We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cozy Choice in a Busy Town”
Review of The Inn Saladaeng

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn Saladaeng
Ranked #324 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Inn Saladaeng is a good choice for singles and couples looking for a budget accommodation in the Silom/Saladaeng area of Bangkok. The hotel is a short walk away from the BTS Saladaeng station and the subway entrance in Silom. The rooms are very tiny, with just enough space to move around your bed; yet the bed is spacious and comfortable and the room is extremely clean with a wooden floor. The surrounding area feels quite cozy given the tumultuous street life just a few minutes away. You are provided with two bottles of water (for a one person room), an air-conditioned room, a safe deposit box, television, a few amenities, and daily change of bedsheets and towels if desired.

There is a very good coffee machine dispensing coffees, cappuccinos, and lattes all day long. A spartan breakfast is served in the morning with drinks, some sweets, toasts, and tea/coffee, which was more than enough for me. The staff is knowledgeable, helpful, and very willing to assist you with any questions.

All in all, a very good budget choice. I don't recommend the hotel for families; a bigger room/hotel would be a better choice. The hotel is quite safe and and the staff is firmly committed to prevent anybody from using this facility as a "love motel."

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 249 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it was an OK hotel. The location is the main reason we chose this hotel beside the price. We agreed that almost all of positive reviews about this hotel were true. Off course, there were some minor glitches, but probably those were just our personal experience/preference.

Positives:
• Location is excellent. It’s on the Saladaeng Road and within a walking distance to BTS Saladaeng and MRT Silom. It is also close to entertainment area like Patpong night market and Suan Lum Night Bazaar. Around the hotel there were many local resto/cafes and convenience store. The area is quiet eventhough it is close to the main road of Silom.

• Room was very clean, a bit cramped with rather low ceiling, but still OK for us Asian guys. The bed was queen-sized, comfortable, the sheet was clean. It has small TV on the desk, cupboard, small fridge, and safe deposit box.

• Bathroom was very clean, with hot/cold shower and sink. The hotel provided soap and shampoo.

• It has laundry services and it was cheap!

• Most of the staff were friendly and helpful.

Negatives:
• Breakfast was very limited, although it was expected. But don’t worry, there are indeed a lot of eateries outside.

• In the morning before we checked out, one of the lady staff really annoyed us by keep mentioning that we must check out before 1PM. We understood that the hotel were busy, but we are adults and and not need to be told several times for thing that we were really aware of.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andy_zu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Having stayed here in December 2009, I decided to stay at this hotel once again for my two night stopover in Bangkok.

In addition to the A+ location (within 3-5 minutes of Si Lom MRT and Sala Daeng BTS), the hotel has maintained its cleanliness and tidiness. I was in a room on the third floor this time (away from Sol Saladaeng). This room was a lot quieter as I didn't hear any horns from passing traffic. The clean standard for the hotel has been maintained.

The service was also excellent. On the first day, the lift door suddenly closed and hit my hand, causing me to drop my room key, which fell down the gap in the lift and into the eternal darkness. There was no issue with this. The housekeeper let me into my room and a replacement power card (to power the lights/air con) was immediately arranged. The lift technician also came the next day to retrieve the key.

A self serve light breakfast of bread (and toaster), bananas, tea/coffee and some pre made sandwiches remains available.

About 350 THB to and from airport (including 70 THB for tolls and airport fees).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank franktastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Just checked out from Inn Saladaeng and wanted to share my experiences of this hotel.  I chose the hotel for three main reasons being price, location and the mention of free wifi.  For the price the hotel, in my opinion, was fair value for money at just under £100 for three nights in a deluxe room.  

The room whilst clean and comfortable to some extent would not resemble deluxe under any ones interpretation of the word, whilst most amenities were available there was not a deluxe feel to the decor, furnishings etc

Other reviews have mentioned that the staff were not pleasant - personally I did not find them unpleasant at all - they just weren't overly pleasant.  Essentially if you said hello to them and asked a question you got a response.

Free breakfasts advertised but having researched trip advisor my hopes on this score were not high and I had already planned that breakfast would be taken elsewhere - looking at the breakfast offering I would go elsewhere.

The wifi is free but either has a maximum number of users or poor strength at certain times as on occasion the connection was either not possible or incredibly slow.

Location is fine with shops, bars etc within easy walk and a sky train stop at the end of the road - the air conditioned, immaculate and frequent trains on the sky train network made this a good choice for commuting about Bangkok although it's worth noting that many attractions etc are not near sky train stops.

Would I return to Inn Saladaeng?  If the price was right I may but my first attempt would be to get the right price at a hotel with on site bar, restaurant and pool first...

Stayed: April 2012
Thank tim-bpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I really can't believe the last 3 reviewers stayed at the same hotel... I travel in Asia 3 times a year and usually stay with Marriott as I am a gold card holder so get lots of free benefits, however I booked a last minute stay here a few years ago and now wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bangkok! It's not a five star chain and the reasonable price reflect that but it is always immaculately clean and the staff are always friendly. Location is also perfect minutes walk to Silom and Saladaeng BTS which is 2 stops to Siam Square. I for one would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The hotel was really little and unconfortable...the room little and not so clean, there was no view at all. The website does not correspond to reality.
The only positive thing was the position, in the city center, near The Siam center and easy to take the metropolitane.
The staff was friendly but no other things positive.I was really sorry for this.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jale81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I work in hotels myself and personally the service staff give means everything. The two women who work during the day were barely any help when it came to advice about the city. When I asked a question they did not know the answer too I got a rude "I dunno" in response. It may be that they are not fond of westerners, but it really shouldn't matter.
On the bright side, they do offer coffee and tea all day with light sugary snacks, and a very basic breakfast of toast, margarine and orange marmalade, bananas and some sort of sandwich. Also, the woman working the night shift was an absolute delight- very helpful and sweet. The Inn Saladaeng's management should really have her work during the day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sambie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
D Varee Diva Bally Silom, Bangkok
Silom
Oriental Heritage Residence
Oriental Heritage Residence
#290 of 889 in Bangkok
26 reviews
Silom
La Residence Bangkok
La Residence Bangkok
#402 of 889 in Bangkok
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Le Siam Hotel
Le Siam Hotel
#269 of 889 in Bangkok
412 reviews
Silom
Mirth Sathorn Hotel
Mirth Sathorn Hotel
#474 of 889 in Bangkok
78 reviews
Silom
Silom City Hotel
Silom City Hotel
#109 of 889 in Bangkok
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Saladaeng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Saladaeng

Address: 5/12 Saladaeng Rd. | Silom, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: $40 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn Saladaeng 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently opened hotel on a quiet tree-lined street, yet in the heart of Bangkok; just a minute from skytrain (BTS) or subway (MRT). Saladaeng is a small street running between Silom and Sathon areas, the center for shopping and night life of Bangkok. All bedrooms and suites are modern and stylish with a relaxed and contemporary environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn Saladaeng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Saladaeng Hotel Bangkok
Saladaeng Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing