We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Khaosan”
Review of Rikka Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rikka Inn
Ranked #365 of 881 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Good location, on Khao San road. Below the hotel is 7-eleven. Better rooms have a more space. The staff is friendly. Pool on the roof was amazingly clean and well maintained. good A/C. Would deffinatly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no view of the Bangla road, due to noise :) so ask for a quiet room when you boo...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uros13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RikkaInn4you, General Manager at Rikka Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stayed with us.

We are truly delighted to know that you satisfied with our accommodation, location, and service standard.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back to Rikka Inn in the near future.

With best regards,

Management Team, Rikka Inn Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,307)
There are newer reviews for Rikka Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

Perhaps my view of this hotel was clouded by coming from Koh Tao, where we were used to very friendly service and a laid back approach to hospitality. However, we arrived at Rikka Inn to be greeted by a fairly inflexible woman at reception, given a key and told that our room was upstairs. No accompanying us to make sure the room was acceptable, that we knew how to turn the air con on (there's a switch on the wall that looks like some sort of emergency switch), or anything to that effect.

The room was extremely small but comfortable enough. No breakfast included. The room was a little noisy, but better than expected, given its location on Khao San Road.

Personally, I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to others. There are better establishments around the area (particularly over the main road and closer to the river) for a comparable price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RikkaInn4you, Front Office Manager at Rikka Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback.
We would like to apologize for any inconveniences occurred during your stay.
We appreciate your comments and we will do our best to improve our service.

And we will do our best to keep our reputation.


Sincerely,

Management Team, Rikka Inn Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The rooms were very clean, and made every day. Free drinking water, safe, fridge, a/c. The swimming pool on the roof is small but nice. Great location, you're a 100 bhat (max!) away from everything (markets, temples). Staff is friendly and helpful. Good value for money ! We had no noise issue, the room was pretty quiet. Would recommend eating in the street parallel to kao San road where you can find excellent thai restaurants (tables and chairs outside not the sideway). It is cheap (less than 200 bhat for 3!)really delicious and safe to eat.

Room Tip: Not a huge difference between superior and deluxe (deluxe are just bigger)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLaurenceO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RikkaInn4you, General Manager at Rikka Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving a review of our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and even found our services improving in subsequent visits.
We will share your comments regarding the swimming pool with our team for further encouragement.

We hope to have to pleasure to welcome you back again as a guest, in the near future.

Kindly regards,

Management Team, Rikka Inn Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

I am currently stayin here at Rikka Inn in Bangkok. The hotel is an oasis amongst the craziness of Khaosan Road. I was on the second floor and the hotel room shielded most if the noise from the busy strip at night. The free internet is great just make sure if you are sharing a room with your partner or friends that each person gets their own free internet login from the lobby so your internet runs really fast. I did this and uploaded heaps of pictures onto the internet with no problems!

The rooftop pool is great and surprisingly peaceful and relaxing considering the location, not a lot of noise travels up to the roof area. The staff were really friendly. I accidentally forgot the code to my safe in a moment of panic and they ran upstairs to help me straight away. I think it's also polite to learn a few phrases of Thai just to say hello (Sawatdee) and thank you (khopkhun) and you'll be surprised how much the Thai people appreciate this gesture.

The hotel cleaned our room everyday with fresh supplies of towels and water. Remember this is still very cheap accommodation so te rooms are nice but plain and simple. That's not a problem at all though what with the cleanliness, free internet, cold air conditioning and foxtel in the room. You're on holidays to have an adventure not to sleep all day right!

Thanks to everyone at Rikka Inn who made our BKK stay lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillieDashah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RikkaInn4you, General Manager at Rikka Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear guest,

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and I am delighted to hear your feedback about our staff.
I will be sure to share your comments with my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rikka Inn, Bangkok again in the future.

Kindly regards,

Management Team, Rikka Inn Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My review is based on my expectations knowing this is a budget hotel on Khaosan Road. So, this hotel is for people who enjoy the environment of Khaosan Road. If you want to go see the sites during the day and go to bed early then don't stay here. The party on Khaosan goes on to about 5 or 6 am every night. We stayed in the most basic room. So there was more bed space than floor space in the room. But there was a mini fridge, a small desk, a very small tv and a bathroom in room. The bed wasn't anything special but was good enough. The tv is probably an 11 inch but we never turned it on. We were in the middle of the building, not right on street side but not on the back either. We could hear the music from the street pretty clearly if the AC wasn't on, but if it was on the fan in the AC pretty much drowned it out completely. It is right in the center of Khaosan Road so its easy to go down and have something to eat and/or drink and return upstairs to use the washroom or just take a break or go to the pool or whatever. The food and drink on Khaosan is actually some of the cheaper food in Bangkok as long as you buy from the street vendors. The pool here was pretty good. It is on the roof and gets a lot of sun and there are a good amount of chairs to lay out in. The management wasn't friendly really but wasn't unfriendly either. As with a lot of budget hotels, the bathroom is small and the shower is one of the electric showers that is a shower head on the wall in the center of the bathroom, no designated shower area. The wifi worked well and I felt our belongings were safe in the room. There is a safe large enough for a laptop in the room as well. Overall this is right in the middle of the party on Khaosan and is comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jawkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RikkaInn4you, General Manager at Rikka Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback.
We would like to apologize for any inconveniences occurred during your stay.
We appreciate your comments and we will do our best to improve our service.
And we will do our best to keep our reputation.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,

Management Team, Rikka Inn Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This place is smack bang on Khao San Rd,ya walk out the door of the hotel and its really full on with people,pubs,hawkers and all the stuff that makes ya think Bangkok is yuck. Its hard to get to at night on arrival as the road gets closed due to markets taking over the street outside the main doors so hauling ya luggage to find the entrance is a real hassle. The room itself was actually quiet,but felt pretty unsafe,i wouldnt leave anything valuable in it so ya carry it all in ya belt bag. Lots of the rooms appeared to have people doubling up in the beds to save money making things quite rowdy. Reception was rude and ignoring,seemed eager to add on any charge they could,had to pay 200 baht for a broken key ring,avoid this place its rude and aggressive,theres much better for cheaper prices within 50 mtrs.

Room Tip: Go as high up the building as possible to avoid the noise
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ziggyzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RikkaInn4you, General Manager at Rikka Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback.
We would like to apologize for any inconveniences occurred during your stay. We appreciate your comments and we will do our best to improve our service.

And we will do our best to keep our reputation.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,

Management Team, Rikka Inn Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Having just arrived on a LONG flight to Bangkok, and quite a stressful route in getting to the famous Khaosan Road, arriving at the Rikka in was amazing as it was a great hotel to visit first - compared to many of the other places in south east asia - this was one of the more luxuarious hotels!

We just had a standard double, which using hostelworld.com meant we secured the room before we even left paying a 10% deposit. I think the room worked out about £20 a night but sharing between two is still very cheap! Rooms were clean, and spread over 5 levels with a lovely pool and lounging area on the roof! You could either leave a 1000THB deposit for your key or leave your passport and there were two computers free of charge to guests to use the internet.

To locate Rikka Inn - the sign is high up on the top of the buildings but you cant get too lost as the Khaosan Road isnt that long - so if you come to the end like we did we knew we'd gone too far! it is located about half way up and to get to the reception you have to go through like a walkway between two shops. If you just look out for the famous 7ELEVEN - it is next door! really handy as they are all open late for snacks and water.

I think we had one of the back rooms which we could still here noise from clubs around the Road. We only stayed for 3 nights and having been so jetlagged and going out on the second night we only heard the noise on our last night - wasn't so bad we couldnt sleep but I suggest if you don't want ot be in the hub of all the Brits drinking abroad you stay somewhere a few streets away! It is however perfect as you don't need to spend money on tuktuks getting home as you are going out pretty much nextdoor!

It was also great location for going to the river and out on day trips as everyone knows where Khaosan is if you get lost

I recommend! :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RikkaInn4you, General Manager at Rikka Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear guest,

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We will share your comments regarding with our team for further encouragement.


We look forward to visiting one of your hotels in the future.

Kindly regards,

Management Team, Rikka Inn Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#376 of 881 in Bangkok
1,056 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#176 of 881 in Bangkok
1,312 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#610 of 881 in Bangkok
1,621 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#219 of 881 in Bangkok
205 reviews
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#359 of 881 in Bangkok
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rikka Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rikka Inn

Address: 259 Khaosan Road | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: $24 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rikka Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rikka Inn : New Budget Hotel with a Touch of Style On Khaosan Road. Superbly located right on Khaosan Road. Very convenient- shopping, dining, clubing. Breathtaking outdoor roof-top pool. Room equipped with private bathroom with hot shower, air-conditioner and satellite TV. Simple,sleek and stylish decoration with relaxation atmosphere. Clean rooms and great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rikka Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rikka Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing