breakfast deal.

The Navalai also has a nice little pool on the roof, pleasant seating around the pool and a cocktail bar.

Second, the bad and the ugly…. The hotel staff are likely to assure you that the hotel is quite and comfortable. For the most part it is comfortable, but quite it is not. A number of guests we chatted with said their air-conditioning units were noisy and needed to be turned well down or off at night – a problem at the height of their summer. Of course this is not a problem for those who are less easily disturbed. But there are a group of rooms through which the compressor noise from the pool rings load – usually at night when you want to sleep. This noise is conducted through supporting walls and therefore is not mitigated by taking a room on a lower floor. The supporting walls to the pools house need to be avoided. We were very specific when booking that we wished to avoid noise from the pool and were assured at reception that the request had been accommodated. What we discovered was quite the opposite… but the staff did switch the pool compressor whenever we asked – usually after being woken by the noise at 2am in the morning!

Service was not consistent. It was highly dependent on who was providing the service. Sometimes it was fast sometimes slow and sometimes it was refused. For example, when we asked if the baggage cart would be sent to the room so we could move our luggage for check out (6 bags) the answer was a simple “no” – a request all other hotels we have stayed in would happily meet.

But in fairness to the hotel, most of the riverside hotels within the vicinity of the Navalai are aging and, from what we were told, were of a similar mixed standard in service and quality. Unfortunately along the river in the older quarters it probably more a case of trial and error for the tourist.

Room Tip: Absolutely avoid any rooms that conduct noise from the pool equipment! Rooms with a river view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zalton101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Dear Zalton101,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor your comments are all important for us to consider.

First of all, we would like to apologize that some experience you have been received during your stay with us does not meet your expectation. However we will improve on that.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We will appreciate to have another opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#18 of 891 in Bangkok
1,788 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#142 of 891 in Bangkok
1,655 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#67 of 891 in Bangkok
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#171 of 891 in Bangkok
1,313 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
Villa Cha-Cha Phraathit
#379 of 891 in Bangkok
64 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#57 of 891 in Bangkok
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navalai River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navalai River Resort

Address: 45 / 1 - 2 Phra Athit Rd | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 1,346 Specialty Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: $72 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Navalai River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navalai offers a hip design, unlike any other city hotel. You can find this extraordinary experience of Oriental Chic Boutique and be inspired by historical and social context of hotel location. 74 unique and stylish rooms are decorated in four different themes: Artist; Thai-lifestyle; Colonial-influenced; and Rattanakosin heritage. This uniquely designed hotel is the ideal place for honeymooners and travelers who look for a unique life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Navalai River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navalai River Hotel Bangkok
Navalai River Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing