We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible”

Zen Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #1,020 of 10,706 Restaurants in Bangkok
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Siam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We have lived in Thailand for 2 years and visited Zen a few times hoping it would be better each time. Every time we are disappointed. The sushi maki rolls just seem to be "slopped" together and overall the taste and quality is really not worth the price. If you happen to be in BKK then stick to Isao (fabulous) and in Pattaya your choice is Fuji. zen is terrible!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    55
    18
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I would never have expected to eat lunch in a shopping mall in Bangkok (The Siam Center), but Zen Japanese Restaurant proved me wrong. I had a lunch bento box with fresh sushi, sashimi, and Tempura that was outstanding. Service was excellent and the quality of the sushi was excellent. I also ordered a special soft shell crab roll covered with Eel, that was excellent. All the fish was fresh and I received both soup and salad with the meal. And the cost was less than 400 THB for the entire meal... Great find and great sushi...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pftambur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good lunch special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

On a hot Bangkok day like most we sought refuge at the renovated Siam Center and decided to try a new place we ordered a big sushi sashimi special it cost around 400 bath but it was big enough for two. It was fresh and tasty not the best but good value for money and the quality was above average. Recommended if you are around for lunch time. For around 13usd you get sashimi 3 or 4 kinds, niguiri, sushi rolls a very small kimchi salad and a miso with mushrooms and tofu soup and also some fried fish really not bad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gonzalo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Wow - this was a stunning meal of sashimi, sushi and tempura. It was light, fresh, tasty and in a perfect and relaxed atmosphere. I will definitively go back again. The service was very good and cordial.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markjmoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Zen Japanese food menu is varied, fresh and unique.
Try their sashimi and cod fish dishes.
Prices are not exorbitant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jwee92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Zen Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing