We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only decend quality hotel in Khao San Road”
Review of Rikka Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rikka Inn
Ranked #349 of 859 Hotels in Bangkok
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Only decend quality hotel in Khao San Road”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you want to stay in bit better hotel in Khao San Road instead of usual backpacker places, I recommend this. I have been in this place now 2-3 times.

It has good location at KSR, entrance is at narrow corridor which has 7/11 at entrance and small pharmacy in the hallway. Rooms are quite basic but mostly clean and has silent air con. Note, there is no restaurant. Noises are not disturbing, but then you have room with window to dirty alley. Negative point is the attitude of the employees. For example, they require that you have Agoda reservation in paper, printed out. They refuse to check it from the system or even from you cell or email. Also last time when I reserved better room, I got standard. Even Agoda did not come to any reasonable result after inspection. Maybe this all is due Agoda is pulling hotels to lower prices?

Summa summarum, clean, nice and silent hotel with good quality and price.

Room Tip: Ask room from the "back side".
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirRahikkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    515
    390
    103
    85
See reviews for
66
558
131
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at Rikka Inn twice and really love it! The hotel is right in KhaoSan road, a very busy street where you can enjoy shopping as well as the nightlife. The hotel boast a rooftop swimming pool if you wanna relax after a busy day in Bangkok. Will definitely return on our next trip to Thailand!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabrix82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Cheap, clean rooms, air con, great location, free wifi, free water.....what more could a backpacker ask for!!
We stayed here for 3 nights last week and loved every minute, wished we'd have stayed longer. Would deffinatly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauwri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here for one night. I was disappointed by the room. The bathroom was dingy and the shower was cold. The mini-bar was empty. It was noisy until 3am (and I mean PROPER noisy- I have stayed on the Khao-san in other hotels and have not been so bothered by the noise.) Nothing looked 'clean' clean. As in, it had been washed, but you still weren't sure about putting your head on the pillows.

Room Tip: Look at your room before you accept it- some doubles are much bigger than others. Avoid the rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemmagrdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Apart from staff stealing $100US out of my bag it was ok for the money. The cleaner even left her walky talky in the room when she stolen the money. Hotel was not very interested. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreNationless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hipp80, Front Office Manager at Rikka Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear AndrePhilippe,

We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback. And we woild like to apologize for any inconvenience caused. Since we received your email about the lost of money couple days after you checked out, we did the deep investigation with every involved staffs. However, we did not found any solid evidence since the incident was reported (by e-mail) couple days after guest checking out. We had reported this to local polices and issued a warning letter for the staff.

I would like to ensure every guest that Rikka Inn is very safe and we considered guest's safety as our first priority. Every guestroom equipped with a laptop-size safety box. We have 24 hours security guard on duty. We do not allow anyone to go up to the guest floor. Photo ID is required if guest brings any friends or joiners in the room.

We are still follow your case with the police and in-house satff. We will keep you inform if we received more information as soon as possible.

Regards,

Monthon P. (Mr.)
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night while traveling from southern Thailand to Cambodia. Found it when we got there, and was very cheap, but very good value for money! Room was clean, tidy, had a great tv, comfortable beds, good A/C and clean bathroom. The bathroom did have like a gap in the wall which led to the corridor, but no one could see into the bathroom, but when you walk down the corridor you can hear what people are doing in the bathroom - which is awful!
The hotel also has a great swimming pool which is worth going in, even if it is a little small.
It is right slap bang in the middle of Khao San road which is the place to be in Bangkok for backpackers. Overall had a great stay here and would come again!

Room Tip: Haggle on the price! Receptionists are quiet friendly and used to haggling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightair91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Rikka Inn is a good option if you're looking for a cheap sleep in the Bangkok's Old Town.
The location is the best and the worst of this hotel. Being so central (Khao San Road) makes it easy to walk around the area and you can have a nice walk to the Wat Pho. The room was clean and nice but being so cheap makes it attractive to party-goers so it might get noisy when you want to sleep.

Other than that friendly staff and Nice pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodGama7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#541 of 859 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#185 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#356 of 859 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#204 of 859 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Banglamphu
Villa Cha-Cha
Villa Cha-Cha
#366 of 859 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rikka Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rikka Inn

Property: Rikka Inn
Address: 259 Khaosan Road | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rikka Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rikka Inn : New Budget Hotel with a Touch of Style On Khaosan Road. Superbly located right on Khaosan Road. Very convenient- shopping, dining, clubing. Breathtaking outdoor roof-top pool. Room equipped with private bathroom with hot shower, air-conditioner and satellite TV. Simple,sleek and stylish decoration with relaxation atmosphere. Clean rooms and great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rikka Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rikka Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing