We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ol'roast”
Review of The Black Swan

The Black Swan
Ranked #1,470 of 10,929 Restaurants in Bangkok
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sukhumvit
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good ol'roast”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend went to have a nice traditional english roast and that's exactly what we got. Good portion and the ingredients are what would you expect for a english roast, i.e. not an asian version of a roast.

Good taste of home!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    70
    39
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As pub restaurants go, it's pretty good . . .”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

It's been a while since I visited the Black Swan, but its name came up recently when someone else rated it highly, at least for drinks.

I can certainly say the food is good and the servings more than adequate, as evidenced by their fishcakes, for example, which are more akin in size to a fruitcake. I don't tend to order Thai food in a British, or an Irish, pub. The drinks choice is ok, and the staff, when I have been there, have been friendly enough. And after 18 years, I've seen, heard and experienced every Thai variation on the service theme.

The pub is on the small side, but then again, it's cosy. And, yes, the spiral staircase might be innovative but it was seemingly designed with a lighthouse keeper's needs in mind. I take it that Celab99's reference to the first floor, means, in fact, the ground floor. Most, if not all, pubs in Thailand that offer upstairs seating tend to forget they have customers sitting there. But they do offer more space.

Scrumpy cider? I would be very surprised if they are serving genuine scrumpy, as opposed to bog-standard cider. But am always prepared to be proved wrong.

But all-in-all, it isn't bad as British - or English - pubs, in Bangkok, go.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

From the entrance, the none smiling attitude, the mediocre food; ordered a roasted lamp, the gravy was tasteless, the lamp was tasteless, only the roasted potato was somehow ok. The service was inexistant, you felt like bothering the staff when calling them. A terrible experience. I heard a lot of this place and went there with some colleagues, bad call, there lots of better places around the corner. It is quite disappointing for a place in Bangkok.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamAtlantis_Bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“If your on the first floor its great”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Quality of pub grub is pretty good, although I have not sampled the entire menu, The ales are served properly and the staff are friendly without being overbearing.

The place is great to visit if you get seating on the first floor. Service suffers a fair bit if you sit upstairs as it is difficult for the staff to go back and forth to the ground floor to get orders and provide service. Be prepared to wait to place your orders and drink refills when sitting up top.. when a waitress does make it up there, be sure to place a refill order even if you are not empty yet.. as you may end up with a dry time waiting for the next waitress visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celab99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great service & food”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great menu, the staff are attentive and the food is good. There is a lot of traditional British food as it's an English pub.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank itchyfins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Swan also viewed

 

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing