We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,958)
Filter reviews
1,958 results
Traveler rating
624
994
251
55
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
624
994
251
55
34
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
881 - 886 of 1,958 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Our experience at this hotel was just kind of β€œmeh.” We had numerous issues that were minor when taken on their own but added up to a sub-par experience overall (especially given the price we paid).

After arriving to our β€œriver view” room we were underwhelmed by the lack of view of the river, so we upgraded to the suite, which has a pleasant view off the front of the building. However, for that price (3900 baht per night) one expects certain things like working Internet, a comfortable bed, a complete breakfast, an adequate shower, and not being nickel-and-dimed (as we Americans put it) for small charges here and there.
But, the bed was hard and the pillows clunky, the shower had inconsistent pressure and temperature, and the breakfast was average bordering on icky. On top of that, we were charged extra for a cappucino because the espresso bar was not included in the breakfast. Does 3900 baht per night really not grant me full access to standard services?

And then the Internet was just annoying. It didn’t work at all the first night. After that, it worked most of the time but would kick us off after a few minutes of idle use and make us reenter a code, which was provided on a tiny and easily lost piece of paper. Plus, we had to get a new code for each 24-hour period. When we asked for a new code, the front desk would ask us to come down to get it (rather than dropping it off or just giving it to us over the phone). Why not just have one code for the entire stay? Bad system.

The location was good if you wanted to experience the surrounding area - which is a good for at least a night of fun – but if the main goal is to be on on the river it seems that the hotels further downstream are more central and convenient. If we had to do it again, we’d either go super budget or pay the same rate at a more established hotel in that area.

Room tip: River view room can't really see the river, suite is pricey.
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beetlebath
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Dear beetlebaht,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor your comments are all important for us to consider.

First of all, we would like to apologize that some experience you have been received during your stay with us does not meet your expectation. However we will improve on that.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We will appreciate to have another opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in the Navali river hotel few years in a row. The hotel is very close to Kaho San Roa, yet not in the middle of the chaos, which made it a very good place for us to stay.
The hotel did not manage to keep up with its standard as it was in past years.
1. There is a big noise coming from the bars in the streets. the further the rooms are from the river, the higher the noise it.
2. The aircondition engines are in the balcony of each room. the noise and viberations out of these enginees is such that even wtih earplugs we could not sleep
3. They used to have a deal wtih the massage SPA, so that hotel's visitors got a discount. This does not exist any more
4. When you want an ummberlla (due to the Monson rains) there is a procedure to sign in a notebook when you take the unbrella and then you need to sign again when you return it.
5. When you want to leave a bag for few days, you are charged per bag per day.
6. The hotel staff are not pleasant, their hospitality is not welcoming.
7. A bit earlier in August, friends of ours (a family wtih 2 kids) stayed their - following our recommendation - and they were disapointed from the bad servicem just like we felt two weeks afterwards.

all in all, in our view, Navalai River is not an hotel to return to. They lost thier charm and good service.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iritv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Dear iritv,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor, your comments are all important for us to consider.

First of all, we would like to apologize that some experience you have been received during your last stay with us didn't meet your expectation. However we will improve on that.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Small hotel in ancient area, beautiful restaurant next to river, hotel staffs are quite polite, friendly and helpful. The room is quite ok with old Bangkok atmosphere.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Dear Jiran K,

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and fine compliments on your review. We are delighted that you enjoy staying at Navalai River Resort and that the room suites you well. I shall share your comments with all staff who will be pleased to read them. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed here twice in 3 weeks, the rooms on the 4th floor are significantly nicer than the 3rd floor. Bathroom was ok but not great and the shower temperature was luke warm with weak pressure.
Staff are very friendly and willing to help. Hotel is in a great location on the river front but also a 5min walk to Kao San Road. Would advise asking for a side room the front of the hotel in on a busy road and opposite bars.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Dear Chaz7,

First of all we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and fine compliments on your review. We are delighted that you enjoy staying at Navalai River Resort. I shall share your comments with all the staffs who will be pleased to read them. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The hotel and staff are nice but ... we booked the "Serene Corner With Breakfast" which sounded lovely as, just coming from the noise and bustle of Vietnam, we were looking for something very serene! The room was almost at the front by a main road and opposite a bar that was packed out every night and played quite loud music until late, so that's the 'serene' and 'corner' myths debunked. Also, the Buddhist centre is opposite the room too, and there's a sign saying that you can get into trouble if you're seen in your undies etc. so no sitting on the balcony in underwear or bikinis. The room was clean with good shower etc and the hotel's 2 minutes walk from the backpacker area so lots to do, I do think you could find cheaper in this area though as there are lots of options.

Room tip: If looking for a serene corner check with the staff exactly what room you're going to get!
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matteo247
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jimmy R, Manager at Navalai River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Dear MattAndSamEngland,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor, your comments are all important for us to consider.

First of all, we would like to apologize that some experience about the room you have been received during your stay with us does not meet your expectation. However we will improve on that.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We will appreciate to have another opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Best regards,
Jimmy R.
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews